Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding debut!
I love this album! I heard a small clip of Moment Like This on an MTV advert and had to download it. After that, I was in love with her voice and had to get the album...and it wasn't a let down at all! It's got a really beautiful and edgy sound to it.
1) The Trouble with Love - really good song. Nice lyrics and an interesting twist on a ballad. Her voice is...
Published on 12 Mar. 2004 by Christana

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit Mickey Mouse....
I bought this after falling in love with her second album - Breakaway, but have to admit to being a little disappointed.
Listening to it, I couldn't get Disney movies out of my head. The soaring strings, sometimes predictable melodies, female backings all combined to make me think of Princess Jasmine on a flying carpet, or Belle waltzing around a ballroom.
Don't...
Published on 8 April 2006 by LM


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding debut!, 12 Mar. 2004
By 
Christana (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thankful (Audio CD)
I love this album! I heard a small clip of Moment Like This on an MTV advert and had to download it. After that, I was in love with her voice and had to get the album...and it wasn't a let down at all! It's got a really beautiful and edgy sound to it.
1) The Trouble with Love - really good song. Nice lyrics and an interesting twist on a ballad. Her voice is astonishing and the tune is beautiful.
2) Miss Independent - well you've probably heard this song and are likely to love it. If you haven't, well, its fantastic. It starts of quite mellow and then hits the chorus! And the message of the song is effective.
3) Low - this is such a fabulous song! Kelly has such passion in her voice and it as though she really feels every word. The tune and beat of the song are really easy to get into. It's kind of rocky but in a pop way...just listen!
4) Some Kind of Miracle - this is a really beautiful song. Perfect lyrics and a steady, calm melody and way of singing adopted by Kelly. Also, there's a very constant beat. Altogether, the song has a calming vibe.
5) What's up lonely - this song sounds a bit like something off Christina Aguilera's first album. It's nice but nothing outstanding. However, the idea of the song is cool and, as usual, Kelly brings a special somethign to the song!
6) Just Missed the Train - i love this song! It's got really cool guitar strumming in the background and the melody and rhythm are really original. Very catchy.
7) Beautiful Disaster - i do like this song and I really really loved it when I first got the album (it was completely my favourite) but now it's not one that I wait to get to. I like it though and the bridge is terrific!
8) You Thought Wrong - AMAZING! I think this is my favourite song on the album. It stands out unbelievably and its really strong. Kelly and Tamyra's vocals blend well together and they both, not only sing with frankly outstanding talent, but real anger and feeling in their voices. You beleive what they are singing about and I'm sure it will make an impact on you.
9) Thankful - this is a nice bluesy type song. The beat and accompniment are very well suited and although it is a very simple song, Kelly's vocal variety guarantee that the song doens't get boring.
10) Anytime - Wow! There isn't really anythign else to say. You'll be blown away with the power of this song.
11) Moment Like This - this is one of my favourite songs in the entire world! She sings it astonishingly and the lyrics are so uplifting, hopeful and happy. Simply beautiful!
12) Before Your Love - again, another gorgeous song. A really meaningful ballad and Kelly makes you feel and believe eveything. Wonderful!
That's all the tracks. The one downside of this album is the order the tracks are organised in. I consider 5, 6 and 7 to be in the same group of "nice, sweet, enjoyable songs" then 10, 11 and 12 are the "moving and incredibly powerful ballads". Then the other songs just pop up. But, it still works and doens't mean you appreaciate the album for less than it is - a showcase of wonderful music and terrific talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasently Surprised, 1 July 2004
By 
Kay xxx (Rocking in Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thankful (Audio CD)
I first heard Kelly Clarkson on GMTV, the moning after she won AI, and I thought she had a stunning voice, and instantly fell in love with "A Moment Like This" I heard though an American friend that her album was due out soon in America, and asked her to send me a copy, as she had no imediate plans to release anything in the UK.
I have always been quite wary of albums from reality TV shows, as they're usually banged out within a few weeks (think Hear'Say) and are usually not all that impressive, even if the vocal talent is reasonably good.
I was pleasently surprised with "Thankful" Kelly Clarkson has an amazing voice, and she does the whole power ballad thing which I adore (plus since then I had heard her do "Natural Woman" on the show, and that high note won her the competition) My favourite tracks on the album are aptly named "A Moment Like This" which I think reflects perfectly about "how some people wait a lifetime for a momnet like this" and the wonderful B Side "Before Your Love" which she doesn't half belt out. Then "Miss Independent" I thought was very Miss Aguilera-esque and then I found out it was written by her. Kelly does her proud! She belts out this song, as well as displaying attitude. I particularly loved the duet with Tamyra Gray (who I think was robbed of second place) with "You Thought Wrong" They both sing their heart outs and put a man in his place for doing what men do best... Er... Cheating! Nothing like a good old bit of girl power.
"Whats Up Lonely" wouldn't have been one of the songs I instantly liked but it grew on me, with Kelly's nasal-type voice and fabulous vocal ability.
I fell in love with "Anytime" I could listen to this song all day. Her range is extrodinary, and she sings with passion, like she truly means every word she's singing. Without a doubt this is one of the best songs on the album, as is the smoochy ballad "Some Kind of Miracle" which is simple but it works, and is definitely up near the top.
Then there's the title track "Thankful" which, in my opinion, is forgetable. It's very Hilary Duff (which is not a compliment) she speaks more than she sings. Disappointing, but the other good tracks more than compensate. I could not get excited over "Low" even though she sings it perfectly. I am glad that I didn't hear that before I decided to buy the album, as it would have not inspired me in the slightest to spend my money on it, as and it's not Kellys voice, it's the lyrics and the melody that make it weak. Similar to "The Trouble With Low Is" although I did like that marginally better than "Low" but again, nothing to get excited about, even if it was featured on the Love Actually soundtrack. "Just Missed the Train" and "Beautiful Disaster" are, well, just not my type. I'm sure others like them, but they just don't float my boat.
On the whole, a very good album, although it's mainly made up of power ballads with the feisty "Miss Independent" and "You Thought Wrong" thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite an amazing young woman - From a Canadian fan, 10 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Thankful (Audio CD)
Admittedly I am not from the UK, however some family of mine reside there and they do own the Kelly Clarkson CD. I had the pleasure to watch Kelly Clarkson's rise to stardom throughout American Idol, and even with her powerful voice, her incredibly charming personality and her level headedness, the question remained if she was going to be able to succeed outside of the show. Well, as soon as I heard this album, I just knew she was going to be huge. Clarkson displays not only amazing vocal range throughout the album but a diversity that prevents her from being pigeon holed into one category or one fabricated mold. She tackles a little RnB sound just as perfectly as she can belt out tunes you would imagine christina Aguilera or Mariah Carey belting out on stage. Standouts to me are definitely the brilliant Miss Independent as well as Anytime a Powerful ballad that can give Celine Dion a run for her money), the hooky "Low" (which is her newly released single over here so probably will be yours as well overseas once MI runs its course), and the vocally perfect "What's Up Lonely" in which she displays a wide range of vocal ability. All in all, Kelly Clarkson's album does one thing that all albums should aspire too. It keeps you hooked all the way through. This is the type of album you put on and you don't want to skip over any song...and that is quite a feat. If Kelly Clarkson had anything to prove, well, it's been proven. This girl is here to stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last- A Real Talent From Reality TV, 6 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Thankful (Audio CD)
I watched the second series of american idol and Kelly was invited back onto the show for the final. My first thought was tha she certainly had an amazing voice and while in HMV I saw an import of her album and I had already heard the brilliant "Miss Independant" and decided that I would buy it considering that as it hadn't been been released in Britain yet and I didn't know if she ever planned to (She did but it feels more special knowing mine is a special import). The critics were unkind to her although it was probably because she came from a reality tv show, I loved the start of the album with the soft sound of "The Trouble With Love" and then moved on to the brilliant "Miss Independant" (Which I learned was written by miss independant herself, Christina Aguilera). The album had a lot of highlights and no dissapointing songs but some amazing standouts are "Just Missed The Train", "You Thought Wrong", "A Moment Like This" and "Before Your Love". I would recommend this cd to anyone except for anyone I knew to have a very different taste in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit Mickey Mouse...., 8 April 2006
This review is from: Thankful (Audio CD)
I bought this after falling in love with her second album - Breakaway, but have to admit to being a little disappointed.
Listening to it, I couldn't get Disney movies out of my head. The soaring strings, sometimes predictable melodies, female backings all combined to make me think of Princess Jasmine on a flying carpet, or Belle waltzing around a ballroom.
Don't get me wrong - there are some good moments, and a couple of very very good songs (Miss Independent and Beautiful Disaster), but the first can be found on the special edition of Breakaway, and a much better live version of the second on all editions.
Therefore, I'd say buy it if you like light, fluffy, sometimes a little gospel female artists. However, if you're working backwards from the more rocky and raw Breakaway, you may not be so satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Thankful" for this album, 14 July 2003
By 
Kelsey TX (Helotes, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thankful (Audio CD)
I've already bought this album in the US and it's wonderful. After hearing it from the critics that she would never grow to anyone, she releases this hit. Each song allows a different part of Clarkson's personality to shine. There's ballads about love and up-tempo songs about independence. This CD can't be classified into any particular genre for that reason. She has so many different sides to herself, musically, and wishes the world to see them all. Her voice is absolutely amazing. The smoothness and seemingly ease she has is incredible. This is definately one of my favorite albums of all time, and I'm picky about music. I woudl reccomend that everyone buy a copy, and even some more for your friends who might not have been exposed to the wonder that is Kelly Clarkson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 7 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Thankful (Audio CD)
This is the best album I have bought in ages - a mix of both pop an R&B sound and even a slight indie vibe - it's great. This is the debut album from Kelly Clarkson - the winner of American Idol but don't write her off because of that. She has an amazing voice and i love all the tracks on this album.
Track 1 - A slow ballad with excellent vocals. It is another cheesy pop ballad but Kelly's vocals alway sound stunnning on these power ballads. 9/10
Track 2 - Miss independent - I thought this song sounded a little weird at first but then it grew on me and the mix of the background and vocals sounds gr8. 8/10
Track 3 - The backing track sounds similar to an avril lavigne song but it's still a pop/slightly indie feel track. 10/10
Track 4 - This is probably my least favourite track on the album. The bluesy pop feel is great and even though it's my least fav it's still gd. The accompaniment is quite simple and slow which is probably why I don't like it as much - it's too simple. 6/10
Track 5 - This is a bluesy feeling ballad with some excellent lyrics. IT's again got a simple accompanniment but it's jsut right for the song. 8/10
Track 6 - A great song with a mix of different sounds - pop music with the feel of a dawsons creek soundtrack and a slight indie feel in the bridge. 8/10
Track 7 - This is a mid-tempo song with a strong pop vibe to it. It's one of my favourite tracks on the album. 10/10
Track 8 - This is a duet sung with Tamyra Gray another American Idol finalist. Their voices mix together great in this mid tempo song with a strong guitar and drums accompaniment. 8/10
Track 9 - Again this has a bluesy feel to it but is still pop too. 8/10
Track 10 - Anytime - I heard this on AI2 band fell in love with it but i love the album mix even more. It's a typical pop ballad but Kelly's vocals shine throughout the song. 10/10
Track 11 - A power ballad with a simple accompaniment, an acoustic guitar sound. Again her vocals are stunning and I fell in love with this song the moment I heard it. 10/10
Track 12 - This is a typical cheesy pop song but Kelly's vocals sound amazing on this track and makes it worth listenening to. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a true American Idol, 23 Aug. 2003
By 
Minesh Patel "miles05" (Birmingham, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thankful (Audio CD)
Kelly Clarkson was the winner of the first series of American Idol and I decided to buy her new album on recent visit to the USA. I am actually pleased that I did go ahead and buy this album as she has a superb singing voice, which is absolutely amazing. My favourite tracks on the album are Miss Independence, You Thought Wrong (which features Tamyra Gray who was another finalist that made into the last 10 in the first series, Anytime and A Moment Like This her debut single. This is album that you definitely need to add to your music collection and she will without doubt have a long singing career ahead of her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Album Of 3 Faces, 10 Oct. 2003
By 
P. M. Connolly "suspiriauk" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thankful (Audio CD)
This is a good album make no mistake but it has three faces...
The first being
SOUL/RnB.
On songs such as THE TROUBLE WITH LOVE IS/SOME KIND OF MIRACLE/WHATS UP LONELY/THANKFUL. Kelly has chosen a much more soul feel to each song and I have to say these with the exception of WHATS UP LONELY are my least favs on this album.
The second face being
The POWER BALLAD
On songs such as ANYTIME/A MOMENT LIKE THIS/BEFORE YOUR LOVE. Kelly decides to belt these ones out like Whitney and Mariah in there early days. Very catchy songs and yes I like all three very much.
And now onto face Three (My Fav)
THE ROCK CHICK
On the other songs MISS INDEPENDANT/LOW/JUST MISSED THE TRAIN/BEAUTIFUL DISASTER/YOU THOUGHT WRONG. Kelly goes all rock with punchy chouruses and guitar solo's Reminicent of Pink and Christina in there rock moments. These songs are by far for me the best on this album.
Anyway a good buy but if its a soul diva your looking for pickings are sparse here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget American Idol, Try World Idol!, 14 July 2003
This review is from: Thankful (Audio CD)
Kelly Clarkson was the winner of American Idol in the US and this album beat 50 Cent to the top spot in its first week. 12 fantastic tracks including debut single Miss Independent and the AA Side A Moment Like This/Before Your Love which is the biggest selling single by a female solo atrtist in the US for 10 years!
The album shows that unlike other 'Pop Idols', Kelly can do it and I would recommend this album for anyone.
The album has a pop rock feel with heartfelt ballads and fantastic feel good rock songs. Miss Independent and You Thought Wrong ft. Tamyra Gray are the best tracks on the album in terms of upbeat rock tracks. In the ballads, nothing can beat Anytime. The track features in From Justin To Kelly: With Love the movie which Kelly and runner-up Justin Guarini star in.
The album will be one of the big sellers of 2003 and Kelly will certainly be around for years to come with stuff like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thankful
Thankful by Kelly Clarkson (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews