Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally some bonus features
For any vacation movie fans this blu ray box set is a must, worth the price just for the behind the scenes feature alone which is an hour and twenty five minutes long showing key clips from the original movie and getting the casts comments and thoughts looking back on the movie today, this feature was obviously put together recently and had my wife and I in stitches in...
Published 16 months ago by T. Geer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movies but poor HD quality.
Picture quality very poor, dot crawl everywhere - note only watched Xmas vacation so far. A shame as was looking forward to seeing in HD.
Published 7 months ago by Neil Curry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally some bonus features, 30 July 2013
By 
T. Geer (Cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For any vacation movie fans this blu ray box set is a must, worth the price just for the behind the scenes feature alone which is an hour and twenty five minutes long showing key clips from the original movie and getting the casts comments and thoughts looking back on the movie today, this feature was obviously put together recently and had my wife and I in stitches in places, very funny.
As for the movies themselves having the four films on blu-ray is just a bonus, obviously these have been reviewed to death before and if you are reading this you all ready know how good the franchise was. The picture quality is noticably better than dvd, the sound is average but who really cares about that?
Well worth buying, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth It At The Current £12 But...., 10 Aug 2014
By 
....The picture quality on all 4 films are DVD quality at best. Very grainy and soft. Seriously, I bought this set for 2 reasons (and it was definitely not a picture upgrade)

1) Vacation has an 85 minute documentary - worth a watch but for some reason has lots of interview clips repeated. Great to see so much of the cast interviewed but Randy Quaid is absent.
2) Christmas Vacation is uncut, unlike previous DVD releases.

I re-watched three of the films and checked the picture quality on Christmas Vacation (didn't feel like watching it in August!) and was so disappointed in them - I had to double check they weren't DVDs in a Blu Ray case!

As for the films:

Vacation is a classic, I absolutely love it.

European Vacation is painful viewing. This is only the second I have ever seen it, and it is even worse than I remember. Annoying kids, ugly visuals and a nasty tone. It's also a completely laugh free experience. It also has a VERY dull audio commentary by Chevy Chase.

Christmas Vacation - My favourite Christmas film, watched at least twice every December

Vegas Vacation - MUCH funnier than European Vacation, and good fun in that rubbish but brilliant 90's way (e.g. Tommy Boy, Bill Madison, Night At The Roxbury)

Overall, its essential if you're a fan and you don't have these films on DVD, and worth £12 for the new bonus material if your upgrading from DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great set of films., 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This set is great value for money.

You get all four films on Blu-ray including Vegas Vacation for the first time on high def.

All are in 1080P 16x9 1.85:1 ratio.

All have have DTS HD MA soundtracks.
National Lampoons Vacation and European Vacation are 1.0 and run for 98 mins and 94 mins respectively.
Christmas Vacation is in 2.0 and runs for 97 mins.
Vegas Vacation is in 5.1 and runs for 94 mins.

Subtitles include English,French and Spanish plus more.

Special Features:-

All have Audio Commentaries except Vegas Vacation which only has a trailer.

The first film also has an introduction,a trailer and an 85 minute documentary.

Film two just has an audio commentary by Chevy Chase.

The PQ on all four are a step up from DVD and are worthy of being on Blu-ray but wouldn't score more than 3.0 out of 5.0 with the exception of Vegas which is the best quality and gets 3.5-4.0 IMO which isn't a great surprise as it's the latest one.

The AQ gets the job done focusing on voices and music mainly and is clear with no hiss etc.

This UK box set is great value for money and finally we have all four together for the first time on Blu-ray unlike the US which has them for sale separately.

All the films come in two standard Blu-ray Amaray cases. Two films are in one and two in the other. Both cases are housed in a cardboard slip case. Four discs altogether. (Each film has its own disc)

If you like these films this is the best version to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I found love long ago...., 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these films!!l have for a very long time. I was so happy to see them out on blu ray - the picture quality is greatly improved :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - Christmas Vacation Uncut!, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's taken a while but we finally get Christmas Vacation uncut this time around, and it's about time.

The set is excellent value for money.

The quality isn't mind-blowing but it's certainly a step up from the DVDs.

The extras aren't bad at all for a set of catalogue titles, especially the 1st one with a 90-minute making-of documentary.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crisp and clear blu, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Gareth "G" (Belfast, N.I,) - See all my reviews
2 good a price 2 refuse... The 3 classic movies and the vagas one chucked in as I like 2 think of it.
Picture on original vacation is crisp clear and looks stunning, rest not as good but deff a step up.
All movies unrated and nothing seems to be removed or cut from the films, you need that bit of swearing from Clarke.

At this price you really can't go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took a long time, was delayed also, but the item was great. Really great transfer, good quality and sound. Took me back a long way.... was a delight to see again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Item, 6 April 2014
By 
Chris Willoughby (Pontefract, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb product, brilliant picture quality, Excellent sound quality, very speedy delivery. Would highly recommend this product to anyone who like the vaccation films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the griswolds (original spelling) and feel like a part of their family.
Such a treat to have these on blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this box set just for the Christmas movie but, ended up watching all the films. Just good old fashioned comedy at a great price. Very quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vacation Gift Set [DVD] [1983] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £40.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews