Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2004
I first became aware of Peter on the Parkinson show, both on tv and radio and liked what I heard. Got the album and thought wow! what a pianist. I wouldn't say that he's the best singer in the world, but his delivery is good. The piano playing is something else though. Listen to Ain't Misbehavin' and you'll see what I mean. I wouldn't like to compare him to anyone else, they all have their individual styles too. Other favourites include Michael Buble.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2003
A very worthwhile debut album from one of the hottest young jazz talents out there, Peter Cincotti will please a wide-ranging jazz audience. The album contains a good mix of new and old styles, some virtuoso playing backed up by an excellent band, and a couple of really catchy tunes, particularly tracks 3 and 4. The production is smooth and classy, well done Phil Ramone.
This guy can only get better and better, being still very young, precociously so for such a talent. Having seen him at Montreux this summer, his live performances are also promising and his piano-playing blew the audience away.
Two slight negatives – a tendency to get a bit crooner-y from time to time, not my style; and a voice that can be a little reedy. I hope time will affect his vochal chords, and give his voice a little more substance and individuality. But his music is a breath of fresh air in the world of jazz.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2004
Forget all the hype surrounding Buble & Cullum, Peter Cincotti is outstanding and this first album is very classy. There's nothing wrong with the other two of course but whilst Buble's arrangements are superb, his voice is only just above average. Anyway, if you're going to listen to Come Fly With Me etc, there's really only one man to listen to. As for Mr Cullum, very different yes but his versions just wander too much for me. Cincotti has a really good voice, a very smooth band working with him, and there's some Godfather memorabilia in there too!
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2005
Peter Cincotti has a stirring voice filled with emotion. I simply love his rendition of Kermit the Frog's Rainbow Connection. Only he could have made a muppet song so beautiful! Was a lil tear-y after hearing it. Simply just beautiful.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 August 2003
A very worthwhile debut album from one of the hottest young jazz talents out there, Peter Cincotti will please a wide-ranging jazz audience. The album contains a good mix of new and old, some virtuoso playing backed up by an excellent band, and a couple of really catchy tunes, particularly tracks 3 and 4. The production is smooth and classy, well done Phil Ramone.
This guy can only get better and better, being still very young, precociously so for such a talent. Having seen him at Montreux this summer, his live performances are also promising and his piano-playing blew the audience away.
Two slight negatives – a tendency to get a bit crooner-y from time to time, not my style; and a voice that can be a little reedy. I hope time will affect his vochal chords, and give his voice a little more substance and individuality. Maybe he should take up smoking for a while! Still, a fresh and enticing new talent in the world of jazz.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
I've played this a couple of times now, and overall find it to be listenable, but not particularly memorable...to the point where it will only come off the shelf once in a while. Having said that, Cincotti is a talented guy and thoughtful in the arrangements he chooses, so maybe a Cole Porter song book--Gershwin songbook next?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
This early album of his is a joy! There is a mixture of standards and his own work which seems to work very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
This was a gift especially chosen by my son and i know he is pleased with it and is enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2003
Very good album. Excellent voice and a great relaxing album. Very promising indeed.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
VERY GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.55
£12.53

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)