Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar magic...plus extras
As a long-term fan of Forcione, you may say I'm biased - but I defy anyone who plays or appreciates the acoustic guitar to be anything other than enraptured by the maestro's latest collection.
Here is a player with effortless technique and an ear for a huge range of styles and cultures, enjoying his music to the full in the company of many excellent musicians. Ever...
Published on 2 Jan. 2004 by Andy Millward

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Not my thing at all. Way too busy in a choppy restless kind of way.
Published 6 months ago by Crowgirl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar magic...plus extras, 2 Jan. 2004
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch Wood (Audio CD)
As a long-term fan of Forcione, you may say I'm biased - but I defy anyone who plays or appreciates the acoustic guitar to be anything other than enraptured by the maestro's latest collection.
Here is a player with effortless technique and an ear for a huge range of styles and cultures, enjoying his music to the full in the company of many excellent musicians. Ever a generous performer, Antonio's current band (two guitars, cello and percussion) is further enriched by the addition of guests and friends from all corners of the world.
At one extreme, the funky latin jazz-tinged guitar duels between Forcione and Georgio Serci are exploited to the full on Gigolo and Tango Suite. A new recording of Alhambra sounds moody and more authentically Spanish than ever, courtesy of raw vocals by Diego el Cigala. Forcione's 12-string technique is also demonstrated to great effect, notably on the cheeky Tarantella (look out for Jenny Adejayan's lively cello) and Scrambled Eggs. There are also quieter, neo-classical pieces to add to the tapestry created on this fine collection.
Buy and appreciate. This is a stunning effort, but even better - look out for Antonio's next live gigs. You'll be blown away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning acoustic finger-work, 16 Sept. 2003
By 
Derek Slone (Southampton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Touch Wood (Audio CD)
A friend of mine was simply awe-struck by this guy at the Larmer Tree Festival a couple of years ago and played me tonnes of it last weekend while we were re-wiring his house - now I'm buying it myself!
I have never heard such an opening on an album. It goes from 0 to 60 in a tenth of a second with blisteringly fast fretwork. If you like Los Gauchos Alamanes, Gitbox or the California Guitar Trio then you'll find yourself at home with this guy. If you simply want to hear an acoustic guitar being played to the full - buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acoustic Guitar at its best, 27 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Touch Wood (Audio CD)
I simply love this CD. I heard Forcione on BBC's Late Junction on Radio 3 at 10:15pm Monday to Thursday. And immediately felt I had to go and buy one of his albums. I need to buy all the rest now but I don't know which ones to start with.
If you like guitar. Or just like music in general, this is excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably Antonio's best work in one recording, 17 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Touch Wood (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Antonio's UK career since he was busking in Covent Garden and have seen his career develop, so I'm no longer surprised by this musician's bountiful gifts. However, I have been waiting for some time for recordings that adequately match the spirit of his breathtaking live performances.

For anyone not familiar with Antonio's work, it can be tough to describe. Jazz is the closest you can get, yet like many innovative musicians/composers (e.g. Hermeto Pascoal), such descriptions can fall way short of what you hear. Suffice to say that if you value excellent acoustic guitar-driven, jazz-influenced music, and are a fan of the more explorative music of artists such as John Mclaughlin, Pat Metheny or any ECM artist, you will find this music very rewarding.

After a overly lengthy career in a duo with Catalan prog-rock guitarist and gypsy Spanish stylist, Eduardo Niebla, Antonio finally broke free to start his own, now highly successful career. To my mind, this recording represents a culmination of that career.

Combining a first rate band, including the outstanding guitarist/composer Giorgio Serci and Cellist Jenny Adejayan, this combines revisionist arrangements of some of his best prior work ("For Vic", "Nostalgia" and "Sunstep"), some outstanding new works (the hilariously titled "Scrambled Eggs") with cover versions (Piazolla's tango pieces with Serci's beautiful "Watercolour") and knits them into a well balanced set. This is also his most mature album to date, showing Antonio both at the height of his powers, yet confident and relaxed enough to allow the music and his fellow musicians space to breathe.

The result is simply great. In particular, his work with Giorgio and Jenny is simply wonderful, with a sense of dynamics and sensitivity seldom found in such music. "Scrambled Eggs" in particular shows that Antonio remains a compositional genius and master ensemble leader.

But what is even more encouraging is the emergence of his "voice". Antonio always had a distinct voice, albeit with clear influences (McLaughlin, Reinhardt, Metheny and Gismonti) but this work sees these giving way to a unique sound which is nonetheless Antonio through and through.

So, overall great and well worth buying. I rarely give out five stars (a classic Bill Evans album would get that), but it came very close: it's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch Wood [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Excellent......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch Wood (Audio CD)
Wonderful/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touch Wood (Audio CD)
Not my thing at all. Way too busy in a choppy restless kind of way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Touch Wood
Touch Wood by Antonio Forcione (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews