Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Horror FIlm, An Average Halloween FIlm
OK, you all know the plot. Halloween is coming and so is homicidal masked madman Michael Myers, ready to carve up more than pumpkins. After disapearing at the end of H5 (with Jamie Loyd), it starts off with a ritual being performed on Jamies baby in which the symbol of the thorn is carved on its chest. Jamie gets the baby and escapes, with Myers hot on her trail. After...
Published on 5 Aug 2002 by beef_2049

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag
It's been mentioned in the other reviews so i shall get it out of the way early, the bootleg producer's cut of this movie is superior by a large margin, the druid subplot is much better handled, the ending is a vast improvement and the characters feel more rounded. But until Dimension feel the need to milk some more cash from the franchise and release it officially this...
Published on 10 Sep 2007 by J. C


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag, 10 Sep 2007
This review is from: Halloween VI: The Curse of Michael Myers [DVD] (DVD)
It's been mentioned in the other reviews so i shall get it out of the way early, the bootleg producer's cut of this movie is superior by a large margin, the druid subplot is much better handled, the ending is a vast improvement and the characters feel more rounded. But until Dimension feel the need to milk some more cash from the franchise and release it officially this version is what we have.
Attempting to be both a continuation of the plot from Halloween 4 & 5 as well as a new story Curse maybe tries to take on more than it can chew, the Jamie Lloyd character from the previous films is dismissed much to early and Dr Loomis seems to be pushed to the sidelines (both these problems are solved in the alternate cut), of the newly introduced characters only Paul Rudd's Tommy Doyle has any real substance, Rudd brings a nice quiet mania to the role. Another big sticking point is the new motive for Michael's killing, giving the silent slasher from Haddonfield this rather convoluted back story takes away a lot of the terror the original film imbued Michael and for a horror film this is a big problem.
I understand that problems with director Chappelle and failing health meant that Donald Pleasence seems relegated to bit player in this one, but i still felt the character deserved a better send off, despite this Pleasence still commands any scene he appears in and will always be as much a part of the series as Michael.
Of course it's not all bad, the cinematography is top notch, Alan Howarth's redone score is effective, returning Myer's performer George Wilbur is a good Shape and the mask looks better than it did in the previous films also some well lit tightly edited kill sequences are most effective, in fact for a casual fan, this is an entertaining shocker but it could have been so much more and maybe then we wouldn't have had the horror-lite H20 as Halloween 6 effectively buried the series and demanded it be overhauled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Horror Film, but not a great "Halloween" Film, 14 Jun 2001
By 
moviemaniac@eircom.net (Castlebridge, Co. Wexford, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This is quite a good horror film, but it disappoints me in that it is not a good movie in terms of the Halloween series.This is the weakest of the Michael Myers movies, suffering from a dodgy script.It left too many things unanswered, like why the group in the film wanted Michael Myers and the baby and what was the purpose of the intended operation on the baby ? Also Donald Pleasance lacked a commanding presence as Dr Loomis which he had shown in previous movies in the series, he looked too old and frail(not through any fault of his own) to still be chasing such a maniac and he looked too poorly to even be starring in a movie.However what brings this up beyond being just another average horror movie is the menacing and lurking presence of Michael Myers, who once again proves why he is the king of movie maniacs.Whoever played him deserves 10 out of 10.Myers dispatches people in the most gruesome and grizzly ways possible, one instance however I feel is a bit far fetched(see the electrocution scene), but other than that the killings only add quality to the film.So overall this is not a bad horror movie, but it is by no means a classic, like Halloween's 1,2,and H20.Its worth getting to make your ownn decision, verdicts on the quality of this film are mixed.I for one like it and recommend it if you are a fan of the Halloween series or just a horror buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a decent blu ray release!, 26 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have just watched this blu ray and found it to be a decent blu ray transfer. the picture is quite clear and is better than the dvd version of this movie. there are white specks present throughout the film and the picture can be soft and there is some picture grain,but this is an acceptable release and at the moment is the only blu ray release of this movie and for the price i think it is worth the purchase.as with my review for halloween h20,this is not a reference quality blu ray but it pleased me and i think is worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Again, it could have been terrific, 24 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Halloween VI: The Curse of Michael Myers [DVD] (DVD)
Well the mini trilogy in the series that was just the story involving 4,5 and this comes to an end. Sadly its not the end we should have got. Jamie Lloyd vanished at the end of the 5th movie (we left her at the empty and bloodied jail cell!) now she is a young woman and in some hospital. This hospital has the cult hinted in Halloween 5. This cult appear to worship Myers and the symbol! This "Thorn" symbol appears in the stars when he returns. This is an interesting way to explain his persistance. Myers has evolved from the spectre and graceful silent killer and into a brute like Jason Vorhees...no...no...no! This is something the series didnt need. However this is a halloween sequel and it really isnt bad, it entertains and has its scary moments. The silly plot is just silly and you wonder how the cult came to such a daft idea in the first place given Myers doesnt exactly stop to explain himself. Paul Rudd (40 year old virgin, Clueless, Knocked up) makes his early serious acting worth our while as the older Tommy Doyle. Sadly we didnt get an actual Halloween 7 just H20 and that was strictly anniversary film. These threads could have done with a proper ending, but I guess they decided that it was a little OTT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Horror FIlm, An Average Halloween FIlm, 5 Aug 2002
OK, you all know the plot. Halloween is coming and so is homicidal masked madman Michael Myers, ready to carve up more than pumpkins. After disapearing at the end of H5 (with Jamie Loyd), it starts off with a ritual being performed on Jamies baby in which the symbol of the thorn is carved on its chest. Jamie gets the baby and escapes, with Myers hot on her trail. After 15yrs (Halloween 5) Halloween has been banned in Haddonfield so a bunch of students try to ressurect it. The one bad thing about this film are its sub plots (The Thorn curse, The "Evil" Man In Black) which can sometimes be confusing.
For Hardcore Halloween fans this film may disapoint, For gore hounds - there's plenty of neck braking, eye gouging, gutting and throat slicing, all done in the bloodiest way.
The final half an hour is really suspensful and exciting. Also this is Donald Pleasence's last film (sadly).
All In All : A Good, Scary film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ignore the other reviews, 14 April 2004
this halloween film is one of the best in the series, only because jamie has a baby doesnt change it at all... and it does tell us who's baby it is, it's michael myers' baby. and i bet you're thingin WHAT?? well wot happened is DR.Wynn injects michael into jamie and she has a baby, now michael wants the child.
he kills jamie on the way along with a load of other people including her mothers(laurie strode) family. this is excellent with an appearance of tommy doyle(the boy laurie strode was baby sitting on the first halloween).
in this halloween night we find out that michael is actually controlled by the 'thorn' which is a sign of demons which brings death to thousands of people and in this case it being michael myers. i am not the only one who thinks this is the best even mustapha akkad and john carpenter say this is the most chilling and best in the series. i am a really big fan and i love every one in the series. ignore all of the bad reviews this is an excellent movie and is the scariest one... and as for one of the reviews above halloween 4 and 5 are excellent too and they do have a purpose only because jamie lee curtis (laurie strode) isnt in it doesnt make it a bad movie... the worst is halloween 3 - season of the witch, this is because it has NOTHING at all to do with michael myers or him killing on halloween night.
and also only because DR. sam loomis(donald pleasence) is old in this movie and doesnt really appear much he still makes an excellent improvement on this movie... i am upset that jamie died too but i still loved this movie and so should you, and if you were a true halloween fan you should see that this is one of the best just like the directors and i, so just buy this movie and see what you think of it for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise..despite missing scenes!!, 22 Sep 2010
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween VI: The Curse of Michael Myers [DVD] (DVD)
HALLOWEEN VI arrived in 1995 after the rather lame HALLOWEEN V disappointed fans in 1989. Unfortunately, here in the UK, HALLOWEEN VI went straight to video and missed out on a full theatrical release. This is a real shame as in my opinion this is one of the best sequels in this successful series.
HALLOWEEN VI is full of top notch action sequences and some genuinely scary moments.
Joe Chappelle directs with an obvious flare for this genre, and many of the scenes
remind me of the original film, and the music by Alan Howarth is superb. The cast is excellent and we even get veteran TV & FILM Actress Kim Darby!!
This particular entry in the series is notorious as the version we got to see in 1995 was chopped by the producers. If you can get hold of the infamous "producers cut", the ply and storyline will make far much sense. I am very surprised that a full release has still not surfaced in shops yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not that bad!, 6 Dec 2003
This review is from: Halloween VI: The Curse of Michael Myers [DVD] (DVD)
Having read several reviews, which in the main don't recommend the film at all, I was reluctant to buy this. However, having bought all the others in the series I decided to bite the bullet and buy it, and to be honest I don’t think its that bad, not bad at all, in fact I preferred it to Resurrection. That said I can’t say I was keen on the idea that Mr Myers had in fact been controlled and protected by 'Druid' like characters all these years. I think Michael Myers was far more menacing when there was no explanation as to why he did his stuff. The storyline does go off at a tangent somewhat and the ending is a little like a damp squib but it’s not a bad film overall and certainly not as bad as other reviews here would have you believe.
Worth a watch if you’re a fan of the series.
The DVD itself has a good atmospheric picture quality and the sound quality is good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, the best sequel in the series., 4 July 2000
By 
Shelley Wake "Movies rule" (Perth, Western Austrlia Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers gets bad reveiws but it is a great film. Michael Myers kills Jamie Lloyde and is now after her baby. Tommy Doyle (the boy Laurie Strode babysat for in the first film) has to protect the baby from the evil one. The second best in the series. Many people hate this film because of it's weird but unique story line but I would much rather have Michael kill for Thorn (see the movie) than just because he plain feels like it (kind of like Jason in the Friday 13th films). Ignore the bad reveiws. I love this well crafted sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not that bad!, 2 May 2003
This movie is difficult to obtain here in the UK; the only way is to buy a region 1 version from the US which of course is more expensive, and having read the reviews, which in the main don't recommend the film at all, I was reluctant to do so. However having bought all the others in the series (including Halloween 3) I decided to bite the bullet and buy it, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised, its not bad at all, in fact I preferred it to Resurrection, though I have to admit I wasn't to taken by the idea that Mr Myers had in fact been controlled and protected by these 'Druid' like characters all along, I think Michael Myers was far more menacing when there was no explanation as to why he killed and also why he wouldn't die. The DVD itself has a good atmospheric picture quality and the sound quality is reasonable. There are no special features to speak of but overall I'm glad I bought it, and it certainly isn't have as bad as other reviews here would have you believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween VI: The Curse of Michael Myers [DVD]
14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews