Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Syd in the words of those who worked with him
I suppose this is the Pink Floyd members official memories of Syd Barrett. There is a 50 minute documentary which includes snippets of footage from the early Floyd gigs, images from Syd's first trip, all the usual stuff which Syd fans have seen 100 times. What sets this DVD apart is that it includes the full interviews with Roger Waters, Dave Gilmour, Nick Mason & Rick...
Published on 27 Sep 2006 by cosmetic punk

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who knows
After seeing the DVD, I don't think you can question the interest it will evoke for either a Barrett/Floyd fan. The problem being that there is basically not enough material to satisfy a growing diverse fan base.
The rest of Pink Floyd being interviewed is a good insight to that period and beyond, plus the personal factor is always enlightening. And I think they all...
Published on 27 Mar 2005 by Seth Newson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Syd in the words of those who worked with him, 27 Sep 2006
This review is from: Pink Floyd: The Pink Floyd And Syd Barrett Story [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I suppose this is the Pink Floyd members official memories of Syd Barrett. There is a 50 minute documentary which includes snippets of footage from the early Floyd gigs, images from Syd's first trip, all the usual stuff which Syd fans have seen 100 times. What sets this DVD apart is that it includes the full interviews with Roger Waters, Dave Gilmour, Nick Mason & Rick Wright (snippets were used in the documentary). Also included is a splendid acoustic version of "I Love You" by ex-Blur member Graham Coxon. The best compliment I can pay to this DVD is that it reawakened my interest in Syd's solo albums. Obviously there are no comments from Syd himself but I always suspected that he didn't really understand what all the fuss was about. But there's a sense of some friends remembering their lost friend, which in the light of Syd's death is kind of touching. The documentary was made in 2001 btw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad effort for Syd Barrett fans., 31 Oct 2003
Having been a huge Syd Barrett fan for many years, I was looking forward to finally watching a legitimate DVD issue focusing on his work. It is not a bad effort, it has to be said.
The DVD title menu format is very good and the Omnibus programme itself contains a wealth of information. There are some excellent interviews, particularly from Roger Waters and David Gilmour, and it cover his whole career from the beginning of Pink Floyd to the end of his solo material. There is also plenty of film footage which is interesting to view.
My criticism of the DVD is the same as some of the other reviewers. There is plenty more other material that should have been included in its full length that was not. Bonus material should have included full length versions of "Syd's First Trip", "Arnold Layne", "See Emily Play", "The Scarecrow", Vegetable man" and "Let's make love in London", all of which I have seen on bootlegs before. Interviews of "Barrett" fans are not really very interesting. Also made up videos for "Bike" with additional echo ended is frustrating.
Overall, this DVD could have been absolutely definitive. Instead, it leaves Barrett fans needing to rummage around with unofficial fan clubs more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So sad really, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I guess I came to the syd barrett story later perhaps than I should, and found it distressing and weirdly engrossing at the same time. I found this dvd well put together, informative and interesting but; ultimately just very very sad. Good DVD for fans of Pink Floyd/Syd Barratt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars waste of good talent!!, 26 Aug 2010
By 
Eric Tersago (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being a huge Pink Floyd fan I finally decided to buy "The Pink Floyd and Syd Barrett story" on dvd.
This is a very sober and tormented portret of a genius told by the (tormented)members of Pink Floyd.
Great dvd that needs no further comment. A must buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shine On You Crazy Diamond, 20 April 2003
By 
Ian Tandy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those of you that are familiar with Syd's story then you will probably already have this DVD. Everyone else that does not own this wonderful DVD should order it now!! It is basically the same as the BBC Omnibus production with some fascinating extras. Syd's story is moving, frustrating, incredulous, almost unbelievable. Here is a man who can write unique and powerful songs seemingly at will. He can paint marvelous images. He is a poet. On top of all of that he is highly intelligent, a great communicator and has the looks of Adonis. He thought of the name 'Pink Floyd' wrote virtually all their songs, played lead guitar and was the vocalist. Then just as the Floyd were on the brink of world domination, Syd stopped playing and withdrew into a world of his own. On the way to yet another gig, the Floyd forgot to stop and pick Syd up. He never played with them again. He now lives a recluse like existance in a modest semi-detached in Cambridge. This DVD tries to explain why. Very moving and, well, just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who knows, 27 Mar 2005
After seeing the DVD, I don't think you can question the interest it will evoke for either a Barrett/Floyd fan. The problem being that there is basically not enough material to satisfy a growing diverse fan base.
The rest of Pink Floyd being interviewed is a good insight to that period and beyond, plus the personal factor is always enlightening. And I think they all are pretty realistic about the whole era.
Anything that deals with Barrett will always be interesting to me, saying that, it lacks honest artistic criticism. I think any real fan would love something more factual (as in inspiration and method), but then again, the works of Barrett are already thought provoking. Worth watching, but something better needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic would reccomend, 14 Jan 2014
By 
someone somewhere (somewhere in the universe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is great accoustic songs and a documentry that has been well thought about i just wish there were more syd songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfl, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know this has probably been shown on the TV, but it was just brilliant, it is something that any any Pink Floyd fan must have in ther collectio. It is very sad what happened to Syd and I wonder what direction the Floyd might have gone with him. They didn't though but his influence stayed with those guys. It was a real sad but interesting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... many years ago on the BBC and is very good though it lacks any decent footage of Syd or ..., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the same documentary that was shown many years ago on the BBC and is very good though it lacks any decent footage of Syd or Syd-era Floyd performing. The extras mainly consist of full length interviews with the remaining Floyd members (which are good).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So sad, yet so very compelling, 3 May 2003
By 
Ian Tandy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Taken from the BBC's Omnibus profile of the legendary Syd Barrett this DVD makes for compulsive viewing. There are some fascinating early shots of the great man and it is interesting to hear the other band member's views on Syd's slow disintergration. In short this DVD is well put together and is a must for any Syd or Pink Floyd fan. If Roger Barrett is reading this then I have to tell him that Syd is sorely missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pink Floyd: The Pink Floyd And Syd Barrett Story [DVD] [2003]
8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews