Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The biggest hobo
Bound for Glory is a simple film, because it aims to project the ethics and philosophy of a simple man. Woody Guthrie transcended the clutter of political and social machinations in a world gone mad, with his brilliant, satirical and downright cutting songs (and oratory). He also bled for his beliefs. This film portrays a part of his journey among the lunatics so...
Published on 7 Jan. 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
no review as not for me but a gift
Published 7 months ago by c b


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The biggest hobo, 7 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
Bound for Glory is a simple film, because it aims to project the ethics and philosophy of a simple man. Woody Guthrie transcended the clutter of political and social machinations in a world gone mad, with his brilliant, satirical and downright cutting songs (and oratory). He also bled for his beliefs. This film portrays a part of his journey among the lunatics so beautifully and poetically, that at times it almost hurts that you were not there. This is an important film. If you have a spare moment in your busy life, bask in this sunlight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Woody Guthrie and steam, 17 July 2009
By 
George Hart (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not keen on long films, however I purchased the "Bound for Glory" DVD because I have been a fan of Woody Guthrie for over fifty years. Despite my opening comment, I sat through all 146 minutes without a break and enjoyed the experience. The film is well acted, has remarkable photography and tells part of the life story of a remarkable man. As an added bonus there are several good sequences featuring steam locomotives in action. These shots alone almost make it worthwhile purchasing this DVD. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bound for Beauty, 25 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound For Glory [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
I'm slowly making my way through Hal Ashby's filmography, shaking my head and wondering what could have been if this genius had lived a little longer. This film is based on the protest singer Woody Guthrie's autobiography. It shows his life in middle America before he was known, his struggle to reach California, his early musical career, his support of the workers and the unions (a commie bastard in many people's eyes.) Some scenes of migrant workers arriving in California, and the treatment they received, are very reminiscent of the arrival of jews at concentration camps. Scenes of Woody playing music with his friends, of young women strumming their guitars in the migrant worker camps, catch the viewer by surprise with their simple beauty. Ashby told stories that he cared about, about people who were unique and otherworldly. Although this film lacks a strong plotline, it's never boring; and some scenes, especially the ones involving music, are gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film I appreciate and admire, although I don't quite love, 20 May 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bound For Glory [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
This portrait of Woody Guthrie has a lot of highlights, including
Haskell Wexler's great photography).

But David Carradine is very good, not great in the lead, and the film
feels a bit unfocused.

There's surprisingly little of Guthrie's music performed, and a lot of
it played orchestrally as soundtrack, which seemed odd and out of
character to me.

I appreciate that this is grittier, darker, and less linear than the
standard Hollywood bio-pic. And I love that Guthrie is shown as a
deeply flawed man, (e.g. his easy willingness to cheat on his wife).
But in the end this doesn't go very deeply into his politics or his
music, the two most important things about his life.

Not helped by the fact the DVD transfer is pretty awful quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, 31 July 2009
By 
F. Panin "FabioStar" (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound For Glory [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
This is an excellent movie, which renders very well the book on which is based. All characters are played very well, and, needless to say, David Carradine provides an excellent performance in a character that suits him perfectly.
At the end of this movie one can only be sad that apparently this world is not rewarding those people who care most about others, and that the effort one individual may place to change this course of things has negligible effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 14 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound For Glory [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Really liked this film, it is about the American iconic folk/ blues singer/songwriter Woody Guthrie, although quite old the film stands the test of time,David Caradine takes the lead part, bit slow to begin with, but it shows the great depression and how it displaced people and how unscrupulous bosses took advantage of the desparate plight of people in need, a young Ronnie Cox takes a good part too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music: good. Carradine: I love him playing this person., 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound For Glory [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Nice to watch. You get a real good look into the times back then. It surely was't a better time to live in then it is now.
David plays (and sings) the character very well. He shows he can do more than kung fu movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I liked this DVD but wish there had been more in ..., 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound For Glory [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
As there will be no new works with David Carradine I am trying to find what is available that he has written, acted in and directed.
I liked this DVD but wish there had been more in depth of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Depression., 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound For Glory [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
An uplifting antidote to bleak depression era films such as They Shoot Horses, Don't They? David Carradine gives one of the best performances of his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound For Glory [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Great item, and good value, quick delivery. Recommended seller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bound For Glory [DVD] [1976]
Bound For Glory [DVD] [1976] by Hal Ashby (DVD - 2003)
£6.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews