Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of songs from a master!
These songs have stood the test of time and remain fresh. Sunny Goodge Street is surely one of the top ten tracks from the 60's and perfectly evokes the atmosphere at that time - the lyrics are sheer poetry, as are they on most of these songs. Take Turquoise, 'Your smile beams like sunlight on a gull's wing ' - was there ever a finer line in a love song?

Not...
Published on 9 May 2006 by David P. Gibbins

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present
Brought this for my husband - was ok - he liked the selection. I do not - not my taste, so he plays it when I am not about!
Published 20 months ago by Rosamunde


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of songs from a master!, 9 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Catch The Wind (Audio CD)
These songs have stood the test of time and remain fresh. Sunny Goodge Street is surely one of the top ten tracks from the 60's and perfectly evokes the atmosphere at that time - the lyrics are sheer poetry, as are they on most of these songs. Take Turquoise, 'Your smile beams like sunlight on a gull's wing ' - was there ever a finer line in a love song?

Not all the songs are Donovan's own compositions, but he makes them sound his own. His innovative guitar style, although still in its early stages of development, is well represented, particularly on Josie, Candy Man and Colours - the influence this was to have on pop music is immeasurable, notably on the Beatles.

A fine CD - the most fun you'll ever have for this price. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catch the Wind, 7 Sep 2009
By 
L. M. Galbraith (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch The Wind (Audio CD)
Was really pleased to get this, The final episode of Casualty jogged my memory, when it played "Catch The Wind" & I checked all my 60's compilation CDs & its not on one of them which I think is crazy
The song really tugs at the heartstrings
Also Universal Soldier is really quite appropiate in these troubled times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia, 5 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch The Wind (Audio CD)
If you would like just one nostalgic Donovan album, this is a good choice. It contains nearly all the tracks I remember and liked the most. I play it just occassionally when in the mood and I'm surprised just how many words I remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pre-psychedelic Donovan, 20 Sep 2011
By 
AndrewL94 (Plymouth, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Catch The Wind (Audio CD)
Donovan's delicate moon was rapidly eclipsed by the blazing sun of Bob Dylan. Donovan has recently been on TV talking at great length about himself and his stellar career. Sadly that career effectively ended in about 1970. He had enjoyed considerable chart success in Britain. And OK, he went off to visit the Maharishi with the Beatles; and John Lennon was intrigued by his guitar fingerpicking style - as demonstrated in a couple of tracks off the White Album. But there were so many artists around in the 60's who were better than Donovan.

Anyway, this album predates all that stuff, and all the tacky psychedelia. Here is Donovan's best album by a mile - simple, direct, warm, with that unmistakeable, velvety voice. And it shows his simple, direct songwriting skills to best advantage. Also his interpretation of others - notably Buffy St Marie's "Universal soldier".

My personal favourite is "Why do you treat me like you do". But all the tracks are really nice and singable (they have been among the staple fare of folkies & buskers ever since). It's certainly an album well worth having, especially if you are into the sixties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catch The Wind: Donovan - Anthology of his very early work, 19 Nov 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch The Wind (Audio CD)
This 2003 release from Castle anthologises Donovan's output whilst signed to the Pye label in 1964/65, covering his first two albums (What's Bin Did And What's Bin Hid' and `Fairytale') and a couple of singles from the era.

I got this just to get original recordings of `Colours' and `Catch The Wind', which are missing form the other anthology I own, `Troubadour'. The scope of this anthology is a little limited, covering as it does only 2 albums from 1965. There are other anthologies out there that do a better job of covering his career, but frustratingly many of them have the poor 1969 re-recordings of `Colours' and `Catch The Wind', making this an ideal choice if it is those tracks that you are after.

Sound quality is OK, and there are some very limited liner notes. 4 stars all round. Good if you areonly interested in Donovan's early recordings and don't want to shell out for the albums individually, not so good if you want some of his post '65 output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PSYCHEDELIC FOLK POP DELIGHT, 15 May 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Catch The Wind (Audio CD)
Donovan didn’t die young like Nick Drake, nor did he ever become as profound as Dylan, so he’s not much mentioned in the lore of rock. (As far as comparisons go - perhaps he could be considered a more trippy Cat Stevens?) Yet here was a unique talent that created some of the most memorable psychedelic folk/pop in catchy, tuneful songs that have a timeless appeal. Songs like the flowing Catch The Wind, the evocative Colours, the yearning Josie and the reflective Universal Soldier contributed to making the late 1960s such a very special time (what with Melanie, Marianne Faithfull and others) and tapped into the same psychedelic vein as the band Love. I think in the early 90s Happy Mondays credited Donovan with a lot of inspiration, but I think his Celtic romanticism probably also subliminally inspired artists as diverse as Enya and The Waterboys, to name just two. Sure he could be really kitschy, as his song Atlantis shows I(mercifully not included here), but overall, he created a solid body of charming classic songs that have been much covered by other artists. Fans of clever psychedelic pop and of artists like Belle and Sebastian would do themselves a favour by (re)discovering Donovan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sunshine superman, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch The Wind (Audio CD)
I am delighted with the CD. Every aspect of its purchase was first rate. Very well worth it. Many congratulations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catch the Wind - brilliant stuff, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch The Wind (Audio CD)
Great listening to the old stuff, great voice and you can understand what he is singing. Highly recommended for easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch The Wind (MP3 Download)
Classic album. A lot of quality songs on this one. I'd forgotten how good Donovan was. My kids like it too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh! What a blast from the past!, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch The Wind (Audio CD)
Loved hearing all these beautiful Donovan songs again, and will enjoy having this CD to listen to again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Catch The Wind
Catch The Wind by Donovan (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews