Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four star material, five star sound
I am quite surprised that no one has reviewed this version of the Reality album yet. Plenty of reviews for the normal CD version and the bonus disc version, but none whatsoever for this excellent duel disc edition. There are some on the American Amazon.com however. - All very positive. I wrote a review for the CD version of Reality back near when it was first released but...
Published 17 months ago by R. A. Arthur

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in places but nowhere near great.
This album came out incredibly quickly after his last (Heathen) for a man at his stage in his career, and sadly it shows.

While never really unpleasant it does roll on rather with rather a mediocre plod.
Highlights are still there as with even the worst Bowie albums there's always some magic there somewhere.

Days is the standout original track...
Published 13 months ago by M. S. Skeldon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four star material, five star sound, 9 Nov 2012
By 
R. A. Arthur - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
I am quite surprised that no one has reviewed this version of the Reality album yet. Plenty of reviews for the normal CD version and the bonus disc version, but none whatsoever for this excellent duel disc edition. There are some on the American Amazon.com however. - All very positive. I wrote a review for the CD version of Reality back near when it was first released but having had a 5.1 setup for a while now I've started getting into music DVDs and have been searching for Bowie albums mastered in 5.1. Ended up reading on Wikipedia of all places that there was a duel disc version of Reality and here we are. I listened to the album for many years as a standard CD so you really hear the difference and hear new sounds when you listen to the 5.1. I recall a similar experience when picking up Queen Greatest hits 1 and 2 on DVD, had become so used to listening to the songs through a computer or a standard stereo as soon as you listen to a track in the remastered 5.1 it makes such a difference. Having said this, big fans of Queen may know that their Greatest Hits DVDs were released with a least compressed DTS 96/24 audio which sounded flawless throughout.

Reality Duel Disc however does come with a heavily compressed Dolby Digital soundtrack, though; nonetheless the sound is excellent and well mixed throughout. Sure it would have benefitted from a DTS track and there is room for it on the disc, but in every track the Dolby does well and I feel it breathes more easily than the standard CD. It isn't overly aggressive or vise versa, neither is it your typical 'bounce sound all over the place' 5.1 effort. Done by Bowie's producer Visconti who obviously knows what he's doing with the music. Having said this I do also own Reality Tour on DVD and the Dolby surround mix done for that (also by Visconti) was bloody awful and most people recognised this. But he has hit the nail on the head with this Duel Disc and I will be looking at more 5.1 material in the Bowie camp. Ziggy Stardust 40th Anniversary was released recently which features the full album remastered in DTS. Naturally, this is next on my shopping list as I hear excellent reviews.

The final thing to say is that there is other bonus material on the disc. Of most interest is the otherwise unavailable Reality film featuring full length videos of 'Never Get Old', 'The Loneliest Guy', 'Bring Me the Disco King', and 'New Killer Star'. In between these videos there's Bowie sort of 'interviewing himself' in videos. - Kind of difficult to explain and it's a little weird to watch (but not weird for Bowie) but all this including the music videos lasts about half an hour. I should say that this is also all in 5.1 Dolby Digital sound. There's other bonus stuff on the disc too, a biography section and lyrics. Some other stuff too I think but I've not looked at this yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Money, money,money, 23 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Reality [With DVD] (Audio CD)
This is the third edition of Reality in two months. The news are that in this one you have a dvd with a life performance of the Reality songs (not the classic ones he sang in that concert) and the great cover of Kinks classic Waterloo Sunset (the same bonus track you can find in the japanesse edition).
For me, the best songs are New Killer Star (buy the dvd single), Reality, Never Get Old, Pablo Picasso, Fall Dog Bombs The Moon and Bring Me The Disco King (maybe the Underworld Soundtrack version is even better).
P.S.: The song in the french advert was Never Get Old, and not Lookin For Water. You can watch the advert in [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance, Dance, Dance, 25 Sep 2003
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
When you listen to 'Reality' in a concentrated way, you start to hear some of its truly inspired touches. It's full of good, enjoyable tracks, but within those tracks can be found a playful experimenting that makes you go back and play them again - just to make sure you haven't missed anything the first time. And it's this quality that makes 'Reality' such a marvellous album - it's got longevity, and won't travel to the bottom of people's CD racks for quite some time.
A complete contrast to 'Heathen', occupying a different imaginative space entirely, this is a textured and tantilizing, immensely varied album. Pretty much what you expect from David Bowie.
And it makes you want to dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a leather Messiah...., 19 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. Christopher Lancaster "clanca1234" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
Every album Bowie has ever made has had high points. Even critically slated albums such as Tonight had its good moments (Blue Jean, for example), as did Tin Machine - their version of Maggie's Farm was, to my mind, one of his best ever tracks. Recent albums (and by recent, I mean the last 10 years' worth) have been, although better than most other bands around, still patchy in places. From Black Tie White Noise through to Heathen, they have all been generally good, but with a few poor songs to balance out the brilliant.
This is not the case with Reality, however. From the moment that 'New Killer Star' beings with it's classic Bowie sound reminiscent in places of Rebel Rebel and Jean Genie, through the spanish guitar laden insanity that is Pablo Picasso and onwards, there is not a bad moment to be heard. Throughout the 90s, sometimes it seemed that Bowie was trying just too hard to be trendy, hip and different. But the good work on Heathen has been continued, and to my mind this IS his best album in certainly 20 years, perhaps longer. It's certainly the one that has impressed me most after just two or three listens - probably more so than anything since Heroes.
This album deserves to be heard, and it deserves to be loved. If there's any justice, it will outsell all the TV manufactured rubbish in the charts, and give Bowie the incentive to carry on making music this good for another 35 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in places but nowhere near great., 8 Mar 2013
By 
M. S. Skeldon (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
This album came out incredibly quickly after his last (Heathen) for a man at his stage in his career, and sadly it shows.

While never really unpleasant it does roll on rather with rather a mediocre plod.
Highlights are still there as with even the worst Bowie albums there's always some magic there somewhere.

Days is the standout original track from the album for me. The cover of the Kinks Waterloo Sunset is much more rocking than the original, but thoroughly enjoyable and another highlight. Also there's his rerecording of Rebel Rebel on one or more of the various version of this album, which is a great listen and freshens up the song for his concerts at the time.

She'll drive the big car, New Killer Star and Never Get Old are the best of the rest. Not 100% classics but certainly worth having.

The remaining songs are 'nice enough' but to be honest Reality should have come out 2 or 3 years after Heathen with better quality control.
Mind you it was supposed to be an album recorded with his live band more off the cuff not studious like Heathen and his other albums, so I guess it did what it was supposed to but I don't think he's gonna do it again! Get Heathen or The Next Day for more modern Bowie brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as Heathen, 14 Feb 2007
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
After 'Heathen' Bowie came out with this, and it's another quality album which, bar 'Heathen' is probably his best since 'Let's Dance', twenty years earlier. 'New Killer Star' and 'Days' are truly great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great discovery (ten years late), 25 April 2013
By 
Anon (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
This is not the David Bowie of the Serious Artistic Statement (Diamond Dogs, Station to Station, Heroes and latterly The Next Day), it's Bowie making some great songs, presumably with a view to touring them. Think Aladdin Sane or perhaps Lodger, both of which are full of original treatments of fairly standard song formats and catchy tunes. The rocking pop songs (New Killer Star, Fall Dog, Reality) are all fine, but for me the highlights are the utterly barmy take on The Modern Lovers' Pablo Picasso (a song whose premise is barmy enough as it is) and the grand finale of Bring Me The Disco King, which starts off like late era Steely Dan, but soon heads somewhere rather more strange and twisted.

I pretty much gave up on Bowie after Tin Machine and Earthling, so this album and its predecessor passed me by ten years ago. I'm pleased that the hoo-ha over The Next Day has led me back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Gets old, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
At first I was quite skeptical about this album, it sounded very generic but after awhile it became one of my favorites with amazing songs like Days and She'll drive the big car. Other excellent ones include New killer star, bring me the disco king, never get old and the title track.
There not a single bad song on here and any Bowie fan should definitely have this.
Great cover aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on Form? Bowie's Never Been Away!!, 20 Oct 2003
Each and every new Bowie album since 1995's 1: Outside has been touted as Bowie's best since Scary Monsters. This once again is true of Bowie's new release Reality, but it should really be taken on its own merits. Reality is a very strong piece of work, building on the success of 2002's highly successful Heathen. Some elements are similar to Heathen, the result of Bowies excellent live band, but this album is on the whole much more forceful and direct. This is Bowie at his confident best, he knows he's got it, all of it, and so the sound is relaxed and confident. Tunes such as Reality and Never Get Old are noticeably written to be played live and rock in the manner of the glam glitterburst, Hallo Spaceboy. At other moments, the album is reminicent of Young Americans, with "She'll Drive the Big Car" and the slow ballad "Days" is simply beautiful. The Album is opened strongly by New Killer Star, and the closing track, "Bring me the Disco King" a number which bowie has allegedly been toying with for years is packed with wistful emotion. The Special Edition also comes with An excellent near instrumental, "Queen of all the Tarts" and a recent version of Rebel Rebel. An excellent album, showing Bowie at his strongest and most creative for years, certainly the strongest for a decade, and in its own right, a great piece of work and one of Bowie's best so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie's Back!, 30 Nov 2003
This review is from: Reality (Audio CD)
Bowies back, and undeniably on top form. Making musical chemistry yet again with producer Tony Visconti. Bowie really can't go wrong, with a strong tried and tested band including Mike Garson (Ziggy Stardust 1973), Earl Slick (Diamond Dogs Tour 1974) and the all inspiring Gail Ann Dorsey ( 1. Outside 1995).
Bowie wows us from start to finish with the likes of the fabulous "New Killer Star" and "Days". The brilliant self observation of "Never Get Old" will take you breath away as you begin to realise that Bowie, fast approaching 57, is spiritually younger than he has ever been.
All in all "Reality" needs not prove anything. David's voice unchanged by time, delivers a full to the brim 50 mins of superb music. It is up there with finest of the Thin White Duke's Albums, possibly the greatest since "Low".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5344534)

This product

Reality
Reality by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews