Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
85
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2014
A historical seabattle interesting for everybody. Close to the real history. The fine thing about it is, that one is informed about the places and the time as the movie goes by (subtitles). This movie made me want to investigate the real battles details, which is so interesting. The fact that US sank 4 hangars, compared to the "Japs" 1 (though the Japanese had most of the power) - changed the war. Because of a couple of coincidenses.
... it's surprisingly good and most of all very easy to get.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2008
I watched this and had it on video about 20 years ago and, being young, thought it pretty good

However, now on DVD, it is pretty poor

Much of the footage used is from other films especially Tora, Tora, Tora and often Japanese planes are supposed to be American and vice versa whilst the stock footage of American planes is of aircraft that were not available until after the battle of Midway

Only saving grace is the number of stars that are in it

Avoid !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
having just seen the film i carnt believe the directors have put into it the same footage from tora,tora,tora its exactly the same, also had hoped to see a bit more action even though its appears to have more action than the battle of britain since it was all planes i was surprised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
A great Film with a proper storyline, and full of famous actors.
I watch this regularly and never cease to be amazed at the effects- of course the film is based on a true story in wartime 1943.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
I've been to Midway Island, and the film brough back many memories of a day spent exploring eastern island where the runway was situated. The anti aircraft position was still there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Fairly accurate history - but the fictional love story is distracting. The flying scenes are well done. I feel the last line is very weak.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Based on fact, this is a well-made episode of the Pacific Ocean theatrre of World War 2.
It fits well after 'Tora Tora'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
Great cast of actors, some of the story line is a bit limp, but the portrayal of these events is good. Well worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
As far as older American film goes one of the better ones but enjoyable with a good cast of actors
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
Very happy with item an service,fast delivery, would recommend to all :-) thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)