Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2003
This CD is an excellent collection of Luther's best tracks spanning his career. True, the tracklisting is similar to the 'greatest hits' album, but if you don't have this then 'The Essential' is the one to get. As well as incorporating all of the old classics it also includes some more recent remixes of your favourite tracks, adding enough depth to really make it the 'Essential' CD of Luther Vandross. This is the perfect CD for any occasion and has proved to be excellent background music (along with George Benson's new album) for dinner parties/barbeque's etc! If you're going to buy a CD by Luther Vandross, make it this one. It really is 'Essential'!
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2005
I thought this was the best of LV compilations available, with two discs and plenty of songs from over his career. I could do without the remixes though. There are two versions of "Ain't No Stopping Us Now" - Why? It's not even one of his own songs!. I'd have given it 4 stars if they had put some extra songs on it and left the various remixes off.
Sound quality is awesome though. LV albums always were outstanding in this regard and these tracks have probably been remastered.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2002
You know i have all of Luther on vinyl and this CD is perfect because it is jam packed with all the best tunes. Right from "the glow of love" when Luther was kicking it with CHANGE, and then through from "Never too Much" all the way through all of those classic 80 albums and then to the 90's and hey!, the voice is still the most beautiful thing you will ever hear. Long live the true god of soul!!!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2003
This album is just great. The colborations with Busta, Beyonce, Foxy and Queen Latifah are just fab. The duet with Beyonce is better than the original. I never thought it was possible. This album has a lot of feeling and depth to it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
A great CD, with all the hits on, would strongly recommend if you are a Vandross fan. xxxxx xxxxxxx xxx
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
luther at his best this cd is excellent and took me back to my teenage years going to the local dance
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Why do I need to explain anything at all - It's Luther Vandross. With Valentine's Day coming, you know it makes sense! You already know what I mean so stop playing!! Everybody knows "Never Too Much"! If you like that then I suggest you at least investigate all of his releases! And purchase them!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Very disappointed. I purchased this for one song in particular. Songs and samples listed on Amazon were not from this album so the song I want is not even on the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
Not quite sure why greatest hits collections like this always miss out essential tracks. In this case Dance With My Father. Very disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
If you enjoy Luther then this is all his best tracks on one album, can't stop playing it in the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.39

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.