Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you're funkin with the funk family
i wouldn't call myself a fan of the BEP but after hearing this album i must say it is a pretty good mix of hip hop, funk and rnb. There are so many good tracks on here its hard to pick a favourite although i dont like Anxiety or Rock my S**t, i think they are the unwelcome rock-based interruptions in what is mainly a very enjoyable album.
Tracks which i think are...
Published on 14 Mar. 2004 by nellpatel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
The Black Eyed Peas have been on the scene longer than one would expect. They charmed smaller circles before and achieved some popularity with "Request + Line," their collaboration with Macy Gray. An image revamp and a dreadfully fine-looking blonde later, suddenly they are the hottest group to hit the waves. Fergie, the new addition, does not only make the group easy on...
Published on 29 July 2004 by Nasser Alqatami


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
thanks good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confident, Exciting, Original!, 23 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
The Black Eyed Peas have been an underground Hip-Hop favourite for years now. There first two releases were respected and appreciated in rap circles, but they lacked the signature single to break the mainstream. Everything changed for them in Summer 2003, when they released “Where Is The Love?”. The song was followed up by the huge hit “Shut Up” which further pushed the group to the forefront of popular music. “Elephunk”, their third album, is simply their best to date. On paper, most people would laugh in the face of this album, but in practice it flows and grows into what will possibly go down in music history as total classic. The album is a confident blend between rap, funk style beats and soulful female vocal’s courtesy of new member, Fergie. This blend is the very essence of the new sound that BEP have created for themselves, and so the key to their recent success.
Highlights of the record include “Sexy” – a song that grows on you with every listen. Simple in it’s essence – there is little going on, but the lyrics and rapping are really good and the song becomes a real album favourite. Another great addition is “Hands Up” which kicks the album of in great style. A jumping and pumping rap track that perfectly sums up every buzzin’ house party you have ever been to. The third single, “Hey Mama”, is probably my favourite track on the record. It’s so perfect to dance to I just can’t resist it anytime I listen to the track, it moves and flows in ways that make it stand out head and shoulders above so many other songs of today, for me anyway. I also love the track “Labour Day” because of that repetitive loop throughout which gets me everytime – I just love it. The lyrics of the song – celebrating a public holiday – are a little banal I admit but overall the track really works.
Overall, this is a confident, defiant recording that injects a much need breathe of fresh air into the world of Hip-Hop and is without question a must have album of 2003. Even if you don’t like “Where is the Love?” (which I actually find to be one of the album’s weaker tracks and one I am not a fan of) you should give Elephunk a try. I don’t think you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Elephunk (Audio CD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
Love it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 24 Nov. 2003
By 
A. BADDELEY "sawtooth12" (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
Compared to 'Behind The Front' which had new angles, and a definite underground hip hop feel / sensibility, played to death by UK hip hop DJ's (Westwood incl) this is an utter pop pulp. Sadenned that this route was chosen. Often is true that the first album is the best where less compromise is made. I would avoid this unless you like what I've described, in which case get their first instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars buy the previous 2 albums..not this!!, 2 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
Let me tell those of you who dont know.... The Black Eyed Peas were one of the freshest hip hop crews in the world.. their live shows were amazing displaying all elements of true B boyism. The first 2 albums.."behind the front" and "bridging the gap" are 2 of the finest Hip Hop albums ever. "Elephunk" however is a total pile of soiled pants. It is a disgraceful pop album full of depthless beats and nonsense. Someone in the crew clearly said look lets make a pop album we will replace the wicked singer we have with a harder Britney Spears lookalike and get Justin Timberlake on the first single... we will get to number 1 and make some real money. Mission accomplished...
I bought the album the moment it was released (long before "where is the love" charted) cause I knew it would be fresh based on the last 2 albums.. I was amazed to hear how truely poor it was.
I still believe it was all a business decision to go this way and they are still the fresh Hip Hop crew they always were so as much I they should get cussed for putting out this terrible album...you should still buy the first 2 if you wanna hear serious fresh conscious lyrics over heavy Jazz and Funk beats..
I hear the next album is gonna be called "Monkey bizness"... I really hope they go back to their fresh hip hop and leave this poppy nonsense to Britney Spears
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funktastic!, 29 Mar. 2004
By 
J. Taylor "It's her son matty T!" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
This album is a great mixture of different genres all fused together in a stand out album well worth the money. Standout tracks include the party anthem lets get retarded, the two timing anger in shut up, the regge tinted third eye, the head banging anxiety and of course the peac anthem and best seller that is where is the love? If I could think of something bad to say about it I'd say it, but i can't think of anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wicked album, different to old style BEP's, 3 Aug. 2004
By 
M. Roberts "method_myk" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
Overall this is a good album, long time fans of BEP will maybe be surprised, like i was, but i was positively surprised, the beats are funky and the lyrics are cool and fresh!
you'll notice at the bottom of this page that people who bough this album also bought BEyonce and the sugarbabes etc.. hmmm i dont real think BEP would have been compared to artists like these in their old days, but they've found a wicked style still.
i was hesitant when i first herard of the introduction of fergie and especially wwn i heard the cheesy single feat JT, Where is the love becuase that single is truley crap and lets the album and group down, but Fergie had a realy powerful funky voice and she fits well into the group!
overall a very good album, a few fillers, and i think the released singles are much too cheesy and should be avoided, e.g shut up and where is the love...
Best tracks are, Hands up, smells like funk anxiety (because of its pure originality!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 28 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
the first time i listened to this cd i thought what a waste of money but upon listening a few more times i have decided it was money well spent a mixture of different songs but all as brilliant as "where is the love"
an amazing album and totally worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics]
Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] by The Black Eyed Peas (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews