Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you're funkin with the funk family
i wouldn't call myself a fan of the BEP but after hearing this album i must say it is a pretty good mix of hip hop, funk and rnb. There are so many good tracks on here its hard to pick a favourite although i dont like Anxiety or Rock my S**t, i think they are the unwelcome rock-based interruptions in what is mainly a very enjoyable album.
Tracks which i think are...
Published on 14 Mar 2004 by nellpatel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
The Black Eyed Peas have been on the scene longer than one would expect. They charmed smaller circles before and achieved some popularity with "Request + Line," their collaboration with Macy Gray. An image revamp and a dreadfully fine-looking blonde later, suddenly they are the hottest group to hit the waves. Fergie, the new addition, does not only make the group easy on...
Published on 29 July 2004 by Nasser Alqatami


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Elephunk. Black Eye Peas., 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
Great album. Love it even at our ages respectively 60+ and 70+ Lyrics are all beautifully clear, you can hear every word, perhaps not always good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 2 Dec 2003
By 
Ms. S. Pasco Jones "SarahPJ" (Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
I can't remember the last time I bought a group/artist specific album where the majority of tracks are good.
This is the best album I've heard for years, worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Where Is The Love? In This Album, 6 Dec 2003
This review is from: Elephunk (Audio CD)
This is a greatg album all the tracks will get you up on your feet singing and dancing a must buy definetly for xmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is such a great album!, 15 Jan 2005
By 
G. Stephens "Blah, blah, blah" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
I think part of the album's greatness lies in its diversity- the beats are pretty much hip hop latino which = amazing to shake it to, yet the music applies to so many moods and the order in which the songs play is well thought out. The lyrics actually have important messages to them, which I think is great in a world where "hip pop" usually surfaces as aggressive and misogynist. Elephunk is really cool: BEP fans should'nt expect the same as their former albums but give Fergie and the new beats a chance because they are great! (Maybe minus the corny commercial addition of Justin Timberlake- but that's only in like one song and you can barely notive it). Best song: Let's Get R*tarded ( a lot better than the pc version Let's Get it Started)- but every song's is really great in my opinion! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the BEST album of 2003-4, 15 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
This is by far and away the best album i have heard in a very long time. It really appeals to me because it is so ecclectic. Every track is different and every track is brilliant, it crosses funk, pop, hiphop, rock, ballads, latin, jazz, everything... As well as the three outstanding singles the highlights include 'Lets Get Retarded' (think the ultimate party tune), 'Latin Girls' and 'Fly Away'. However my favourite bits are when the beautiful Fergie sings (she has a voice to die for...as shown on 'Shut Up'). An album to listen to at any occaision, it always makes me wanna dance, i just cant praise it highly enough. And the lyrics actually have meaning (ok, not all of the songs are as political as 'Where is the Love')...buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What A Surprise!, 15 Dec 2003
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
I bought this album as it was on special offer, i really didnt know what to expect from it as i really liked "Where Is The Love?"
But i have now listened to that album several times and love it. It is one of those albums where fans of Pop, Dance, Rap, R&B all come together and enjoy it as much as each other
It is a very infectious album my fav songs our "Shut Up!" and "Lets Get Retarded!" all the songs are gr8 on this album, v. worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good.....but not Great., 22 Dec 2003
By 
Mr. Damian J. McGrath (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
I purchased this album after hearing their first two releases, Shut Up and Where Is The Love, after liking both.
However, after listening to the entire album, I still only like those two songs. The rest of them are a different style, and without the catchy tunes and lyrics. I would purchase this album for the 2 songs alone, but I feel that the Black Eyed Peas will struggle to release another single as successful as their previous ones, and it is a huge disappointment that they haven't managed to capitalise on their popularity generated by Where Is The Love, as a strong album would have.
Another bad point is the lack of anything extra on the CD. There is no videos or extra material, and even though the lack of material is commonplace, it is still disappointing.
They are a good band, having done a few good songs, but nothing brilliant has been released here, and their fleeting flaunt with success and popularity may just have taken a step backwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 7 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
This album is great. Most songs on the album stick in your head beacause they are so catchy (Labor day, Lets get retarded, Hey Mam Shut Up and If it smells like funk). My favourite track on the album is where the love, the only downfall with this song is that their are not enough of Fergies strong lyrics, Apart from that this abum is great and I advice that you go out and BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confident, Exciting, Original!, 23 Mar 2004
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
The Black Eyed Peas have been an underground Hip-Hop favourite for years now. There first two releases were respected and appreciated in rap circles, but they lacked the signature single to break the mainstream. Everything changed for them in Summer 2003, when they released “Where Is The Love?”. The song was followed up by the huge hit “Shut Up” which further pushed the group to the forefront of popular music. “Elephunk”, their third album, is simply their best to date. On paper, most people would laugh in the face of this album, but in practice it flows and grows into what will possibly go down in music history as total classic. The album is a confident blend between rap, funk style beats and soulful female vocal’s courtesy of new member, Fergie. This blend is the very essence of the new sound that BEP have created for themselves, and so the key to their recent success.
Highlights of the record include “Sexy” – a song that grows on you with every listen. Simple in it’s essence – there is little going on, but the lyrics and rapping are really good and the song becomes a real album favourite. Another great addition is “Hands Up” which kicks the album of in great style. A jumping and pumping rap track that perfectly sums up every buzzin’ house party you have ever been to. The third single, “Hey Mama”, is probably my favourite track on the record. It’s so perfect to dance to I just can’t resist it anytime I listen to the track, it moves and flows in ways that make it stand out head and shoulders above so many other songs of today, for me anyway. I also love the track “Labour Day” because of that repetitive loop throughout which gets me everytime – I just love it. The lyrics of the song – celebrating a public holiday – are a little banal I admit but overall the track really works.
Overall, this is a confident, defiant recording that injects a much need breathe of fresh air into the world of Hip-Hop and is without question a must have album of 2003. Even if you don’t like “Where is the Love?” (which I actually find to be one of the album’s weaker tracks and one I am not a fan of) you should give Elephunk a try. I don’t think you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
Love it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics]
Elephunk [Explicit Lyrics] by The Black Eyed Peas (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews