Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action, Action, Stealth.... and More Action!
This game clearly steals some limelight from Splinter Cell. It has all the fun and over the top action of the movies (but if you hate this then stay clear!). The controld are a little bit faffy at first, but easy tutorials pave the way! I am working through the 'Impossible' rated missions at the mo, and it keeps calling back for more.
The game has a strong plot, and...
Published on 27 Dec. 2003 by Mr. Sean Harris

versus
2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible
This game was terrible in every way, the graphics were awsome but the game play and the players were so bad they were unrealistic. Would have given it 0 stars but the graphics were very good so it got 1.
Published on 23 Oct. 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action, Action, Stealth.... and More Action!, 27 Dec. 2003
By 
Mr. Sean Harris "The H" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Operation Surma (PS2) (Video Game)
This game clearly steals some limelight from Splinter Cell. It has all the fun and over the top action of the movies (but if you hate this then stay clear!). The controld are a little bit faffy at first, but easy tutorials pave the way! I am working through the 'Impossible' rated missions at the mo, and it keeps calling back for more.
The game has a strong plot, and all in game movie sequences do the game justice. Each level is totally unique, and your character (Ethan Hunt) gets taken all over the world in various locations. Players can try and take the trigger happy approach to winning the game, but the game calls for more of a stealth approach. I particualrly think that knocking out the guards then hiding their bodies in dark corners so they cannot be seen is a real winner! But its a bit of a bummer if you leave them in full view!!!
The game is challenging, and I think it is possibly aimed towards the older gamer. However, there are two type of gameplay; 'Possible' and 'Impossible'. Thus, folk can work through it at their own pace!
The music, action, stunts, special effects and plot make this game a real movie experince. On top of great graphics and gameplay, all these ingredients make this game a real recipe for success if you liked the movies or not!
This message will self destruct in five seconds....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your mission should you choose to accept it, 9 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Operation Surma (PS2) (Video Game)
All in all this is a great game, the gaphics are great the gameplay is smooth with very little loading time. You play Ethan Hunt on yet another impossible mission which he never turns down. Hunt leads his IMF team consiting of Luther (Ving Rhames from both films), Billy Baird (Aussie from 2nd film) and two other team members. Your mission is to inspect a corrupt Yulgarian President suspected of doing naughty things!!
You can't avoid the fact that the game is the lovechild of metal gear solid and splinter cell as it combines elements of both though I found playing MIOS a little simpler. The onscreen map isn't too helpful as its very restricted and doesn't show enemies but personally i find this better as its more challenging. Also there is a stealth bar (like splinter cell)to show when Hunt is out of sight. But just cos a place looks dark don't mean he can't be seen so be careful.
Every mission is unique a requires a variety of skills like those seen in the films (disguises and hanging by a wire from ceilings) and whole new ones like sky diving and jet packing behind a plane. Like its parents, this game requires brains over brawn though Hunt has plenty of both! Instead of running in guns blazing why not try silently killing your victims with neck or back breaking stealth moves!
This game is must for the film fans and those who like Metal Gear Solid and Splinter Cell style games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Low Down On Mission Impossible, 18 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Operation Surma (PS2) (Video Game)
Before 'Mission: Impossible' even came out on PS2 i was looking forward to it and i was thinking of buying it. Then, when it finally appeared on the shelves i read a review about it in some games magazine which said that it wasn't very good and not really worth buying. This sort of put me off, but not completely. Instead of buying it, i rented it and i found that it was in fact not a bad game, certainly not as bad as the magazine review had said it was.
I won't even try to explain the storyline to it, because it is so complex and has so much depth, that i wouln't know where to begin. It's one of thoses games that starts off with what seems like a pretty bassic storyline, but before you know it, it's huge. Like a snowball at the top of a hill. It starts off small at the top, but by the time it reaches the bottom it's picked up so much snow that it is ten times the size. I personally find this the best type of game because you nver know whats going to happen next, or where your next mission will take you.
The graphics on games just keep getting better and better, and these garphics are supurb. This not only makes the game look really good, but makes it much more realistic and enjoyable to play as you actually feel like you are inside the game, doing the missions yourself. The mark of a good game.
The firearms are a bit of let down on this game. I can't remember exactly how many there are, but the makers definately could have made a better effort on that. The weopons include: a pistol, a machine gun, a tranquilser dart gun, and few others, none of them anything special. There arn't even any amazing gadgets to make up for it like on the bond games.
'Mission: Impossible' is meant to be played as a stealth game, as you would expect when you play a spy. However i'm not really a stealth person and so i find it much more fun to charge in and beat up the baddies, with some swift kicks and punches. Obviously you can't do this all the way through the game, but every now and then, it's quite fun. However if you do this too much, you run the risk of seriously shortening the game, so make sure there is a nice mixture.
Overall, 'Mission: Impossible' is not a bad game, with the supurb graphics, and lengthy gameplay, any gamer should find this quite a fun game and worth buying. It took me about two days to complete which is quite long really for saying they were weekend days, however it could seem quite short for a hard-core gamer. Still worth buying though. Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mimission impossile, stunning, 30 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Operation Surma (PS2) (Video Game)
all i can say that this game is simply amazing with its nailbiting missions and its sharp graphics there is nothing wrong with this game.this game has the unbelievable stunts and story line.it is a great game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get ready to be blown away, 8 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Operation Surma (PS2) (Video Game)
I first got this game as a christmas prezzie and as soon as i played it i was hooked. Shame my cd had a fault apart from that it was utterly fantastic and i urge you to get playing! Definately worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REALLY GOOD STEALTH GAME, 19 Oct. 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Operation Surma (PS2) (Video Game)
I've played the first M:I game for the PS1, and that was okay, yet showed great room for improvement. When I heard Operation Surma was coming around, I really wanted to see what the game had to offer. Little did I know, I was in for a big disappointment.

The gameplay mechanics are okay...for about the first 10 minutes. You're expected to keep your eye on the radar AND watch out for what's ahead of you, but you can't do both, now can you? The radar works very much like MGS's Soliton radar, except in does not tell you where enemies are stationed or their field of vision, leading to easy frustration. You have no idea if an enemy can see you or not. Sometimes, it doesn't even matter. If you hide behind a wall out of enemy vision, he will still see you, regardless, often making you fail your mission miserably. So, to summarize, the stealth mechanics of this game are HORRENDOUS. Why is it that every time a certain game company attempts a stealth game, Konami always kicks that game off the shelves with Metal Gear Solid? Because Konami knows what they're doing. Atari hasn't made 1 decent game since Driver 2. Not even Enter the Matrix was all that interstellar.

Also, control is clunky, and control interface is just not worth the bother. There's no telling how many times I told Ethan to stop grabbing the frigging ladder every time I try and run away from it. Also, bad guys have a tendency to swarm in LITERALLY out of thin air, meaning that this is one of those games in which pop-up infects the game if you turn the camera away from a certain spot. That's how enemies constantly get the drop on you. And every time an alarm goes off, you either fail the mission, or spend 30 seconds trying to hunt down the alarm shut off module, just so the alarm can be raised again for no real reason. It's a painful experience. There's also a skydiving mission that requires you to dodge missiles while getting to your target. Thanks to the clunkiness and an awkward control scheme, getting shot with missiles in mid-air is as easy as A-B-C. There were LOTS of good ideas going for this game, but they were badly implemented...just what you would expect from Atari. They did it with Enter the Matrix, T3, and Driver...and here we are.

Now that I got the bad out of the way, it's time for the good. Missions are thrilling and give you that feeling that tells you that this is good CIA training. The classic "repel down the down the room via rope and hack the computer" mission has been retained, but sadly, I only wanted to do it once. It's only a marvel if it only has to be done once, not 15 times. Also, the gadgets are superb and match Ethan Hunt's skill as a CIA agent. Surely, Splinter Cell does it better, even though Splinter Cell had its ups and downs. Also, lighting effects work acceptionally well (play the Silent Hill games for REAL realistic lighting effects), and the story is followable and acceptable, even though I'm getting tired of blackmailing just so the bad guy can wipe out an entire civilization for no reason. Come on, Atari, we're getting sick of this "I'm going to take over the world!" nonsense!

Another good thing is that the Mission: Impossible theme song is back with a vengeance. It's been remixed to keep that "improving" feeling alive. Mission: Impossible fans will enjoy this remix, and should definitely but on loud TV volume.

Also, one problem is that the game is TOO SHORT. You only pass through 5 missions and beat the game. I was expecting party missions or driving and track-shooting missions. Instead, you spend hours losing and passing missions, and I got no satisfaction from the ending. This is an age of end-game bonuses, and every game should have extras unlocked for beating the game. All 5 missions are infiltrate, do your business, and out-filtrate. Repeat for about 4 more times. When I beat the game, I looked at the end credits and said "THAT'S IT??!!"

If you want a longer, less trial-and-error mission-based game with more action, pick up a James Bond game. However, if you believe that everything I just talked about can be considered, get this game. I'm just warning you before you drop your controller and start stomping on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Operation Surma (PS2) (Video Game)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 23 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Operation Surma (PS2) (Video Game)
This game was terrible in every way, the graphics were awsome but the game play and the players were so bad they were unrealistic. Would have given it 0 stars but the graphics were very good so it got 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mission: Impossible - Operation Surma (PS2)
Mission: Impossible - Operation Surma (PS2) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation2)
£5.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews