Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "its complicated but i'm getting it" - a life changer, 17 Feb. 2006
By 
beecher. sigh, words escape me when i try to explain the joy this band insert in my heart. from opener 'let them drown' to closer 'ladder theory', 'breaking the forth wall' provides a non stop musical assault on the ear drums. clever drum patterns, synths to die for and winding riffs alone make this a must-have. i'm not entirley sure how beecher makes the noise they do but i suspect divine intervention.
frontman ed godby contrasts his screeching screams and booming roars with a beautiful melodic voice that your mother would be proud of, and whats more its so british, a lot of noise, and in particular metalcore bands will often sing like they come from across the pond. but lets not paint beecher with the metalcore brush because they are far from it; beautiful, intelligent, and well presented - and thats just the band members!
beecher are now a thing of the past, defunct since early'06 since you'll never witness the sheer intensity of the band first hand, i guess you better buy their debut full release. and what more accentive do you need, than a new track 'crack fiend', live songs featured from a radio one rock session and a 'lard lubber edit' of 'dead for weeks'. y'know, i think i'm gonna buy it again!
go witness the magic -<then buy this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 9 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
Easily my fav' album of recent times, this for me eclipses all comparative artists in one sweeping, incredible album. I've heard people complain they sound like Converge, which is very wrong; Beecher blend many layers of grindcore, melody, emotion and moments of insanity (mercuryswitch), and is actually 'groovy' from time to time.
I almost gave the title of my review 'Faultess' but I'd be a little too generous by that considering the last song of the album brings a terrible anti-climax with some awful drum and base kid hijacking the ride. I could also argue that the last few songs make things a little repetative because they're live versions of earlier tracks. But even so, I've been listening to this album for over a year now and still don't seem to bore of it.
Here's hoping the lads get things sorted out and reform (Beecher recently split).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That this band are no longer with us is shameful., 13 Feb. 2006
By 
T. Carne "Techie wage-slave" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breaking the Fourth Wall (Audio CD)
Beecher were one of the few bands you could truly refer to as original. Their music was, if forced into a genre, hardcore, but tagging it as such does it a huge disservice. Ed Godby's vocals could be angelic, enraged and at times so utterly alien it's hard to believe that it was a human throat making the noise. The music that backed him up could both make you feel calm and relaxed and take your face off in the same minute. So it was with some sadness I found Beecher had split up. Sorrow turned into a hefty dose of anger when I realised that they'd split up over problems with the industry as much as anything else.
It's a shame that the industry and the current record-buying public don't reward originality, and don't have the balls to cast their net further afield than LostProphet's copy-merchants and Dr Dre wannabes, as if they did, maybe bands like Beecher would have some security and wouldn't have to bounce round indies until eventually splitting up out of exhaustion.
This is the sound of a band on top of their game, reinventing what it is to be a metal or hardcore band. The startling and constantly changing soundscape of guitars, programming and jackhammer drums, crossed with Godby's unmistakeable vocal style have for my money never been topped, even by giants like DEP or Converge.
I urge you to buy this. If you've found your way this far and haven't heard Beecher, you owe it to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazin........, 22 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Breaking the Fourth Wall (Audio CD)
if these boys were american they would be huge,i havent read a bad review yet especially for the album (the review at the top is talking about the ep which i dont particularly like)."let them drown" opens up and lets u know exacttly whats in store for the rest of the album."dead for weeks"in my eyes is a classic.Its hard to describe the type of music beecher play theyre are so many diferent styles on here and a wide range of influences.The vocals and musicianship (is that a word??) are second to none.Eds quite singing fits perfecly with the screams and also some cynic-like vocals later in the album.Allthough hard to pick a stand out "ladder theory"is immense,one of the best metal tracks...or any music track ive heard in years.Truely awesome album, BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Oct. 2007
By 
Andrew I. Ourtenay "courtenez" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I started listening to this album almost three years ago, and I'm still listening to it now. It is an incredibly good metal album. The guitar playing is fast and original. The vocals sound different to any other hardcore band out there - I have no idea how he manages to do screaming that high pitch without coughing up blood and he still has a good singing voice. There are a good few amazingly melodic and emotional moments on there, and hardcore or no hardcore, some really good songs. This is next to Sikth and Dillinger escape plan on my favs list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this band deserve to be HUGE, 18 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Breaking the Fourth Wall (Audio CD)
if you like it fast and noisy with real high screamed vox this is the record for you. this is the sound of a band who put EVERYTHING into thier record. great production too. talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Technical Menace From Nice Looking People, 13 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Breaking the Fourth Wall (Audio CD)
I saw this band with D.E.P. they were amazing. They looked like the lost prophets. Im so glad they didnt sound like them. Cult of Luna were also in the house. So if they did, knuckle sandwiches would have been on order. So yeah beecher. Technical kinda D.E.P type stuff. But its all really lovely when its heavy its heavy with its soft its all squiggy like a fat womens breast. I really like it. Like out for beecher in 2004 and buy everything with there name on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curious, 29 Aug. 2003
By 
Sam Owen (The Amazon hee hee hee) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Breaking the Fourth Wall (Audio CD)
I haven't heard this band,but i really want to :) Peace Out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking the Fourth Wall
Breaking the Fourth Wall by Beecher (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews