Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holding Fantasy and Desire Apart
David Lynch's Blue Velvet is a fantastic film and I recommend it highly. Thematically, the film concerns itself with desire, fantasy and violence. It is directed with thought and skill. The plot concerns a young man, Jeffrey Beaumont, who discovers a severed ear. This leads him, partly through his own unstoppable curiosity, to discover a dark underworld that coexists with...
Published on 19 Mar. 2011 by Caleb Sivyer

versus
127 of 143 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Horrible DVD.
I should start by saying that I've never paid much attention to talk of good and bad 'prints' of movies, and always regarded it as a bit of movie snobbery. Until now, I've never purchased a DVD that left me seriously unhappy with the quality of the image.

I'm afraid this DVD (by Prism Leisure Corporation) changed all that. Quite simply, it's dreadful. Ok,...
Published on 20 Mar. 2005 by Steampunk


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hopper at his best, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
A. Bloomfield (Stoke-onTrent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Velvet [DVD] (DVD)
Dennis Hopper is so sleazy he almost oozes from the screen and a totally believable psychopath.
Full of atmosphere, in the most ordinary of towns evil lurkes just below the surface. Rivetting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Lynch at the top of his game, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Velvet [DVD] (DVD)
This is a masterful film exploring many different themes. The film will not be for everyone as there are some disturbing images and scenes. But it is one of the most interesting films of the last thirty years. Dennis Hopper said it was a film about love(love Film?) That is a little curious, ,but it does explore different types of love.Mainly, though it is about two contrasting worlds that coexist, and yet are apart. Maybe those who are enjoying Breaking Bad would enjoy this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Set The Robins Free, 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blue Velvet [DVD] (DVD)
So wishes Laura Dern's 'innocent' college-girl, Sandy Williams, in order to rid the world of all evil, in particular that of Dennis Hopper's manic psychopath Frank Booth, in David Lynch's 1986 dark, hypnotic (but also comic) thriller. It's a strange world (as they say) and having not watched Lynch's film for at least a decade, I was wondering how it would stand up - answer: very well indeed. It remains, for me, one of Lynch's finest ever works, depicting, as it does, a battle between 'good' (homespun, idyllic USA) and 'evil' (personified by Hopper's character), in a deliberately stylised, caricatured (Lynchian) way, which perhaps shouldn't strictly work (or convince), but strangely (that word again) does.

Although Lynch's film opens in the bright, airy, rural idyll of Lumberton (an actual North Carolina town, though much of the film was shot in nearby Wilmington) - repeated shots of lumber-laden trucks rolling by act as reminders - we soon realise we are back in 'Eraserhead Lynch territory' as Frederick Elmes' camera delves into the undergrowth amongst the beetles, backed by Angelo Badalamenti's idiosyncratic score (which is a highlight of the film, veering between symphonic and jazzy; and variously haunting, ethereal and ominous). Indeed, it is a kind of nightmarish, sexually depraved undergrowth that Lynch's dream-like tale reveals as, on his finding a severed ear ('Yes, that's a human ear, alright') Kyle MacLachlan's Jeffrey and Sandy, being of an investigative bent, discover Isabella Rossellini's mysterious, sultry, S&M-inclined nightclub singer, Dorothy Vallens, holed up in her apartment, a slave to Hopper's nutter who is holding her husband and son captive. Thereafter, our hero realises that he has opened a can of worms that can't be closed in a hurry as he endeavours to save Dorothy from Frank's clutches.

Throughout, Lynch's film is a mesmerising, nerve-wracking watch, from its Hitchcockian opening 45 minutes or so through to its 'updated Corman-like' horrorfest latter stages. MacLachlan and Dern are both impressive (albeit deliberately clichéd) as the star-crossed inquisitive lovers, whilst Hopper is (admittedly one-dimensionally) terrifying as Frank. There are also cameo roles for Brad Dourif (a criminally underused acting talent) as Raymond and Eraserhead's Jack Nance as Paul, two of Frank's henchmen, whilst George Dickerson is also impressive as Sandy's father, the upstanding Detective Williams.

There are a whole host of standout sequences, which for me include: Sandy's first appearance, emerging goddess-like from the darkness; Dorothy's first nightclub rendition of the film's title song; the 'Why is there so much trouble in the world?' scene between Jeffrey and Sandy (with church organ music in the background); the syrupy, but surprisingly endearing, 'Mysteries of love' dance sequence; Kitty Lester's Love Letters playing over a shootout sequence; the hilarious (but poignant) final fake robin sequence; and (for me the highlight of the film) Dean Stockwell's 'suave', effete, Liberace-like Ben, miming with a spotlit mike to Roy Orbison's In Dreams. Another key scene is that where Jeffrey cries as he recognises that there is some truth in Frank's claim, 'You're like me'.

Although Lynch's film is, for me, highly original, I do detect (maybe subconscious) influences in addition to those of Hitchcock and the horror genre. In the film's depiction of a stark good vs evil conflict, I was reminded of Charles Laughton's masterpiece The Night Of The Hunter and hints of Frank Capra, perhaps even It's A Wonderful Life (plus a degree of forward-looking influence on the Coens). Whatever, Blue Velvet is certainly a film well worth revisiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Blue Velvet, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sorry to say this DVD was faulty and after having returned one copy and receiving another in its place that one was also faulty so again returned all in all very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Velvet [DVD] - Isabella Rossellini, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Velvet [DVD] (DVD)
This is to me one of the classics of avante garde cinema. All the acting performances are wonderful, superb, and sublime. And in particular you have the late great Dennis Hopper giving yet another stirling performance. I simply adore this film and you should too, so buy it you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In dreams..., 30 April 2009
By 
Grant Fitzgerald (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Velvet (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
A dark, surreal and disturbing experience with the usual Lynchisms (red curtains, light/dark worlds, symbolic imagery) and a stand-out performance from Dennis Hopper. Worth watching for the iconic scene with Dean Stockwell doing his 'In Dreams' mime. But yes - the fake robin at the end sucks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lost opportunity, 5 May 2004
This review is from: Blue Velvet (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
First of all I must say that my criticism on this release is solely regarding the dvd extras. The film is a fabulous transfer and the sound is excellent. However, there is currently available (as at 5th may 2004) another release of Blue velvet that is superior. It is the current USA REGION 1 release and includes on 1 DISC ONLY the same film transfer this one has, a 10 minute montage of deleted scenes, a 70 minute documentary about the making of the film made at the time of its release, and a SUPERB collection of photographic stills from the film set. This release gives you far less and it is stetched across two dvds. Buy the REGION 1 release and grab yourself a REGION 1 player from amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film poor quality disk, 8 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue Velvet [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Lynch's masterpiece is simply not give a fair showing in this shockingly bad transfer, I thought my machine was on the blink the sound was so bad !--- 5* film --- 1* DVD shame ---
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Updating film to DVD, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Velvet [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
Saw the film, bought the video. Time to update to DVD. Enjoyed the film very much, dark, scarey and wonderment of what was going on! Must have a night in and watch yet again, with a lovely cold glass of something alcoholic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Atrocious technical quality of this DVD transfer, 5 April 2000
By 
This review is from: Blue Velvet [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
It would be difficult to create a worse advert for what DVD is NOT about. The transfer is full frame, a crime when David Lynch utilises wide screen as an essential part of his visual composition, it also looks as though it has been mastered from a 16mm print that is dark, grainy and has some dirt or scratches on it. The only extras consist of an unlabelled and incromprehensible stills gallery. Even the VHS is wide screen and the colour balance looks better than the DVD, something I have never come across before. DO NOT BUY THIS DVD PRODUCE BY CASTLE FILMS, BUY THE WIDESCREEN VHS INSTEAD !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Velvet (Two-Disc Special Edition) [DVD]
£7.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews