Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars30
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
29
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2007
This is one of my most favoured live albums. As the sleeve notes say, he is finding his way through these songs, hence the length of some being close to 10 minuets, but feel like three, as you the listener can invited to go with him. A joy of a recording, my personal highlight is Dylan's "just like a women". It shows the talent and a snippet of one of the true greats of music.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2003
I cannot recommend this CD highly enough. It works for any music fan who does not know Jeff 's music but wants to get to know him, as well as for the most arduous Buckley-fan.
I belong to the second category. I bought this edition as soon as it was available and sat down to listen to it in the night. Its beauty and honesty left me breathless. It takes you back to the days before Jeff recorded his brilliant debut album "Grace" and started becoming something of a musical legend. The Sin-é was a small New York café where he played regularly during the early 90'ies. This CD sounds like you were in the bar there yourself. You can even hear the mics buzzing.
As a fan, it is wonderful to hear Jeff without the hype, the myth, the images woven around him by fame and the fake romanticism that stuck to him after he died tragically at the age of 30.
What you get here instead is a chance to listen to Jeff like he used to be, maybe even wanted to be: a wonderful musician, simply close to people, giving alle he had to offer: love and music.
The Sin-é recordings show he was ready for the bigger work, though: he had already fully developed his talents, his voice, his amazing guitarplaying. He lived and breathed music, but just 'had not made it' yet at that time. He covered Dylan, Simone, Cohen or Van Morrison, anybody, like he really understood them (check out "Strange Fruit") and already played beautiful versions of songs that would later end up on "Grace" like "Eternal life" or "Last goodbye". Furthermore, he turns out to be a very funny performer as well: his Miles Davis and The Doors-imitations are simply hilarious.
There is so much joy and pleasure in his performance, that you cannot but smile and be thankful for what he has given us. They kind of contrast in a refreshing way with the darker "Grace" as well.
This edition, including a nice dvd, honours Jeff's short but brilliant career of love and music like it should. I just wish it could have been longer... But then again, we always want more, don't we?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2005
Wow!, what more can i say?. i have been an avid fan of jeff buckley for some time. For those of you who are new to jeff, buy grace. If you enjoyed that take a look at the live stuff available. This album was released prior to grace, but show peices many songs which feature on grace. Jeff buckley grows on you the more you listen to him. what an amzing voice, great range. close your eyes and endulge in the great jeff buckley. what a tragedy
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2003
Honestly, if your'e a proper Jeff fan you'll fall for this one I'm sure. It shows a side to his music and his personality previously unheard. And songs like 'I Shall Be Released', 'If You Knew', and 'Sweet Thing' are the most powerful covers I've ever heard; mindblowing! SO BUY IT!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2003
JUST BUY IT. ABSOLUTELY AWESOME. SO INTENSE YOU FEEL LIKE YOUR THERE. GREAT VOICE, GREAT GUITAR PLAYING. THE MUSIC WORLD IS ONE SADDER PLACE WITHOUT JEFF BUCKLEY.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2003
since i listened to grace i had to buy everything by the unknown Jeff Buckley, since then i've been addicted to it.
i pre ordered this before it was released in america 2/11/03 over a week in waiting i finally received it and opened it in great anticipation. this is the most personal live album i have heard, it is both intimate and funny, the monologues add a special part to the cd's where you hear the talk and banter from the crowd well, gathering of people all i can say is a must buy for all die hard Jeff fans and for the casual listener, plus you have a dvd aswell
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2003
Jeff Buckley was one of those rare artists who could cover a song and make it completely his own. The 2 CDs showcase how amazing Jeff was live. His version of Nina Simone's "Be My Husband" (appropriately re-titled "Be Your Husband") is absolutely haunting, and I can't recall the number of times i've put it on repeat. I was a bit disapponted with the contents of the DVD, mainly because so much more could have been shown. A must buy for any fan and for those who are just discovering Jeff Buckley.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
It is an amazing document of an AMAZING singer. Every second is precious and sometimes is breathtaking. A great record to have and to hold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Exactly what I expected from the pictures and description on eBay, perfect condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2003
There is over two hours of audio material on this edition - and in truth it gets to be quite hard-going. Just Jeff and his guitar and occasional crowd banter.

Acolytes will lap this up. You know the sort - if Jeff said jump in a river..
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)