Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for everyone!
My sister and me got this game for xmas and I loved the show so, was really looking forward to the game. You go through the auditions,heats and final ten stages as a character that you name and style yourself. You can unlock bonus costumes and sets if you do well. On easy level this game is perfect for younger children, but,once they win as we have done, they shall be...
Published on 29 Dec 2003

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bone Idol
No its not just a clever title. It should infact be the new marketing level for this series. The world is becoming bored of reality television and people are more aware when their pop stars are known to be factory made sound and look-alikes.
Bringing out a game in the midst of all this just makes it even worse. The game however is in fact filled with some great songs...
Published on 26 Mar 2004 by UberKuma84


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for everyone!, 29 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop Idol (PS2) (Video Game)
My sister and me got this game for xmas and I loved the show so, was really looking forward to the game. You go through the auditions,heats and final ten stages as a character that you name and style yourself. You can unlock bonus costumes and sets if you do well. On easy level this game is perfect for younger children, but,once they win as we have done, they shall be successful on the harder levels. Simon Cowell is realistic with his cutting remarks. One thing I would say is that, you shouldnt use it with a dance mat, use it with your controller as it is easier!
But, a fun game and there are different modes to choose from and all the family can play and with practise be the virtual pop idol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good game, quite like the series, 17 Jan 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pop Idol (PS2) (Video Game)
I'm writing this under guidance of my 8 year old who loves this game. She's worked her way through to the final a number of times and doesn't seem to tire of it.
I like the way new songs are added occasionally stopping the game becoming to familiar too quickly.
She also likes the way you can customise the characters throughout the game, although quite what the winning combination of clothing, hair and make-up (for the girls) is has me beat.
The only downside is you get a couple of no-names 'hosting' the 'programme' instead of the very likable 'Ant & Dec'. Still, this was a great christmas gift as she totally loves this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising Amount of Depth, 21 Nov 2003
By 
S. Smith "sitorimon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pop Idol (PS2) (Video Game)
Being an avid fan of the rhythm action genre, I bought Pop Idol with reservations over it being a heavily licensed game (usually meaning lightweight gameplay). I shouldnt have worried.
Their are many songs on offer ranging from all time Karaoke classics (I Will Survive) to relatively new chart toppers (Evergreen).
The action is simplistic yet compellingly addictive, like most games in the genre are. You hit the correct button to get write note in tune. Get it wrong and your character gives some awful renditions that make you cringe! Simon Cowell (and 2 fictional judges) then either praise or slaughter you for your efforts.
The only minor irritations are the somewhat silly addiction of changing costumes each round, which you are judged on seemingly at random, and that occasionally the judging of your timing can be wrong.
All in all, a surprisingly playable game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, its SO much fun!! Yippeeee!, 11 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop Idol (PS2) (Video Game)
What can i say. The game is a masterpiece. The sets look simply awesome (good job to whoever did them!), the front end interface is really clear and stylish, and the characters and costumes are so varied its untrue. Gameplay is super involving, and the difficulty is really suitable for the age group that Codemasters has targeted. I really feel like im part of the Pop Idol Experience, seeing Simon Cowell and hearing him slate my performance makes it so cool. All in all, all I can say to you all is.....buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bone Idol, 26 Mar 2004
This review is from: Pop Idol (PS2) (Video Game)
No its not just a clever title. It should infact be the new marketing level for this series. The world is becoming bored of reality television and people are more aware when their pop stars are known to be factory made sound and look-alikes.
Bringing out a game in the midst of all this just makes it even worse. The game however is in fact filled with some great songs and a very well made playing format which is great for group play with friends. But the game lacks depth.
The main reason for the shallow happenings of the game is that the entertainment value of the POP IDLE series cannot be simply copied and pasted into a video game. Everyone knows that what they like to see in the series is to see people fail and to see them upset. The closest thing your character will come to to being upset is "Thanks for your comments" when Simon Cowell slags you off. Nobody in this game goes into a hissy fit and starts crying if you tell them they are the most talentless people in the uk. This removes the realism and completely ruins the game. That and the graphic detail. What you see in this game is substandard especially for a PS2 game. Its terrible.
The game consists of you chosing a character, a voice, a clothing set and even a head, then going on stage to perform... over and over and over again infront of an inscreasingly large amount of people. The songs as I said before are very good as are the voices that the game uses to sing them in. Pressing the buttons in sync with the beat is a very "dance-mat" orientated format but works extremely well. If you make press the wrong buttons or miss them completely, your characters voice goes in and out of tune. If you dont press them at the right time, the voice goes out of sync with the music. This can be a total barrel of laughs.
The scoring system doesnt seem to work that well. It seems to rely on what you wear and what you sing and how well you sing it. I went out on stage wearing brown cordroy trousers, a purple shirts and a white sports jacket. I got full marks for appearance. It doesnt really make all that much sense really. And if the scoring doesnt make sense what s the point in dressing your little friend at all? (no miss-communication intended) Sounds like birthday suit time.
I do admit i did enjoy playing the game, but its as shallow as my ex girlfriend. And yes, thats very.. very shallow. Having a game endorsed by a millionaire (Simon Cowell) doesnt make it good. (Microsoft know that). The game has been rushed and contains no real substance or gripping playability. Its a party game, nothing more, nothing less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ARE YOU READY TO BE A POP IDOL?, 28 Oct 2003
This review is from: Pop Idol (PS2) (Video Game)
Hey all you fans of pop idol you will love this game.Espacially if you but a dance mat as well.The graphics are brill and the gamepla itself is super.Sing wo all your favourite hits such as evergreen, genie in a bottle and many mnay more.This game gives hours of enjoyment and laughter as you try to conquer pop idol.Simon Cowell is a really good laugh with all his comments but don't worry they ain't all bad. With the other judges as well you are going to find out what you are like.This is a must buy for pop idol fans and fans of the dance mat as you will just love this so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop Idol game - the best game for ps2 ever!, 14 Nov 2003
This review is from: Pop Idol (PS2) (Video Game)
The popidol game is absolutely brilliant! The singing is great and the dance mat mode is really cool! I recommend this to anyone about 9-16 years old! It is the best ps2 game ever!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a dance mat game!!!, 12 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop Idol (PS2) (Video Game)
We just received this game for our daughter to play using the dance mat. Unless you have 6 feet forget it. What a waste of money. We love using the dance mat but this game doesnt give you any levels of dance to build up to. Dance mat game, forget it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop Idol, 8 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop Idol (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a very addictive game you can't leave the game until you have finshed it completly. There is a few things missing there isn't many songs but the one which is there are good, and it's not the same without Ant and Dec and the rest of the panel. It's very easy to pick up all in all in all I think it's a good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pop Idol PS2 Game, 9 Nov 2007
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pop Idol (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game in order to practice some songs as i am a singer but it was nothing like what i expected!
I have got all of the singstars and they are brill, and that is what i expected this to be like but when i finally got on it.......i was suprised.
It doesn't say anywhere that you can't sing through a microphone and battle through the auditions/finals yourself and i think it should because you actually have to use the controller to control the notes that the performer is singing!!......It was ok in the end i guess but it should give more information on how the actual game works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pop Idol (PS2)
Pop Idol (PS2) by Codemasters (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews