Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great rock nostalgia
I remember the TV series x 2 in the 70's and the DVD's are great to watch and remember. Well worth it!
Published on 1 Feb. 2010 by Janet Tilsley

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated but enjoyable
We finished watching the entire series, and enjoyed it to the end. Something we don't always manage. It is very much of it's time, so young viewers might find it odd! However, the girls are sympathetic characters and retain one's interest. Worth a view.
Published on 28 Dec. 2010 by Doris


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated but enjoyable, 28 Dec. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Follies The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
We finished watching the entire series, and enjoyed it to the end. Something we don't always manage. It is very much of it's time, so young viewers might find it odd! However, the girls are sympathetic characters and retain one's interest. Worth a view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great rock nostalgia, 1 Feb. 2010
By 
Janet Tilsley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Follies The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I remember the TV series x 2 in the 70's and the DVD's are great to watch and remember. Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to see quality tv made a good few years back, 13 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Follies The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Widows - Complete Box Set - Series 1 and 2 [DVD]

Thoroughly enjoyed this when it was first on TV in the 80's love Julie Covington, it was when they used to make good entertainment on TV and also bought back good memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Widows Box Set, 15 May 2014
By 
B. Sallis (Birmingham: England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent box set got for my sister she loves it good tv series from the 80's they don't make them like this any more. very good price from amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A SPECIAL PIECE OF TELLY HISTORY., 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Follies The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this show when it was originally on the telly and never went out till I watched the latest episode. The songs are fab and in my opinion Julie Covington's version of " Don't cry for me Argentina " is streets ahead of all other versions. Great Show, great singing and music. A special piece of Telly History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just enjoy for the reminiscence value, 19 Jan. 2015
By 
Mrs. R. Drago - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Follies The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A real blast from the past ! It is 70's TV with really familiar actors at the start of their careers. These DVDs area commentary on the 70's fashion, life style and politics. The music is dated, but toe tapping. Just enjoy for the reminiscence value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Been toying with the idea of purchasing this dvd for years but never got around to it. The sound was not great and required turning up to an extremely high level, but I am really glad that I finally took the plunge. Extremely enjoyable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Widows - Complete Box Set - Series 1 and 2 (DVD), 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gift for my mother who watched it when it was originally screened on the TV. She loved it but unfortunately there were no subtitles available for her. She did view with very high volume though and thoroughly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the definitive crime drama, 21 July 2010
By 
T. Field - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Debuting in 1983 this show today is still as gripping as it was back then, standing out as a defining piece of television that was as ground-breaking as it was brilliant. The main leads are what make this instantly stand out above other crime dramas - four women - who are just as cunning, ruthless and dangerous (if not more so) than their male counterparts. Ann Mitchell's portrayal of Dolly Rawlins is mesmerising and so convincing at the crime she undertakes that you wonder why she bothered letting her husband do it in the first place.

She is supported by fellow widows Linda, Shirley and later, Bella. Together they pull off the ultimate crime and - unlike many dull moral lead US dramas - get away with it.

In 1985 they returned for more. This time the prize was diamonds, although the crime was never meant to be theirs and the consequences are devastating.

This is probably one of the finest British dramas ever produced and has stood the test of time, remaining a first class drama.

Just avoid the plot-hole ridden sequel series She's Out and the American comedy remake with Brooke Shields, they really do tarnish this fine piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic music great story, 7 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Follies The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the series in the 80's and I have always hoped for a rerun but no such luck. So I bought an expensive DVD player just so I could watch them again and they are just as I remember - fantastic - great music and a great story. Now if you can just persuade them to release series 3 I could have that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock Follies The Complete Collection [DVD]
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews