Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lee Rocketeers
Our first attempts were not too successful, because we used baking powder instead of bicarbonate of soda. This achieved several launches of 30 to 40 feet.
After we acquired the bicarbonate of soda, we achieved a better launch rate and finally achieved a height well in excess of 80 feet the landing however was onto tarmac which resulted in the total destruction of the...
Published on 30 Dec 2004 by Chris, Andrew and David

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The lost rocket
I only saw the rocket launch once! It accelerated faster than a firework. I waited for any noise on it's return to earth,but not asound,it's got to be in neighbouring hedgerow or long grass. Perhaps it will turn up when the leaves die back in winter - If I get it back I'll find a bigger launch space or tie a high vis. ribbon to it's tail. Be warned it flies alot higher...
Published on 10 Aug 2009 by Mr. T. G. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lee Rocketeers, 30 Dec 2004
By 
Chris, Andrew and David (Farnborough, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Gizmo - Science Museum - Cosmic Rocket (Toy)
Our first attempts were not too successful, because we used baking powder instead of bicarbonate of soda. This achieved several launches of 30 to 40 feet.
After we acquired the bicarbonate of soda, we achieved a better launch rate and finally achieved a height well in excess of 80 feet the landing however was onto tarmac which resulted in the total destruction of the rocket body. hence our search leading us to this site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The lost rocket, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. T. G. Taylor "terrygtay" (Glos.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Gizmo - Science Museum - Cosmic Rocket (Toy)
I only saw the rocket launch once! It accelerated faster than a firework. I waited for any noise on it's return to earth,but not asound,it's got to be in neighbouring hedgerow or long grass. Perhaps it will turn up when the leaves die back in winter - If I get it back I'll find a bigger launch space or tie a high vis. ribbon to it's tail. Be warned it flies alot higher than 50 feet! Terry Taylor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cosmic rocket: warning, 26 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Great Gizmo - Science Museum - Cosmic Rocket (Toy)
This product is really good and very simple to do, however make sure you launch, and more importantly, land onto grass. Our first attempt was off concrete and was great until it landed back onto the concrete. Although there were no obvious breaks, the landing damaged the rocket and now the mixture leaks out of the bottom and it doesn't work anymore. As with the other review, we have purchased another as it is definately worth another go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful!, 3 Jan 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Gizmo - Science Museum - Cosmic Rocket (Toy)
Ours never got enywhere near taking off despite following instructions and tips to the letter. On the fifth attempt the barrel just snapped off as mentioned by another reviewer - complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 30 Jan 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Gizmo - Science Museum - Cosmic Rocket (Toy)
Good time making it and playing with it but once you've played with it a few times, it gets a bit samey. Good fun while it lasts though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars did nt work, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Gizmo - Science Museum - Cosmic Rocket (Toy)
we opened this on xmas day expecting great things.Followed the instructions to the letter and it would not fly as all the prepullsion leaked out where the o ring is. Not at all impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 25 July 2011
By 
Mr. E. Grigg "grigg211" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Gizmo - Science Museum - Cosmic Rocket (Toy)
Never worked. Followed tips and instructions exactly. Total waste of time and money. The fact that there are loads of tips on what to do if it does not work suggests the designers know it hardly ever works. And what is it supposed to teach children? What are the educational outcomes of seeing vinegar and bicarb fizzing? Do not buy one ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science in action, 20 Sep 2009
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Gizmo - Science Museum - Cosmic Rocket (Toy)
The ultimate boy-toy to teach science.
We were given this for Christmas and tried it out at home a few times where it was fun. However, it really came into its own at Cub Camp where we did a Science badge. We did an initial 'experiment' making volcanoes with vinegar and baking soda and then re-applied the process with the rocket. The kids learned a lot and had a ball.
Warning! You do need a huge open space for this - we used one end of a football pitch as it doesn't always fly straight up. Think fireworks! Keep the kids well away from the rocket, once the stuff is mixed, even when it looks like it won't launch - it has a phenomenal power. Highest we got was about 65 ft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars box actually not labelled "science museum" and it's written in russian, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Gizmo - Science Museum - Cosmic Rocket (Toy)
i am extremely disappointed. The picture shows a box written in english and labelled "science museum" . What i got is box entirely written in what i believe could be RUSSIAN and it's completely different from the picture, it's blue and not labelled science museum! I am trying to return the item because this is not fit to be given as a present
I found quite bizarre that , when i called the Amazon customer services, i was told this is normal because basically the pictures that amazon puts on the site do not need to correspond to what customers receive. According to them what matters is that there was a rocket in the box, even though i could not understand a word of what was written on the box.
Until this coversation i thought that amazon strived to be more rigourous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 3 Jan 2010
By 
Dr Phibes "Dr Phibes" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Gizmo - Science Museum - Cosmic Rocket (Toy)
Brought as a stocking filler for a six year old for xmas and it was well worth the money. Although he was too young to safely carry out the experiment and handed over to his Dad he was very excited and wanted to get outside and do it straight away but we didnt have the baking soda required. Tried a make do version of cream of tar tar with bicarbonate soda but didnt work. So if you are buying this make sure you have the vinegar and baking soda ready in your cupboard. Very simple to assemble rocket but even with the baking soda first 2 attempts failed to lift off. Does state that take off is affected by cold weather and warm weather are the ideal conditions, but on third attempt rocket went up great to much cheers after about a 15 seconds wait. Also, most importantly, it landed on soft ground intact so were able to do again although it did land 10 ft away so beaware of your boundaries. Very pleased, good value and would not hesitate to replace if it was lost or damaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Gizmo - Science Museum - Cosmic Rocket
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews