Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Good Music
I stumbled upon this band and their sound immediatly intrigued me. On first listening to the album, the mix of class withdrawn rock and almost ambient work stunned me: just a few tracks in and i knew i was onto something. 'The Same Mistakes' is a great relaxed opener, never nearing dullness, and is followed by 'Promises Promises', a stunning rock piece backed up by some...
Published on 1 Aug 2006 by M. P. Rumsby

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kick up the....
Following up 'See Through This and Leave' was always going to be a difficult task. In some respects I do think that this is a 'play it safe' album. They havn't really progressed musically at all but they have worked on what they know they are good at. This is STTAL revised. The album begins with 'The Same Mistakes' which contains a good build up and a catchy melody. Next...
Published on 29 Sep 2003 by Matthew Alexander


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Good Music, 1 Aug 2006
By 
M. P. Rumsby "Miko" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose (Audio CD)
I stumbled upon this band and their sound immediatly intrigued me. On first listening to the album, the mix of class withdrawn rock and almost ambient work stunned me: just a few tracks in and i knew i was onto something. 'The Same Mistakes' is a great relaxed opener, never nearing dullness, and is followed by 'Promises Promises', a stunning rock piece backed up by some smart touches. The quality doesn't drop either; there are plenty of creative and musically interesting tracks including 'Talking to a Brick Wall', 'A.I.M' and 'Music Box'. The band aren't afraid to mix electronic licks with hard rock sections, and rolling vocals complement their unique sound perfectly. I was impressed and I thoroughly recommend you take a listen to this excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A band who will never fail to surprise!, 8 Sep 2003
By 
MISS K DAVIDSON (East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose (Audio CD)
Is it rock?, is it dance?, is it indie? who knows!! One good thing about The Cooper Temple Clause is they never fail to keep you guessing! Definately not a predictable album Kick up the fire and let the flames break loose has something for everyone; from the heavy bass riff of Promises, Promises to the more mellow and computer based New toys. For all those hardcore Coopers fans their second album will definately be no dissapointment and perhaps even better than their debut. The Coopers are definatley and band who will keep on growing artistically!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Coopers are back, 13 Sep 2003
This review is from: Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose (Audio CD)
I decided to wait until I had been listening to this album for a week before I wrote a review. Because, as anybody who bought the Cooper Temple Clause's stunning 2001 debut "See This Through and Leave" will testify, it takes more than a few spins to really appreciate the music.
"Kick Up The Fire.." is a natural progression from "See This Through and Leave", with obvious improvements on the experiments tried in the debut. The electronic vibe is used at the forefront of many of the songs, which works well on "Music Box" and "The Same Mistakes", but is far to minimalist on the closing two tracks, making them rather throw-away. The vitriolic guitar assault of the likes of "A.I.M.", the singles "Promises Promises" and "Blind Pilots" and the superb "Talking to a Brick Wall" proves that the six Coopers have learned a lot of tricks since "Been Training Dogs" and "Devil Walks in the Sand". They are all brutal slabs of guitar rock, but always with excellent melodic vocals from the under-rated Ben Gautrey. The press never seem to give the Coopers credit the deserved for the sheer strength - and occasionally anthemic quality - of their choruses.
The real highlight of the album is "New Toys", a half-electronic, half-rock song with amazing melodies and a build-up to a brain shaking chorus. This track alone proves that the Cooper Temple Clause have honed their skills. The songs are on a whole better than those on "See This Through..", though as an album it is a little more hit-and-miss. This is no classic, but it is an excellent follow-up to an excellent debut. A worthwhile buy for both fans and curious outsiders.
This is solid evidence that the Cooper Temple Clause are a hot band that can only get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darker Cooper, 11 May 2007
By 
Lp Towsey-hinton (reading,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose (Audio CD)
Darker lyrics than the previous album.

But all the same an absolute belter, 10 tracks of raw rock - magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kick up the...., 29 Sep 2003
This review is from: Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose (Audio CD)
Following up 'See Through This and Leave' was always going to be a difficult task. In some respects I do think that this is a 'play it safe' album. They havn't really progressed musically at all but they have worked on what they know they are good at. This is STTAL revised. The album begins with 'The Same Mistakes' which contains a good build up and a catchy melody. Next comes 'Promises, Promises' a heavy number which contains virtually no samples or electronica. You can really hear the difference, it's certainly a more stripped down track in comparison to the Coopers other rocky songs ('Been Training Dogs' and 'Film Maker.') 'New Toys' is another lush build up track which leads onto the epic sounding 'Talking To A Brick Wall'. 'Into My Arms' is a slow track which droans beautifully until the samples attack the end. 'Blind Pilots' was obviously written with the intention of it being released as a single. It's a good song, however, it's also somehow predictable. 'AIM' has an annoyingly catchy chorus and rocks out towards the end with a chunky guitar riff. 'Music Box' is another build up song, at 3 minutes 44 seconds the guitar kicks in with a ferocious riff which gradually fades with the vocals. 'In Your Prime' is unnoticable and the album finishes with 'Written Apology'. A useful end track, similar in some respects to 'Murder Song', but not nearly as powerful.
In summary, although I do think this album is decent, I also find it quite predictable, there also seems to be a bit of filler in here too, which is evident considering the album is only 10 tracks long. It dosn't quite have the passion, energy or diversity of the first LP and this is a shame. TCTC should have released the greatest album in the history of greatest albums and be on top of the world by now. Unfortunately, they havn't and they arn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rule Britannia...at last!, 9 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose (Audio CD)
Britannia strikes back!
Truly a remarkable second album from the Berkshire lads!.
Cooper Temple Clause have carefully freed themselves from the scuzz-rock mire of their debut album sound,although that album was one of my top 10 albums of 2002!.
"Kick Up..." is a mature,brooding piece of Noughties rock,influenced by modern keyboard effects and a slower more melodic pace to the tracks.The lyrical content and depth again are not matched by any of their comtemparies and this could easily be a Top 10 record of 2003.
The only note of caution is that the last few tracks are rather messy but its good to see an ENGLISH band making good,groundbreaking music after rather patchy albums from Radiohead and The Coral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!, 11 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose (Audio CD)
This album is a masterpiece! An impressive collection with some truly original tracks. A.I.M and Blind Pilots are particularly good - not forgetting the catchy latest release 'Promises, Promises'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Copper's have a Promising Promising future, 4 Jan 2004
This review is from: Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose (Audio CD)
The Cooper Temple Clause stormed into action this year which their first single of this album, called Promises Promises, which had Ben Gautrey's gruff voice over apocalyptic guitar sounds which were strong and abrupt. This seemed like the makings of a very promising album.
The album has a well worked contast between slow ballads and catchy rock songs which makes the album easy listening and it doesn't sound the same all the way through which kept me interseted.
Don't get me wrong this is a great album but it lacks that little something. Throughout it threatens to be a really good album but sometimes it all seems a bit clichéd such as the beginning of 'Talking To A Brick Wall' which actually develops into one of the best tracks on the album!
In conclusion this album delivers and it delivers with a right kick in the nuts! This band could be as big as Muse and they would deserve it to. A.I.M being the best track on the album and you can really hear the potential in the next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like this, 13 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose (Audio CD)
The Cooper Temple Clause are a brilliant band. and this is their best work. TCTC do everything in style, their album titles, their artwork, their music. rip-roaring is a good way to describe Kick Up The Fire.. because this record takes you on a ride that puts any theme park to shame. packed with heavy riffs and soaring electronica its hard not to be captivated by it. there is barely time to catch your breath. the pace is unrelenting and the music spiraling. best play it loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kicking up the fire to let the flames break loose, 8 Sep 2003
This review is from: Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose (Audio CD)
The Cooper Temple Clause have certainly developed in their past two years after the release of their debut 'See this through and leave', leaving fans hungry for new material ever since the end of last year after releasing the NME reserved single 'A.I.M' which would eventually turn up on their next album. The song A.I.M. represented something of a small turn in the Coops development in their music. After doing previews of songs for the Tour part early of 2003, it was inevitable that people are hungry for the album. And now it's arrived it certainly hits the spot.......only just. The album was a surprise to me as I reconised the album as being more like 'See this through.....' due to previews of songs like 'Promises Promises', 'New Toys', 'Blind Pilots' and 'A.I.M.'. However the album shows a much more softly developed side with songs such as 'The Same Mistakes', 'Into my arms' and 'In your prime'. That's not to say that these songs are no good. They are a change to what people would expect apart from some of the Coops early B-sides. I admit it took me the second listen to get into it but then repeated listening is rewarded with enlightenment on the album.
This album is definetly worth the wait for the more harder songs, the softer ones are for the repeated listener. You will enjoy it. After listening to 'Written apology', you'll see this is just 'See this through.....' but more grown up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose
Kick Up the Fire and Let the Flames Break Loose by Cooper Temple Clause (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews