Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the future
This album is like hearing the past and the future at the same time. It is easy to forget just how many hits this band had. And just how little music has actually changed in the last two decades. With electroclash and analogue synth sounds back in vogue, the only thing that separates their earliest material (some of which dates back to the late 70s!) from the likes of...
Published on 17 Sept. 2003

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well...with a BIG exception...
...it's OK, but how could ANY compilation of Human League music claiming to be the "Very BEST" omit the song "SECONDS"...?!! I dunno, call me an idiot, but I think that was their one truly great song. Not exactly a dance hall hit, but at least it meant something!
Published on 18 Aug. 2005 by Brad


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the future, 17 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Human League (Audio CD)
This album is like hearing the past and the future at the same time. It is easy to forget just how many hits this band had. And just how little music has actually changed in the last two decades. With electroclash and analogue synth sounds back in vogue, the only thing that separates their earliest material (some of which dates back to the late 70s!) from the likes of Tomcraft are the drum patterns and that famous Baritone.
Most of it actually sounds remarkably modern and fresh, and the influence the Human League have had on dance music today screams from every track. I suddenly realised that some of the tracks like Being Boiled have recently been sampled on big chart hits which adds to the feeling that there is still life in this outfit yet.
More than anything though, Phil and the gang have always known a thing or two about pop. And the best thing about this album is the fact that it is crammed full of proper pop tunes, that don't feel borrowed from anywhere else. Don't You Want Me? may be the tune that defines this band, but it isn't the best track here by a long shot. I would go for Love Action or One Man in My Heart.
You also get a remix cd. It is not essential listening, but a nice bonus. It also shows just how modern the Human League can sound with a 'four on the floor' beat and faster BPMs.
So highly recommended, both for the old lags who were there in the 80s and the dance kids of today who want to know how it all started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remastered hits - relive the 80s!, 17 Sept. 2003
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Human League (Audio CD)
This is possibly the 3rd or 4th compilation of Hits by the League, but even so the digital remastering of non-album material and the extra bonus CD make this indispensible. Disc 1 has 17 hits/classics spanning their career. Being Boiled appears in it's original mono form, but in excellent sound quality, as opposed to the reissued stereo-treated version, and All I Ever Wanted comes in it's slightly rarer non-Bascombe original form (despite the mix credits on the inlay - this is the TOY version from second CD single). The booklet is nicely produced, although the Ring-Tone advertisements do dominate things a bit, but nice photo treatments nonetheless. Disc 2 is probably what'll attract completists, covering 7 of the 11 vinyl promo mixes from earlier this year, and adding 4 brand new mixes. Remixes are always a mixed bag, and this set is no exception, but there are some real classics here, namely: Brooks Red Line vocal of Love Action, a club stomp through Fascination which keeps loads of the original instrumentation, an inspired revamp of ESH by Chamber and creative dubs of Things That Dreams... and Fluke's repetitive but clubby Dub Action. Unfortunately the opening remix of DYWMe is rather weak, taking far too long to develop, and this may put listeners off - flick to track 4 and you'll be pleasantly surprised what can be done by a sympathetic remixer!
It's at a bargain price too, so no League collection should be without this double!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars League of ordinary remixer-gentlemen, 14 Oct. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Human League (Audio CD)
It's another good solid Human League hits album (with a slightly improved track listing; hooray for the inclusion of "Empire State Human"). I must admit I was looking forward to the second CD of remixes, but bar a couple of exceptions, it had me crawling back to the originals with my tail between my legs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars League of their own, 12 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Human League (Audio CD)
Classic selection from the Human League , with an extra disc full of alternative mixes.
Its amazing how you can remember the words to songs when you've not heard them for years yet i cant recall what i had for lunch yesterday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 12 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Human League (Audio CD)
Love this album, Human League were one of the best bands when I was growing up but I was too young at the time to buy their records my self, (no Ipods or MP3s then) so this is ideal for me and bringing back so many memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how can you not love the classics of my youth - ok, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Human League (Audio CD)
how can you not love the classics of my youth - ok, it's Pop music but has there been any better since? absolute bargain - go get your toes tapping and sing along - the kids will be embarrassed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best........... Damn right, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Human League (Audio CD)
On one cd you got all the hits and on the other you get some great remixes. And all with the added bonus of downloading them first before your album arrives in the post. Great one from amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic 80s, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Human League (Audio CD)
great compilation of all the League's best - only notable omission being ' Seconds'. League still going strong- saw them Nov 2012 at Albert Hall and still brilliant 35 years on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Transaction, 31 Dec. 2011
By 
Edward Grady (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Human League (Audio CD)
This was a superb transaction. Double CD arrived very quickly and in magnificent condition. Both CDs are of great quality when listening to. Recommended Seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great if you only want to buy 1 HL CD, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Human League (Audio CD)
Has most if not all the best stuff of my childhood adolescence here. I would definately recommend this if you only want to buy 1 Human League CD to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of The Human League
The Very Best Of The Human League by Human League (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews