Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars those bones can keep on singing for me
I'm trying to work out where my head has been buried for the last decade of this band's existence. The Handsome Family are husband and wife Brett and Rennie Sparks. Singing Bones is a collection of magical musical stories that sound like ancient hand-me-down myths after a couple of listens. Its musical pedigree takes in all those dusty troubadors in black - Hank...
Published on 18 Nov 2003 by Demian Stimson

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreary, anodyne nonsense, with some of the worst lyrics ever.
I bought this in a moment of madness, on the strength of one song, Far From Any Road, which is the theme song to superb series True Detective. Yeah, it's a pretty good song, but every other song on this sorry excuse for an album is dreary, dull, badly produced (sack the sound engineer, his balancing is awful!), has lyrics that are clunky and third rate, and arrangements...
Published 4 months ago by Mr


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars those bones can keep on singing for me, 18 Nov 2003
By 
Demian Stimson (England (Home of the Rugby World Cup)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singing Bones (CD) (Audio CD)
I'm trying to work out where my head has been buried for the last decade of this band's existence. The Handsome Family are husband and wife Brett and Rennie Sparks. Singing Bones is a collection of magical musical stories that sound like ancient hand-me-down myths after a couple of listens. Its musical pedigree takes in all those dusty troubadors in black - Hank Williams, Nick Cave, Tom Waits, the sweet sadness of a Gram Parsons ballad, the gritty spirituality of a Johnny Cash rocker. While the music is always strong, the lyrics mark them out as something different and special, standing comparison with the magical realism of writers such as Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Italo Calvino or, perhaps more appropriately, Angela Carter. The Bottomless Hole could be one of Calvino's Cosmicomics' stories set to music, if Calvino had been writing them on Krazy Kat's enchanted mesa in Coconino County. If you think Leonard Cohen and Johnny Cash are depressing then you won't like this record. If, however, you find something joyous and life affirming in their darkness, and if So Long Marianne makes you want to dance, and if Ring of Fire makes you want to stamp and shout, then this record will make you want to smile and sway and thousand-yard-stare at the sunhaze for signs of the rapture. Or just the next Handsome Family cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another top score., 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing Bones (CD) (Audio CD)
Each one I purchase meets the quality of the last, fantastic content of music I listen to time after time, it's been some time since I acquired music as desirable as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing Bones (CD) (Audio CD)
I love this album, gripping from the first to the last song! My favourites are "Far from any Road" and "Falling Peaches" so wonderful melodies with great dark lyrics. Just awesome! Definitive must have for people of being sick hearing the same songs again and again over the radio, this is rather different stuff. Buy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing Bones (CD) (Audio CD)
uop to expectations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing Bones (CD) (Audio CD)
We hadn't heard of the Handsome Family until watching True Detective. We absolutely loved the theme song from that so looked it up on Amazon and ended up buying the CD. The Handsome Family are excellent and although the CD was expensive I can honestly say the music on it is great, such easy listening. I will definitely be buying more CD's by them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best CDs I have bought, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing Bones (CD) (Audio CD)
Fantastic cd loved every track wonderful voices and stories to each cd excellent price may order more of their CDs in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars singing bones, 12 Jun 2014
By 
A. Lockwood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singing Bones (Audio CD)
Great cd, did not disappoint,wanted this since i heard the title music for the True Detectives, love it,also fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Detective, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing Bones (CD) (Audio CD)
The True Detective theme was the original reason for buying the CD, but the other tracks are really interesting too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great service, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing Bones (Audio CD)
The CD arrived the next day after order in perfect condition. A very atmospheric CD which has rightly achieved prominence as a result of "Far from any road" being used as the theme tune to "True Detectives".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars " Definitely worth it for that alone but now I have discovered the Handsome Family and find I'm beginning to like the other song, 30 Sep 2014
This review is from: Singing Bones (CD) (Audio CD)
I got this because of the haunting theme from the TV series "True Detective." Definitely worth it for that alone but now I have discovered the Handsome Family and find I'm beginning to like the other songs on the CD too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singing Bones (CD)
Singing Bones (CD) by The Handsome Family (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews