Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four star material, five star sound
I am quite surprised that no one has reviewed this version of the Reality album yet. Plenty of reviews for the normal CD version and the bonus disc version, but none whatsoever for this excellent duel disc edition. There are some on the American Amazon.com however. - All very positive. I wrote a review for the CD version of Reality back near when it was first released but...
Published 20 months ago by R. A. Arthur

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in places but nowhere near great.
This album came out incredibly quickly after his last (Heathen) for a man at his stage in his career, and sadly it shows.

While never really unpleasant it does roll on rather with rather a mediocre plod.
Highlights are still there as with even the worst Bowie albums there's always some magic there somewhere.

Days is the standout original track...
Published 16 months ago by M. S. Skeldon


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far better than Heathen & deserves the plaudits, 19 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Reality (Bonus Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
I bought Heathen following all the great reviews and believing the "best since Scary Monsters.." hype. It wasn't. Reality,however is.
Staying with his touring band and with Tony Visconti at the production healm, his Dukeness has crafted a richly rewarding collection of songs. The opener, New Killer Star sturdily announces that Bowie is marching in a strong vein of form. The driving guitar driven theme continues into Pablo Picasso and follows through the album, with the exceptions of the quiet ballad The Loneliest Guy, and the louche, jazzy, Bring Me The Disco King.
Whereas, Heathen meandered and faded in the middle of the album, Reality is strong throughout, with hardly a weak spot, or track that you would skip past.
This is a good album, as soon as it had finished, I wanted to play it again.
Should you buy it? If you liked Heathen, Heroes, ..hours, Scary Monsters; in a word, definitely.
It's arguable whether it's worth paying extra for the bonus CD pack: you get about 10 minutes of music over three tracks, one of which is a routine re working of Rebel Rebel. The remaining tracks are good efforts though, and don't come across as session out-takes, which can often be the case with so called "bonus" material.
Again, good album, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Extra Songs Are Worth It!, 3 Nov 2004
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reality (Bonus Disc Edition) (Audio CD)
"Fly" and "Queen Of The Tarts" are hard rocking, typical Bowie with strong beats and killer lyrics. The highlight is the remake of "Rebel Rebel", which is almost exactly the way Bowie sings it in the 'Reality' concert. Nice and easy and then hard and rough! It is as good as the original. The main CD is also a classic.
Bowie has always been accused of possessing a chameleon like persona, but the 'reality' is that he simply has the courage to explore every aspect of music that he takes a fancy to. "Reality" is no exception. Just a shade further towards inventiveness than "Heathen", Bowie pulls together a full album set that possesses his entire creativeness with no filler.
Featuring Tony Visconti as an effectual producer of famed renown, the songs surpass what most expect of Bowie. "New Killer Star" piles on the guitars with a goofy synthesized background loop and "Never Get Old" succeeds with an upbeat rhythm destined to be a dance hit and a radio favorite. The range of song moods is large, with "The Loneliest Guy" harkening back to the Fripp-Eno age with space guitars and synthesized over samplings, while "Days" is reminiscent of the "Hunky Dory" period with it's happy, pop ditty silliness. The biggest surprise is "Bring Me The Disco King", a slow piano lounge lizard song with multiple Bowie over-dubs.
Two big numbers here are "Fall Dog Bombs The Moon" and the title track, "Reality" which have the same driving chords and strong beat Bowie used so effectively in his "Let's Dance" era. But make no mistake. Despite the similarities to previous work, Bowie has brought out some wonderfully new music - music that has matured smartly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thin White Duke at His Best, 19 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Reality [With DVD] (Audio CD)
What a sensational package. Get beyond the initial irritation of having the shell out for another copy of Reality and you are treated to the excellent Reality album and the whole album played live from Hammersmith in an outstanding performance. Bowie is on top vocal form and the support from Earl Slik on guitar and Mike Garson on keyboards is superb. As a wee bonus on the audion CD you get Bowies cover of Waterloo Sunset.
Buy this - you will not be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Disappointing, 30 Sep 2003
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
I'm a great fan of Bowie's 70's music and thought that 2002's Heathen was a stunning return to form, but after several listens to Reality, it still leaves me a bit cold. It is a different album entirely to Heathen , more bombastic and direct.Many of the songs are reasonably good - New Killer Star, Days and Fall Dog..probably my favourites. However the raucous title track, Pablo Picasso and the Jaggeresque Never Get Old ("Never gonna be enough drugs, never gonna be enough sex..") verge on the annoying and uninspired.Not a bad album , but not a particularly original one either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bowie - a little more mature / relaxed perhaps, but still putting out some good music, 1 Aug 2013
By 
milky35 (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
I had read the other reviews which were in the main positive about Reality. I have thoroughly enjoyed the tracks and although a little more laid back, still music unlike anything you hear these days, in this processed world of group formation and reality tv. My favourite track is 'looking for water' as it perhaps for me, reflects more so the Bowie we know and love. that is not to say I don't like this CD, I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome To Reality, 13 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
2003 and we saw the last Bowie album for little over ten years with the new 2013 album "the next day" Bowie's reality album has been know to be the best for a few years at the time, others before were Outside, Earthling and hours which have had some bad press but can't please everyone, Reality is a great album, some rocky sounds such as Realty and some slower songs like the lonest guy.
Anyone who is a Bowie fan should love this and anyone who isn't there will be at least four track that will appeal.
There are a few cover songs Bowie did but realised on special edition version of Reality like the Kinks waterloo sun sent and K1 Love missals. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an eclectic mix, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Bug Man "Proteus" (Rayleigh, Essex UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reality [With DVD] (Audio CD)
This is an album that passed me by when it was released. But thanks tovthe 40years publicity I discovered it and its fab u lous!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top draw, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
another bowie album which was overlooked in general and on listening it becomes a real grower there are some excellent tunes and it is quite varied a great buy for any collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reality cd David Bowie, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
Wow. This is brilliant Bowie. I don't know how I missed it when it came out. The reviewers are all over him now but were they then? I missed it if they were
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars reality is really good, given time to really listen, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
Alas, its nice that the first reviewer finds the album cool, i;m still not entirely sure. Although I'm a long time Bowie fan, at first i thought this is truly one of his worst. After listening a couple of times i felt it wasn't that bad at all. pretty good album, actually...
After experiencing the Reality Tour DVD i feel its great music. But the DVD, it aint expensive and is a stunning performance, played with joy, greatness and an amazing band! So now I feel this is really good stuff...
david, i'm sorry I was so quick in my judgement teh first tme. b well everyone, h
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reality (Bonus Disc Edition)
Reality (Bonus Disc Edition) by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews