Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2009
Two words can describe this dvd set.

Great...............Super

I didn't get where I am today by describing this dvd set in more than two words.
33 comments|103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2009
At last, the entire collection of Leonard Rossiter at his very best - as Reginald Iolanthe Perrin! Having purchased it and already seen the first 3 series, I would thoroughly recommend this beautifully packaged collection. The chance to laugh and weep along with with Reggie as he struggles through the monotony of life in the rat race and indeed, the fast lane. As the pressure grows on Reggie as a Senior sales executive, he longs to escape from it all. The series charts his battle with his complacent life, through his eventual escape from it all, and his ups and downs as he returns to his old life after living as a tramp, then supping champagne as a multi-milionaire, yet always having his roots firmly at home despite his wandering fantasies. I first saw this excellent programme at the age of 16, and now at 48 I just cannot tire of it. Recommended for anyone who saw it on TV first time round or perhaps has seen the new - and very good - series with Martin Clunes and is curious about the original series. You can't go wrong if you buy this product - there are many guaranteed laughs to come. I didn't get where I am today without knowing there are many guaranteed laughs to come!
0Comment|66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2004
A year or so ago I saw series 1 for the first time in many years when it was repeated in the UK by the BBC. It was wonderfully nostalgic to become engrossed once again in the story. David Nobbs had created Reginald Iolanthe Perrin (played by Leonard Rossiter), a frustrated and stressed business executive, living a comfortable but boring suburban lifestyle, fed-up with British Rail always getting hime to work 11 minutes late. Many could identify, at least in part, with Reggie. The faked suicide and his new identities create hilarious situations but always with a hint of sadness at his predicament - sometimes it is uncomfortable if you have been in a similar situation yourself. Sadly the BBC did not choose to screen the full trilogy, so it was with relief that I discovered this box set. Series 1 deals with Reggie's build-up to a breakdown and his "disappearance", followed by his very amusing appearance at his own memorial service as an old friend of Reggie's. He then wins the heart of his "widow", Elizabeth (Pauline Yates). In series 2 he accidentally founds "Grot", an empire of shops selling useless objects, also greatly entertaining. Series 3, in which he founds a commune for the middle classes works a little less well for me, partly because of a change of actor playing his son-in-law. But it is because all three series are here that this set is so great - the story needs to be complete... that said, there were two spin-off series; one of these is "A Fairly Secret Army", starring Reggie's brother-in-law Jimmy, played by Geoffrey Palmer. The other, in 1996, being "The Legacy of Reginald Perrin", with more or less the same cast as "Fall and Rise" (except of course, the late Leonard Rossiter, whose character, Reggie, is also absent). The former I haven't seen since it was first shown in the 70s or 80s, the latter I have never seen. It would be great if the publisher (Second Sight Films Ltd) could put these on DVD to really complete the picture!
11 comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2004
Reggie Perrin is a middle-aged man ground down by the sheer boredom of his middle-management lifestyle. He is squeezed between his bullying boss (CJ) and young upstarts snapping at his heels. He is irritated by Elizabeth, his patronizing wife and lusts after his secretary, as a means of escape. For Reggie Perrin there is only one way out - his symbolic death and rebirth. However, he can't escape from his past even by assuming various other identities and so the cycle of death and rebirth repeats itself. It is also a satire on life in mid-70's Britain, where people talk in cliches and are duped into following the various trends.
While the show is dated in visual style (those ladies fashions!) and some episodes resort to classic English farce, the anguish and comedy in David Nobb's excellent writing is driven home by Rossiter's energetic (sometimes OTT) performance as Reggie. Rossiter has an able supporting cast including the excellent Geoffrey Palmer as Reggie's brother-in-law, who can't get his life to run properly either - especially on the catering front.
However, at the price, there should be some special features included in the package.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2009
Episode 5 of series 1 has been cut.

This is baffling. Two cuts of about fifteen seconds total. Two jokes cut short, two scenes ruined. Why? It's not as if they were even the slightly outdated jokes - just the one where Reggie says "shush" to an owl when he's trying to sleep in the van, then the one where CJ dismisses the "crank" note, before changing his mind and taking it more seriously.

It's like the bad old days of movies on TV, where stations cut for time. Only, it doesn't even make that amount of sense. This episode was complete and uncut on the old VHS release, so why isn't that the case here?

As far as the rest of the collection goes, it's good enough. The first series is quite possibly the single greatest - and most subversive - sitcom ever to be broadcast on BBC1. The second series drops the ball a little as far as focus, pacing and purpose go, but it's still better than pretty much any of its contemporaries.

The third... well, the third's very much of its time. The jokes still work, Rossiter's performance is still magnetic and winning, but the basic concept behind it has aged badly and is unlikely to have any real relevance to modern viewers' lives.

The 1990s', post-Rossiter series, The Legacy of Reginald Perrin, is awful, and the perfect demonstration of just how brilliant a performer the show's deceased star was: it's obvious from the first moments of the first episode of Legacy that Rossiter was previously the glue holding the entire thing together, his performance the one thing that lifted it above predictable, dull, cheap catchphrase comedy and made the show something special. Without his presence, it fails dismally.

The addition of the related Comedy Connections show and the Christmas sketch is welcome, but the BBC are missing the ball by failing to provide on their DVD releases the kind of extras that classic movie DVDs have enjoyed for some time, commentaries being the main one.

At the time of writing, this is listed at under £20. It's a bit of a bargain for that price and if you haven't seen the show before, I can't recommend it enough. However, the fact remains that the first series is the true classic here, and on this boxset, for whatever reason, it *isn't* truly complete.
33 comments|75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2007
Absolutely brilliant. If you have never seen Leonard Rossiter perform on screen or in the theatre, you're missing the talent of a man who gave 100% to everything. This role as Reginald Perrin could only be played by one man who had the drive to play him as it was meant to be.

Great! Super! Yes - Leonard Rossitter you will be missed, but your performances will always be remembered. A wonderful English actor!!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2010
Most of the reviews here concentrate on how funny this series was, and I certainly won't contradict anything they say. However, there is a serious side to the series too in how it looks at issues such as mental illness, middle-class alienation and male mid-life crisis. Mixing these issues with silliness and catchphrases should be difficult, but writer Nobbs and star Rossiter pulled it off. The ending of the last episode of the third series is horribly sad. I first saw the series as a teenager and have always looked on it as a cautionary tale - it's perhaps one reason why I live in Cornwall not south-east commuterland. I could in fact say "I didn't get where I am today by not seeing 'The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin' as a cautionary tale..."
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2009
I grabbed this special edition as soon as I saw it - I have fond memories of the series when they were aired, and I still have all the books.

Leonard Rossiter is outstanding as the beleaguered Reggie: this has to be his best ever performance, and the one he should be remembered for. The strong supporting cast are a joy, but Leonard shines overall.

The Legacy of Reginald Perrin is worth a look, though I doubt I'd have bought it on its own - a Reggie Perrin series with no Reggie Perrin? It's a tad remeniscent [to me, anyway] of "Laughter in Paradise", and I expected the same sting in the tail - I'm not going to say if that happened or not, watch it yourself!

The bonus disc has the "Comedy Connection" of The Fall and Rise, and a very short Christmas special. I could have wished for more on Leonard - or, basically, anything on Leonard! - but there was no biography, which is a shame.

Nevertheless, if you remember Reggie, or if you don't but wonder why someone says "Super!" whenever someone else says "Great!" then you should buy this and find out.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2007
One of my all time favourite sitcoms. Brilliantly written with superb characters - the ego maniacal CJ (1,2,3,4,make them wait outside the door, 5,6,7,8 always pays to make them wait, 9,10,11,12 COME!), the incompetent Doc ('feeling a bit chesty Joan'?), the clueless brother in Law, Jimmy ('bit of a cock up on the catering front') Thirty years on it still makes me laugh. The disillusioned middle manager surrounded by a boss who didn't get where he is today without humiliating his subordinates, the 'great,super' young graduate recruits, the dysfunctional family and the mother in law who creates a recurring hippopotamus image at her mere mention. No wonder the faked suicide seemed like a good option. Rossiter is at his best as the much put upon, long suffering Reggie whose response to the banality of his everyday life is to engineer a dramatic escape. The second series with the growth of his Grot Shop concept and the employment of all the old favourites is a good development. The third series is less strong with the commune concept being perhaps a series too far.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2005
It is great to see this series on DVD. Pity there are no extras, especially input from the writer - and if you have not read the books you are in for a treat as there is far more in them than they managed (undoubtedly due to time and possibly subject matters suitable to show at the time)to include on film. Series 1 is the best, the loss of loyalty and 'jobs worth' - when you consider in the 1970s for many a job was for life. Reggie - definitive Leonard Rossiter - (as central character) has a boss (CJ is an excellent characature played by John Barron - brimming hilarious philosophies) who is not listening, a wife 'understands' but does not - not until he re appears after faking his own death and a wonderful collection of onlookers, both family and his fantasy outlet Joan in the office. His confession on his return to his daughter Linda - who maintains his secret identity in various guises from a sewage plant worker to his best friend from Brazil - is a brilliant part to the story and demonstrates superb empathy and synergy between the two - from his executive stress, fall and rise to her frustrated marriage to a dull and boring man with zero charisma. Quite why such a creative person as Reggie would ever be a pin stripe suited employee of Sunshine Desserts and daughter Linda - extremely attractive and very well spoken would be married to and unloved by such a bore(and contrary to some narrow views the fashion was not as bad as you might think in the mid 70s, Lindas 'Charlies Angels' hairdo and bell bottom Levis are very 'in' again now and actress Sally Jane Spencer is the best model for both) - is perhaps an irony that applies to many in life. Series 2 and 3 have their moments too but treat yourself to this and if you suffer from stress in the workplace this is textbook stuff.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.