Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reginald Perrin
Two words can describe this dvd set.

Great...............Super

I didn't get where I am today by describing this dvd set in more than two words.
Published on 18 May 2009 by G. CAROLAN

versus
69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, slightly shoddy DVDs
Episode 5 of series 1 has been cut.

This is baffling. Two cuts of about fifteen seconds total. Two jokes cut short, two scenes ruined. Why? It's not as if they were even the slightly outdated jokes - just the one where Reggie says "shush" to an owl when he's trying to sleep in the van, then the one where CJ dismisses the "crank" note, before changing his mind...
Published on 27 July 2009 by E. Randy Dupre


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reginald Perrin, 18 May 2009
By 
G. CAROLAN (Stourport on Severn, Worcestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Two words can describe this dvd set.

Great...............Super

I didn't get where I am today by describing this dvd set in more than two words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, slightly shoddy DVDs, 27 July 2009
Episode 5 of series 1 has been cut.

This is baffling. Two cuts of about fifteen seconds total. Two jokes cut short, two scenes ruined. Why? It's not as if they were even the slightly outdated jokes - just the one where Reggie says "shush" to an owl when he's trying to sleep in the van, then the one where CJ dismisses the "crank" note, before changing his mind and taking it more seriously.

It's like the bad old days of movies on TV, where stations cut for time. Only, it doesn't even make that amount of sense. This episode was complete and uncut on the old VHS release, so why isn't that the case here?

As far as the rest of the collection goes, it's good enough. The first series is quite possibly the single greatest - and most subversive - sitcom ever to be broadcast on BBC1. The second series drops the ball a little as far as focus, pacing and purpose go, but it's still better than pretty much any of its contemporaries.

The third... well, the third's very much of its time. The jokes still work, Rossiter's performance is still magnetic and winning, but the basic concept behind it has aged badly and is unlikely to have any real relevance to modern viewers' lives.

The 1990s', post-Rossiter series, The Legacy of Reginald Perrin, is awful, and the perfect demonstration of just how brilliant a performer the show's deceased star was: it's obvious from the first moments of the first episode of Legacy that Rossiter was previously the glue holding the entire thing together, his performance the one thing that lifted it above predictable, dull, cheap catchphrase comedy and made the show something special. Without his presence, it fails dismally.

The addition of the related Comedy Connections show and the Christmas sketch is welcome, but the BBC are missing the ball by failing to provide on their DVD releases the kind of extras that classic movie DVDs have enjoyed for some time, commentaries being the main one.

At the time of writing, this is listed at under £20. It's a bit of a bargain for that price and if you haven't seen the show before, I can't recommend it enough. However, the fact remains that the first series is the true classic here, and on this boxset, for whatever reason, it *isn't* truly complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legendary series, 29 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last, the entire collection of Leonard Rossiter at his very best - as Reginald Iolanthe Perrin! Having purchased it and already seen the first 3 series, I would thoroughly recommend this beautifully packaged collection. The chance to laugh and weep along with with Reggie as he struggles through the monotony of life in the rat race and indeed, the fast lane. As the pressure grows on Reggie as a Senior sales executive, he longs to escape from it all. The series charts his battle with his complacent life, through his eventual escape from it all, and his ups and downs as he returns to his old life after living as a tramp, then supping champagne as a multi-milionaire, yet always having his roots firmly at home despite his wandering fantasies. I first saw this excellent programme at the age of 16, and now at 48 I just cannot tire of it. Recommended for anyone who saw it on TV first time round or perhaps has seen the new - and very good - series with Martin Clunes and is curious about the original series. You can't go wrong if you buy this product - there are many guaranteed laughs to come. I didn't get where I am today without knowing there are many guaranteed laughs to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life does not change in the office, 19 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fall And Rise Of Reginald Perrin : The Complete BBC Series Collection [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
It is great to see this series on DVD. Pity there are no extras, especially input from the writer - and if you have not read the books you are in for a treat as there is far more in them than they managed (undoubtedly due to time and possibly subject matters suitable to show at the time)to include on film. Series 1 is the best, the loss of loyalty and 'jobs worth' - when you consider in the 1970s for many a job was for life. Reggie - definitive Leonard Rossiter - (as central character) has a boss (CJ is an excellent characature played by John Barron - brimming hilarious philosophies) who is not listening, a wife 'understands' but does not - not until he re appears after faking his own death and a wonderful collection of onlookers, both family and his fantasy outlet Joan in the office. His confession on his return to his daughter Linda - who maintains his secret identity in various guises from a sewage plant worker to his best friend from Brazil - is a brilliant part to the story and demonstrates superb empathy and synergy between the two - from his executive stress, fall and rise to her frustrated marriage to a dull and boring man with zero charisma. Quite why such a creative person as Reggie would ever be a pin stripe suited employee of Sunshine Desserts and daughter Linda - extremely attractive and very well spoken would be married to and unloved by such a bore(and contrary to some narrow views the fashion was not as bad as you might think in the mid 70s, Lindas 'Charlies Angels' hairdo and bell bottom Levis are very 'in' again now and actress Sally Jane Spencer is the best model for both) - is perhaps an irony that applies to many in life. Series 2 and 3 have their moments too but treat yourself to this and if you suffer from stress in the workplace this is textbook stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cream of the Comedy crop, 25 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: The Fall And Rise Of Reginald Perrin : The Complete BBC Series Collection [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Without doubt, my absolute favorite comedy. Period. The writing was sharp and witty, the acting solid, and the characters instantly memorable. The rapid-fire exchanges between Reggie and C.J. were incredible. The timing of the lines was perfect. Sadly, it is only available in Region 0 DVD format, so those of us in the states have only to dream of the day when they decide to place it in Region 1 format. Fingers are crossed. There are a lot of us Yanks out here who adore this show. I didn't get where I am today without having to dream of the day when they decide to place it in Region 1 format. Great. Super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back, Reggie!, 15 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall And Rise Of Reginald Perrin : The Complete BBC Series Collection [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
A year or so ago I saw series 1 for the first time in many years when it was repeated in the UK by the BBC. It was wonderfully nostalgic to become engrossed once again in the story. David Nobbs had created Reginald Iolanthe Perrin (played by Leonard Rossiter), a frustrated and stressed business executive, living a comfortable but boring suburban lifestyle, fed-up with British Rail always getting hime to work 11 minutes late. Many could identify, at least in part, with Reggie. The faked suicide and his new identities create hilarious situations but always with a hint of sadness at his predicament - sometimes it is uncomfortable if you have been in a similar situation yourself. Sadly the BBC did not choose to screen the full trilogy, so it was with relief that I discovered this box set. Series 1 deals with Reggie's build-up to a breakdown and his "disappearance", followed by his very amusing appearance at his own memorial service as an old friend of Reggie's. He then wins the heart of his "widow", Elizabeth (Pauline Yates). In series 2 he accidentally founds "Grot", an empire of shops selling useless objects, also greatly entertaining. Series 3, in which he founds a commune for the middle classes works a little less well for me, partly because of a change of actor playing his son-in-law. But it is because all three series are here that this set is so great - the story needs to be complete... that said, there were two spin-off series; one of these is "A Fairly Secret Army", starring Reggie's brother-in-law Jimmy, played by Geoffrey Palmer. The other, in 1996, being "The Legacy of Reginald Perrin", with more or less the same cast as "Fall and Rise" (except of course, the late Leonard Rossiter, whose character, Reggie, is also absent). The former I haven't seen since it was first shown in the 70s or 80s, the latter I have never seen. It would be great if the publisher (Second Sight Films Ltd) could put these on DVD to really complete the picture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 25 Aug. 2004
By 
D. A. Campbell (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall And Rise Of Reginald Perrin : The Complete BBC Series Collection [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Reggie Perrin is a middle-aged man ground down by the sheer boredom of his middle-management lifestyle. He is squeezed between his bullying boss (CJ) and young upstarts snapping at his heels. He is irritated by Elizabeth, his patronizing wife and lusts after his secretary, as a means of escape. For Reggie Perrin there is only one way out - his symbolic death and rebirth. However, he can't escape from his past even by assuming various other identities and so the cycle of death and rebirth repeats itself. It is also a satire on life in mid-70's Britain, where people talk in cliches and are duped into following the various trends.
While the show is dated in visual style (those ladies fashions!) and some episodes resort to classic English farce, the anguish and comedy in David Nobb's excellent writing is driven home by Rossiter's energetic (sometimes OTT) performance as Reggie. Rossiter has an able supporting cast including the excellent Geoffrey Palmer as Reggie's brother-in-law, who can't get his life to run properly either - especially on the catering front.
However, at the price, there should be some special features included in the package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British comedy at it's finest!!, 16 Mar. 2007
By 
Bernard Kinney (Alexandra, New Zealand.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fall And Rise Of Reginald Perrin : The Complete BBC Series Collection [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant. If you have never seen Leonard Rossiter perform on screen or in the theatre, you're missing the talent of a man who gave 100% to everything. This role as Reginald Perrin could only be played by one man who had the drive to play him as it was meant to be.

Great! Super! Yes - Leonard Rossitter you will be missed, but your performances will always be remembered. A wonderful English actor!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marred by cuts!, 18 Aug. 2010
By 
km.ord (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It almost brings tears to my eyes to have to allocate only three stars to what can only be described as one of the greatest, if not the greatest, sitcom of the last, and indeed, this century. The story and content of this series needs no introduction, needs no synopsis, or discussion as to how these great actors made this series as good as the novels by David Nobbs. The nigh on perfect interaction between the characters, particularly between the Leonard Rossiter and John Baron, who were great friends, requires no elaboration whatsoever. Anyone reading this, or any of the reviews here, already know about the timeless qualities that lie within.

I love this series; I have owned the earlier box set for the last eight years and have watched each and every episode, at least twice per year. So why only three stars? The low rating is simply due to the fact that this re-issue is marred by cuts within some of the episodes. Whilst traversing through the first series, I noticed little things that were missing, yet I couldn't quite put my finger on it. In fact, the cuts are quite subtle, and it's only if you've watched the earlier issues a number of times, that you'll even be aware that they existed at all. But they do exist, there are at least three cuts in the first series alone, which one other reviewer also spotted and provides a detailed account of them. I compared the scenes with my old releases, because I couldn't quite believe that they existed; but they do. These omissions are completely unjustified and they appear quite shocking when played next to the uncut scenes.

It seems so sad, because there has been at least one significant improvement, through the inclusion of excellent and extremely accurate subtitles. All of the spoken text is present within the subtitles, even when you bear in mind the the rapid-fire interchanges between the characters. This doesn't happen, for example, in the the latest Rising Damp release, where many of the subtitles are omitted whilst the characters speak, or the subtitle text is a watered down summary of what is actually being said. The subtitles within the Perrin box set are exemplary; but for myself, the unjustified reel slashes make this set feel cheap and shoddy. I was going to give my older, more complete set away to someone else after purchasing this re-issue, until I realised that that wouldn't be a good idea.

If you can somehow get hold of the earlier releases, don't hesitate, even if they are a little more expensive. You can't put a price on completeness. If you don't mind the odd cut here or there, then by all means, go for this extremely inexpensive, space saving set. The price for the re-issue did seem a little too good to be true in my eyes (I'd paid around forty pounds for the earlier release). Upon watching, the facts spoke for themselves.

An absolute classic comedy, starring the late and great Leonard Rossiter, ruined through needless snips in the cutting room. The auditing methods with regarding to checking the final product must be completely substandard at the BBC, and for that, they should hold their heads in shame!

AFTERNOTE:

After careful contemplation; I feel I've been a little too harsh in allocating three stars because of a few snips here and there. Particularly, I would not wish to detract newcomers from this wonderful series because of a couple of omissions. My harshness is based on the purist viewpoint. I've also noticed that the older release is quite difficult, and expensive to get hold of now; therefore, the current release is probably the the only cost efficient method to purchase this series in its entirety. So, I give the BBC three stars, but the series itself, a perfect five; and thus, meet it in the middle - so, four stars rather than three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't get where I am today by not recognising a classic when I see it, 29 Aug. 2009
By 
F. Lane "franl155" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grabbed this special edition as soon as I saw it - I have fond memories of the series when they were aired, and I still have all the books.

Leonard Rossiter is outstanding as the beleaguered Reggie: this has to be his best ever performance, and the one he should be remembered for. The strong supporting cast are a joy, but Leonard shines overall.

The Legacy of Reginald Perrin is worth a look, though I doubt I'd have bought it on its own - a Reggie Perrin series with no Reggie Perrin? It's a tad remeniscent [to me, anyway] of "Laughter in Paradise", and I expected the same sting in the tail - I'm not going to say if that happened or not, watch it yourself!

The bonus disc has the "Comedy Connection" of The Fall and Rise, and a very short Christmas special. I could have wished for more on Leonard - or, basically, anything on Leonard! - but there was no biography, which is a shame.

Nevertheless, if you remember Reggie, or if you don't but wonder why someone says "Super!" whenever someone else says "Great!" then you should buy this and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews