Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars70
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£4.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 25 September 2003
When you listen to 'Reality' in a concentrated way, you start to hear some of its truly inspired touches. It's full of good, enjoyable tracks, but within those tracks can be found a playful experimenting that makes you go back and play them again - just to make sure you haven't missed anything the first time. And it's this quality that makes 'Reality' such a marvellous album - it's got longevity, and won't travel to the bottom of people's CD racks for quite some time.
A complete contrast to 'Heathen', occupying a different imaginative space entirely, this is a textured and tantilizing, immensely varied album. Pretty much what you expect from David Bowie.
And it makes you want to dance.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 20 October 2003
Each and every new Bowie album since 1995's 1: Outside has been touted as Bowie's best since Scary Monsters. This once again is true of Bowie's new release Reality, but it should really be taken on its own merits. Reality is a very strong piece of work, building on the success of 2002's highly successful Heathen. Some elements are similar to Heathen, the result of Bowies excellent live band, but this album is on the whole much more forceful and direct. This is Bowie at his confident best, he knows he's got it, all of it, and so the sound is relaxed and confident. Tunes such as Reality and Never Get Old are noticeably written to be played live and rock in the manner of the glam glitterburst, Hallo Spaceboy. At other moments, the album is reminicent of Young Americans, with "She'll Drive the Big Car" and the slow ballad "Days" is simply beautiful. The Album is opened strongly by New Killer Star, and the closing track, "Bring me the Disco King" a number which bowie has allegedly been toying with for years is packed with wistful emotion. The Special Edition also comes with An excellent near instrumental, "Queen of all the Tarts" and a recent version of Rebel Rebel. An excellent album, showing Bowie at his strongest and most creative for years, certainly the strongest for a decade, and in its own right, a great piece of work and one of Bowie's best so far.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 23 November 2003
This is the third edition of Reality in two months. The news are that in this one you have a dvd with a life performance of the Reality songs (not the classic ones he sang in that concert) and the great cover of Kinks classic Waterloo Sunset (the same bonus track you can find in the japanesse edition).
For me, the best songs are New Killer Star (buy the dvd single), Reality, Never Get Old, Pablo Picasso, Fall Dog Bombs The Moon and Bring Me The Disco King (maybe the Underworld Soundtrack version is even better).
P.S.: The song in the french advert was Never Get Old, and not Lookin For Water. You can watch the advert in [...]
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 25 April 2013
This is not the David Bowie of the Serious Artistic Statement (Diamond Dogs, Station to Station, Heroes and latterly The Next Day), it's Bowie making some great songs, presumably with a view to touring them. Think Aladdin Sane or perhaps Lodger, both of which are full of original treatments of fairly standard song formats and catchy tunes. The rocking pop songs (New Killer Star, Fall Dog, Reality) are all fine, but for me the highlights are the utterly barmy take on The Modern Lovers' Pablo Picasso (a song whose premise is barmy enough as it is) and the grand finale of Bring Me The Disco King, which starts off like late era Steely Dan, but soon heads somewhere rather more strange and twisted.

I pretty much gave up on Bowie after Tin Machine and Earthling, so this album and its predecessor passed me by ten years ago. I'm pleased that the hoo-ha over The Next Day has led me back to it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 19 September 2003
Every album Bowie has ever made has had high points. Even critically slated albums such as Tonight had its good moments (Blue Jean, for example), as did Tin Machine - their version of Maggie's Farm was, to my mind, one of his best ever tracks. Recent albums (and by recent, I mean the last 10 years' worth) have been, although better than most other bands around, still patchy in places. From Black Tie White Noise through to Heathen, they have all been generally good, but with a few poor songs to balance out the brilliant.
This is not the case with Reality, however. From the moment that 'New Killer Star' beings with it's classic Bowie sound reminiscent in places of Rebel Rebel and Jean Genie, through the spanish guitar laden insanity that is Pablo Picasso and onwards, there is not a bad moment to be heard. Throughout the 90s, sometimes it seemed that Bowie was trying just too hard to be trendy, hip and different. But the good work on Heathen has been continued, and to my mind this IS his best album in certainly 20 years, perhaps longer. It's certainly the one that has impressed me most after just two or three listens - probably more so than anything since Heroes.
This album deserves to be heard, and it deserves to be loved. If there's any justice, it will outsell all the TV manufactured rubbish in the charts, and give Bowie the incentive to carry on making music this good for another 35 years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 19 September 2003
Following hot on the heels of Heathen, Reality demonstrates that Bowie is on a musical role. Reality is nothing like Heathen; it is less pop music and more a mixture of hard rock and brooding mood music. There is no doubt that Bowie remains an enormous influence on modern music with this album. He sounds energetic, enthusiastic and innovative.
New Killer Star starts off the album with a stream of power chords, Pablo Picasso is bizarre and clever and tracks like Looking for Water demonstrate that he is 56 going on 26.
I am amazed how great this album is. If some of today's young hopefuls could write and produce something a tenth as good as this then music would be going through a boom time. Sadly it isn't and unfortuantely they can't. Bowie remains one of music's finest innovators. Totally recommended. Buy this and smile.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 20 August 2012
At first I was quite skeptical about this album, it sounded very generic but after awhile it became one of my favorites with amazing songs like Days and She'll drive the big car. Other excellent ones include New killer star, bring me the disco king, never get old and the title track.
There not a single bad song on here and any Bowie fan should definitely have this.
Great cover aswell.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 January 2012
This is David Bowie's most recent album - and very fine it is too. More rocking and direct than his previous album Heathen, which is truly superb, , much of the music on Reality was created with the intention of being played live. Which it was - superbly - during the 2003-2004 Reality tour.

Bowie rocks, reminiscently of the 70, with the tracks Reality, Pablo Picasso, and New KIller Star, which features some very fine guitar from Gerry Leonard. Quieter and thoughtful tracks include the Loneliest Guy, and the album's close, Bring me the Disco King, which seems a very personal and to some extent prophetic work.

Reality also includes the splendid Days, which is a quite beautiful ballad. There isn't a single filler track here - an excellent album all round
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 13 July 2013
2003 and we saw the last Bowie album for little over ten years with the new 2013 album "the next day" Bowie's reality album has been know to be the best for a few years at the time, others before were Outside, Earthling and hours which have had some bad press but can't please everyone, Reality is a great album, some rocky sounds such as Realty and some slower songs like the lonest guy.
Anyone who is a Bowie fan should love this and anyone who isn't there will be at least four track that will appeal.
There are a few cover songs Bowie did but realised on special edition version of Reality like the Kinks waterloo sun sent and K1 Love missals. BUY IT!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 14 February 2007
After 'Heathen' Bowie came out with this, and it's another quality album which, bar 'Heathen' is probably his best since 'Let's Dance', twenty years earlier. 'New Killer Star' and 'Days' are truly great songs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Heathen by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2002)

The Next Day
The Next Day by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2013)

Black Tie White Noise
Black Tie White Noise by David Bowie (Audio CD - 1996)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.