Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars23
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.90+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2016
Absolutly fasntastic DVD. Not much more one can say about Arrow Video that hasn't already been said. They're one of the best DVD and Blu Ray companies out there. Every one of there releases is stunning, organized, eye-catching, and filled to the brim with features/extras. Keep up the amazing work!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2005
Romero is the ultimate home movie maker of camp horror - and I mean that as a compliment because I think he is also a great movie maker. "Martin" is classic Romero, a totally fascinating movie poetically intercutting past and present to highlight the thematic conflict between old traditional beliefs and late 20th century western empiricism. And of course it has some of the usual Romero gore used to ironic ("I'm always very careful with needles." says Martin to victim in the film's brilliant opening sequence)effect as well as evoking an eery melancholy. The black and white flashbacks to a long gone past are almost like something out of Cocteau.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
good quality and played well with no problems. i had no issues of any kind when i used this product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Good quality picture and awesome presentation of the edition. The seller very fast. Excelent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2009
George A. Romero's Martin has no reason to be under the radar. Though there is no explicit telltale cliches that Martin is in fact a vampire (no fangs, no affliction to sunlight) foregoing many of the usual trappings set by so many this movie succeeds in keeping us guessing. Martin has a thirst for human blood and to see his ritual is harrowing, he uses a syringe to break the skin then he feeds. Though through the characters killing we cannot help but feel something sorrowful for him. The acting is good and the camera work is also great there is no camp slapstick humour here...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
it was a very good film and i enjoyed the film from malcolm hicklin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
Proper treatment for this bit underrated classic. I mean, c'mon! Unique, intelligent, daring and provocative movie about vampire (or... is he?). Waaay better in terms of climate and plot than nowadays blockbusters, like Blade and Underworld series (i ain't mention Twilight anymore... damn, I just did :( Romero's 3rd best movie, along with Night and Dawn of the dead. Filled with extras, mini-posters and foreword from director himself. On 2nd DVD - Italian edition of "Martin" (titled - "Vampire") with Goblin soundtrack. Suck it dry!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Great Product, very fast delivery, thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
This is George A. Romero's greatest achievement and is far superior to his overrated zombie films. It's a very modern vampire tale that has influenced countless films since. Romero mainstays Christine Forrest and particular John Amplas put in amazing performances. The infamous opening train carriage scene where Martin drugs, strips and slits the wrists of a woman remains both shocking and beautiful. The short but iconic ending is also a cinematic treat. In between we have a perfectly paced film that is realistic, witty and sexually charged. It even features a very young Tom Savini. I have just watched the film for the fourth time (Jan 2014) after previous watching once in the 80s, 90s and 00s and can honestly say I enjoyed the movie just as much with each viewing. A must see for all serious horror fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)