Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars79
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: VinylChange
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on 21 March 2011
'Get your Ya Ya's Out' is one of the finest documents of a band at the top of its game ever recorded. Following the death of Brian Jones, and his replacement by Mick Taylor, the US tour that this comes from marked the beginning of a new era for the Stones, during which they created their best music. The appearance of Mick Taylor in the band gave it a whole new direction. Keith Richards was able to cement his position as the greatest rhythm guitarist EVER, and the rest, as they say, is history. 'Ya Ya's' captures the very essence of what the Stones were about. There isn't a bad track here, but highlights, for me at any rate, are 'Love in Vain' and the quite extraordinary 'Midnight Rambler', both of which demonstrate the incredible interplay between the strengthened guitar lineup. However, frontmen by themselves 'do not a band make', and the tightness of the Watts/Wyman rhythm section should not be underestimated, as they give the rest of the band the strongest bedrock in the business to build on. On the whole, a stunning achievement, and one to which I, for one, will return to frequently in the future.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 2 April 2007
For a group renowned worldwide as 'the greatest rock 'n' roll band in the world' the Stones have struggled to show much in the way of evidence in their released live output, however i'm pleased to say 'Get Yer Ya Yas Out!' proves to be a happy exception.

The 1969 tour was far more sophisticated than the Stones earlier tours where the audience had come as much to hear the Stones perform as to scream. The level of sophistication in the Stones performance was improved no end with the arrival of virtuoso guitarist Mick Taylor as well as the Stones having a better sound system.

'Get Yer Ya Yas Out!' shows the Stones as they are nearing their peak as live performers and mixed in with the many really good performances are a few truly great ones - my favourite, perhaps, being 'Sympathy For The Devil' which has a different arrangement to the studio version yet is no less effective. Keith Richards and Mick Taylor's playing here is truly memorable with their guitar interplay as much of their sound has a harder rock approach than had been typical of the Stones up until this point. Taylor's stinging lead on 'Stray Cat Blues' is another perfect example along with the delicate 'Love In Vain'. The two Chuck Berry covers 'Carol' and 'Little Queenie' are slowed down a little to reveal a real swagger in their delivery which is typically the essence of the classic Stones sound. Add to these great versions of 'Jumpin' Jack Flash', 'Street Fighting Man' and the dextrous 'Midnight Rambler' and it's really hard to go wrong.

I'm not entirely in agreement with the view that 'Get Yer Ya Yas Out!' shows the Stones at their absolute peak however, especially in light of the many live Stones bootlegs which have been circulating over the years. There has been a lot of overdubbing on many of the songs and a few do sound considerably better in the 'Gimmie Shelter' film from the same concert performances ('Jumpin' Jack Flash' for example). Also the Stones are a little 'stiffer' sounding on this tour than some of the later Mick Taylor period tours (particuarly 1972-73) when they really did exemplify the essence of rock 'n' roll.

However, what 'Get Yer Ya Ya Out!' proves is that by 1969 the Stones live experience was just as unique as their run of classic albums from this same period and the purpose of these performances were not really about recreating what was achieved in the studio. The Stones live sound was far removed from their studio sound with the emphasis being on a more hard edged bluesy rock feel with different arrangements (unlike in more recent years) and this makes for some fascinating listening. These live versions offer some nice alternatives.

No other (officially) released live Stones album comes close, although there are a few concert performances hiding in the vaults which could give 'Get Yer Ya Yas Out! a good run for its money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on 2 December 2009
Sound quality is awesome espically the bonus material with an amazing version of Under My Thumb/I'm free - as usual we want more from the recorded two nights!
The BB King and Ike & Tina Turner disc offers a standard BB King set with great sound quality but what a true delight is the Ike and Tina set - just wonderful.
The DVD at around 30 minutes is an interesting if dispensible addition (you have to feel sorry for Jack the donkey stuck out on newly finished M5 in the cold and wet) but the whole box is nicely packaged, first rate sound quality, the stones billed as the greatest rock n' roll band in the world delivering a fine performance. And for once well done ABKCO!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
on 6 January 2010
November 27th/28th, 1969. The Rolling Stones take to the stage at New York's Madison Square Garden and blow the house down with a set that drew heavily from their most recent albums, BEGGARS BANQUET and LET IT BLEED. The tapes from the shows produced certainly one of the greatest live albums ever made and, with this release, it just got even better.

The sets by B.B. King and Ike and Tina Turner got the evenings' entertainment off to great start. To me, B.B. King sounds on great form, while hearing Tina Turner sing the likes of 'Son Of A Preacher Man' and The Beatles' 'Come Together' is a real treat indeed. As for the Stones themselves, well, 'Midnight Rambler' is awesome and arguably the highlight of the original album, perhaps followed closely by a really funky 'Sympathy For The Devil'. Of the outtakes contained on disc two, I particularly enjoyed Mick and Keith doing the acoustic 'Prodigal Son' justice with a really punchy performance.

The DVD is composed of unused footage from the movie GIMME SHELTER but this is far from disposable; the rendition of 'Prodigal Son' captured here is lovely as Keith finishes the song too early which prompts a reaction of surprise from Mick! It's a lovely moment as the two share a giggle in recognition of the mistake.

Finally, the hardback book contained in the box is a nice souvenir, containing personal recollections from, among others, the photographer Ethan Russell, a reproduction of the unused sleeve design for GET YER YA-YA'S OUT! and a typically florid contemporary review of the LP from that late, great music critic Lester Bangs.

All in all, this a lovely time capsule of The Rolling Stones at a performing peak and, if you start by playing the support sets by B.B King and Tina Turner on disc three first, it's the closest you'll ever get to accurately re-living two nights of great music at the end of the 1960s.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 24 August 2007
This really is probably the best OFFICIAL live stones album you'll hear,but then I'm biased given I love the stones more bluesy sound this era encompassed. Mick Taylor's playing is sublime,just listen to the slide on Love In Vain , its worth buying for this alone BUT the best live album? NO!!. Do yourself a favour, buy this,whet your appetite , then as already mentioned search out the "unofficial" concerts, namely " Brussels Affair 1973", a soundboard quality bootleg where Mick has REALLY settled in and stamped his distinctive style on what is now a very tight and awesome sounding band,you will not believe how good this sounds !! (with apologies to Ronnie).Go on ,do yourself a favour ,get on ebay now!!!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 14 December 2009
I did not used to be such a fan of live albums. I guess because when I grew up I could never afford to buy many LPs so those that I and my friends had were played over and over and so I got accustomed to the studio version as a fixed thing. Only after I broadened my collection and got more heavily into jazz and other more improvised music did I become happy with live albums.

I did like the Stone on film, Gimme Shelter and other live performances but there was something about live albums that took me some time to come around to and I find the recent DVD of Shine a Light much more satisfying than the CD soundtrack album.

Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! is a true masterpiece, although I have often worried about the apostrophe.

I first bought my own copy of this album on the original so called remastered CD which is okay but the packaging is ugly with the horrible black strip at the foot with the red writing and the sound quality is okay, much better than the first post Decca Stones CDs.This new version sounds great and the bonus track by the Stones are a real treat.

It is also great to hear the B.B.King and Ike an Tina Turner songs which demonstrate the context of this period of the band's career well. The Stones would not have had a career without the inspiration and music of these artists and their peers.

The DVD footage is the icing on an already rich cake. If you have fond memories of the Stones from your youth or just want to see the Greatest Rock and Roll Band in the World at a time when that title was universally acknowledged then this is the package to get and you should get it while you can.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 15 July 2000
This album rates as one the best live albums ever. The songs on it are all superbly played and there is hardly a weak link to be found in any of the tracks. I would recomend this to even the casual Stones fan because it is an L.P which shows them at their best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 7 June 2004
Track Listings:
1. Jumpin' Jack Flash 6. Sympathy for the devil
2. Carol 7. Live with me
3. Stray cat blues 8. Little Queenie
4. Love in vain 9. Honky tonk women
5. Midnight rambler 10. Street fighting man
This CD is the Rolling Stones in concert in 1969 at the end of their first proper tour for nearly three years, and these live versions are generally better than their studio counterparts. Mick Taylor, who plays some beautiful blues licks, has replaced Brian Jones on guitar; Keith Richards also plays some brilliant solos, especially on the two Chuck Berry songs. Mick Jagger sings, as opposed to the "shouting" on some later live albums. Charlie and Bill are, of course, irreplaceable. This album is one of the best live albums around, along with The Who's "Live At Leeds" and Deep Purple's "Made In Japan".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 7 November 2003
This is the best chance to hear what the stones were like live in the 60's (except for the DVD, 'stones in the park') as the sound on 'got live if you want it' is not too good. To be totally honest i think this is one of the best live Stones shows ever recorded. It is very different to more recent live albums such as 'No Security' as it is totally raw. No backing singers, no jazz band, just the band on stage playing their classics.
Recorded in 1969, Mick Taylor replaces Brian Jones and does a fantastic job.
The highlight, in my opinion, is the excellent version of 'Love in vain'.
They perform a version of 'Sympathy for the Devil' which is very different from more recent and they finish off with 'street fighting man'.
Although only ten songs long, it is a true classic. Ofcourse the sound is not as good as newer live albums but what the hell. It Rocks!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 3 January 2010
Really great re-mastered CD ... the original was good if you are a stones' fan (or not) but on this you can hear every instrument with clarity. A good buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Let It Bleed
Let It Bleed by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2006)

Beggars Banquet
Beggars Banquet by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2006)

Aftermath by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2006)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.