Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Poet and a Briliant Musician, 26 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets Of The Beehive (Audio CD)
I was a huge fan of Japan in my school days and after the split I did buy Briliant Trees and wore out the grooves on the album. After many years not listening to david sylvian decided to buy 4 of his albums , Damage, Dead bees on a cake , Eveything and Nothing and Secrets of the Beehive. Each one are brilliant and I wouldnt want to pick the best

Secrets of the Beehive is a digitally remastered master piece in my humble view , the sound quality is amazing , string arrangement is by R Sakamoto and his influence is in every note. I have never heard of the others who play but they are excellent. The music is haunting and beautiful

Any music lover should purchase this CD it has a lot to offer and a great buy for any david Sylvian fan. He is a poet and muscian in equal measures.

I could listen to this CD all day , thats how good it is.I wish I had bought it many years ago . If there is a bad point only lasts 38 minutes but it is quality over quantity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful album, 20 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Secrets Of The Beehive (Digipak) (Audio CD)
First, to correct the 'official' review: this was actually Sylvian's third album after leaving Japan, Gone to Earth being the second.
If you haven't yet discovered this amazing artist, I strongly urge you to take the opportunity. There are very few records I keep returning to more than 10 years later - almost 20 years later for Brilliant Trees! - and every one of David Sylvian's albums falls into this category. What's the music like? If you imagine Scott Walker's voice in a singing style closer to Bryan Ferry's, with Eno's approach to production (and, often, his choice of musicians), you're getting close. But still the experience is unique.
This is music that, at least for me, reveals itself very slowly - but then continues to unfold in meaning as I listen to it in different life contexts over the years. There's a great diversity to the work: at the time, I was disappointed with every Sylvian album up to Nine Horses, finding them to be not what I had expected - not like the previous albums. Then, sometimes years later, I listened again and was amazed at having felt that way: this music is as near perfect as anything I ever hope to hear. Put another way: I have favorite tracks on each of the albums, but they too have changed over the years.
Many listeners think Beehive is the best of all the Sylvian albums, so give it a try. Personally, I greatly prefer Gone To Earth, which is less structured, the accompanying musicians (accomplished jazzers) having more space into which to expand. But it doesn't really matter where you start - you'll get to all the records eventually!
So: if you haven't heard this one yet, I envy you the rare treat you're about to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 9 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: Secrets Of The Beehive (Digipak) (Audio CD)
Very imaginative composition and insightful lyrics.
Fantastic sound-world; a very mature surround overall.
I've listened to this for a decade now, and I'm still not bored of it.
Much more listenable to than his more experimental albums, but without selling out in any way.
Extremely lyrical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Of the power struggles in heaven and hell", 3 Oct 2009
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets Of The Beehive (Audio CD)
David Sylvian's third album, released in 1987, was for me a marked improvement on `Gone to Earth'.

There are ten tracks, the first of which - `September' - barely lasts a minute, "sipping coke and playing games", but is infused with a lovely string sound. Indeed, the album sees more of an acoustic approach than previously, though that is not to say that Sylvian's previous reliance on synthesisers has gone completely by the board. But a glance at the cast list shows, as well as strings, acoustic guitars, a real double-bass, piano, woodwind, and the return of trumpet and flugelhorn. Some of the session musicians are - or were then - some of the best players around. These include Dougie Thompson on double-bass and Mark Isham on trumpet. Sylvian's long-standing association with Ryuchi Sakamoto is also plain on this album with him having some presence on every track. The album was produced by Steve Nye.

Only two of the ten tracks are for me mere fillers. These are `Mother and Child' and the final `Promise', the latter being an additional extra for the CD that is so subtle it almost passes unnoticed. At the other end of the spectrum, there is one truly outstanding track, namely `Orpheus' with a fine orchestral arrangement: "Still the voices have stories to tell / Of the power struggles in heaven and hell / But we feel secure against such mighty dreams / As Orpheus sings of the promise tomorrow may bring."

Atmosphere is the key to `Secrets of the Beehive'. It is darker than Sylvian's previous work, with numerous references in his songs to devils and to violence. And yet the music itself epitomises the opposite: it is gentle with no discordance to jar and mar the appreciation of some truly fine music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Masterpiece, 6 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Secrets Of The Beehive (Audio CD)
Secrets of the Beehive remains the best album I've ever heard. Its' particular quality lies in the conjuring of mood and atmospehere that is so evocative and memorable it paints pictures that linger long after the music has faded. The album oscillates between the centrepiece tracks (Boy With a Gun, Orpheus, When Poets, Let the Happiness In, Waterfront) and the beautiful vignettes that add layers and richness. For me, these are the real highlights and establish a canon of these sort of works that Sylvian returns to later in 'Cries and Whispers', 'Boats for Burning', 'Dobro No.1', 'She is Not'. The opening and closing tracks offer a particular beauty. If I had to find an improvement, the replacement of 'Let the Happiness In' with 'Ride' of the same era would have been the royal jelly on the honey, but that's heresy to some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful record, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets Of The Beehive (Audio CD)
Probably, the best work of David Sylvian by far. It keeps all its beauty with the pass of time. A gust of fresh air on this poor era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Nov 2012
A fantastic album, perfect to relax and unwind to. Took me ages to get past track 5, kept putting me to sleep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prue David, 15 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. C. P. Voyce "blatnoi1" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secrets Of The Beehive (Digipak) (Audio CD)
lets face it when you buy a David Sylvian Cd you know what your getting, this like most of Mr Sylvians works is a wonderful and heartfelt experience to treasure.
forget the early Japan - think more from the lines of 'tin drum' and then you will understand this music - it comes from the heart and its brilliant.
if your just starting out with Davids music then start from 'Brilliant trees' and eventually you will get to this masterpiece - it is one of the best pieces of music that you will hear in a long time.
track down the albums he has guested on - find out what else he does - theres so much out there - and its all wonderful.
BUY IT NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this album cost me 10.000, 28 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Secrets Of The Beehive (Digipak) (Audio CD)
The original release of this album caused me to spend over 10.000 on ugrading my HI FI, so need i say more of how wonderfull i feel this album is, even more so now that it as being re-released and remasterd.
regards wayne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets Of The Beehive (Digipak)
Secrets Of The Beehive (Digipak) by David Sylvian (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews