Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless and still number 1
Well, what can I say? This is one of the very few TV shows I could happily sit and watch continually all day. Red Dwarf is a cult classic and series 4 is the best of the 4 released so far.
I loved every episode on the DVD so I can't say which was my favourite, but each episode has a lot of cracking on liners.
Holy is still female, Lister is still a slob, the Cat...
Published on 15 Mar 2004

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great service...shame about the product
Just to be clear, the product as in the red dwarf dvd's are themselves great and the delivery and packaging also...its just they don't match up to the merchants review of the item, claiming it contains more material than it actually does. I have since found these same description mistakes for the same product on a few other sites. I'm sure its an honest mistake and have...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Lowgun


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Smeggin' wonderful!, 4 Sep 2010
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
As a big Red Dwarf fan I can only praise them for this top quality comedy thats got me through many a rainy day and cheered me up on those 'down days'.

If you're a fan of dry-wit British comedy that doesn't take itself too seriously check this out, you won't be disappointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smeging brilliant, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Craig Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Red Dwarf, season 4 lives up to what you would expect from a classic sit-coms.
in my opinion the only real program on TV every recorded that can make science fiction funny.
As the title suggests this can only be described as "Smeging brilliant" well worth the buy if you're a red dwarf fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic season, 16 Nov 2009
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The fourth season of Red Dwarf is interesting in that it is the only one without any major format changes. Some of the behind-the-scenes changes were quite big, most notably the moving of production from Manchester to the far superior Shepperton Studios near London, but otherwise the status quo from Season 3 remains unchanged.

The season begins with Camille, starting a brief two-year tradition resulting from the season beginning on Valentine's Day. In this episode Kryten recovers a female mechanoid named Camille from a wreck, but once back on Red Dwarf it's clear things aren't as they appear, as Rimmer sees Camille as a hologram and Lister sees a human woman. As for the Cat...I'll let that remain a surprise, as it's a classic Red Dwarf moment. It's quite a funny episode based around Casablanca, featuring some ripe misquoting of dialogue and some corny lines, but at the heart of it is some very interesting character development for Kryten, putting him back more or less where he was at the end of his first episode in Season 2, which was probably overdue.

The second episode, DNA, continues the theme of basing an episode around a major SF concept. In this episode the crew discovers a machine that can alter DNA and transform any biological entity into any other one. The upshot of this is that Kryten (whose brain is based on organic technology) gets transformed into a human. Cue some rather Star Trek: The Next Generation Data-esque musings on the nature of humanity and some rather more traditional Red Dwarf musings on how Kryten can cope with his new human sexual organs. This plot thread, though amusing, is thankfully cut short by a far funnier sequence where Lister ill-advisedly runs his mutton vindaloo through the DNA machine, resulting in the creation of a ravaging curry monster.

In Justice a long-standing plot hole is addressed: we learned in Season 1 that Rimmer was (albeit inadvertently) responsible for the accident that wiped out the crew of the Red Dwarf, but this was never really developed. This episode makes up for it when the crew visit an abandoned space prison only for the controlling AI to determine that Rimmer must stand trial for his crime, leading to a classic sequence where Kryten has to prove that Rimmer is innocent by virtue of being an incompetent, deranged and self-delusional half-wit ("If I have full access to your personal date files, I could perhaps put together a winning case by maybe lunchtime,"). This is another very solid episode, notable in the Red Dwarf mythos for introducing the simulants, a human-built race of psychopathic mass-murdering androids who return to plague our crew in future seasons.

White Hole spins off an idea raised in the second Red Dwarf novel, except there it was a traditional black hole causing problems. The episode is also notable as the second (and last) to feature Holly in a major role as Kryten successfully restores her super-brilliant IQ but in doing so radically shortens her lifespan. Events culminate in Lister being entrusted with the firing of a thermo-nuclear device, which is really not a very good idea...

Dimension Jump is one of the series' bona fide classics, introducing a parallel universe where Arnold 'Ace' Rimmer is a test pilot in the Space Corps Special Service, the best of the best, and is entrusted with piloting a faster-than-reality starship across dimensions. Arriving in 'our' reality he makes contact with the crew of Red Dwarf and is rather taken aback when he discovers that 'our' Arnold Rimmer is a rather different character. This is a great episode because is gets back to scouring Rimmer's backstory and psyche to find out what makes him tick, and it works well with Chris Barrier delivering a barnstorming performance as a super-handsome, heroic incarnation of Rimmer (complete with a Top Gun-esque soundtrack and a rather bizarre catchphrase).

Meltdown is another one of the series' unsung high points. Kryten constructs a matter-transmission device which teleports the crew to a planet thousands of light-years away. However, the planet turns out to be a 'Waxworld' where the wax-droid inhabitants have broken their programming and have divided into two factions fighting an endless war. Cue some brilliant scenes where Rimmer takes command of the 'hero' army and puts the likes of Mahatma Gandhi ("Don't eyeball me, Gandhi! Drop to the floor and give me fifty!"), Pythagoras, Jean-Paul Satre and Stan Laurel through advanced combat training with the help of Kryten and his second-in-command, Sergeant Elvis Presley. Meanwhile, Lister and Cat are captured by Adolf Hitler and forced to witness the (thankfully offscreen) execution of Winnie the Pooh by a firing squad led by Al Capone, before being tortured by Emperor Caligula and Rasputin! Events culminate in an impressive (and ludicrous) battle sequence between the forces of good and evil, with a rather unexpected outcome. A completely barking mad and brilliant episode with some of the show's most enduring quotes.

The fourth season of Red Dwarf doesn't rock the boat and happily continues the formulae from the third season, and as it's a formulae that works, this is not a problem. The characters of Kryten and Rimmer are explored in greater depth, but Lister drops into the background slightly more, becoming more of an observer and the viewers' surrogate stand-in for exposition scenes. The Cat has some great lines and scenes but isn't really focused on much. Holly gets her own episode, but there is already a notable reduction in her lines going on, as again much of the show's exposition goes to Kryten. These problems will become more apparent and will be addressed in the fifth and sixth seasons, but for now remain under control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dwarf IV, 31 Aug 2008
By 
Vicky Welsby (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is worth seeing just for the look on Listers face when a genetically altered Kryten (altered into a human being) hands him a double polaroid of his newly acquired "re-charge socket" and asks "Is this normal?" I don't know what was actually on the photos, but Craig Charles looks genuinely stunned.

The series was going from strength to strength at this point. The writing was genius, the acting superb and the scrapes the characters got into were hilarious.

As with all the other Red Dwarf DVDs the extras are as brilliant as the series itself, good documentries, lots of smeg ups and Chris Barries impression of Kenneth Williams is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Dont Eyeball Me Ghandi!', 4 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Series IV is ye another classic Red Dwarf gem. Still with the brilliance of the original charm, it is a little hampered at times by over-doing it with the special effects. Of course, it;s still brilliant. Camille contains one of the defining moments of Red Dwarf when Lister teaches Kryten how to lie, with the female ardvark. DNA is legendary when Lister's food comes back to haunt the crew, and Justice is another stella episode as Rimmer faces his 'crimes'. The show turns down a little with Whitehole, despite the Toaster. Dimension jump overall is not a brilliant episode but is rescued by Rimmer as he could have been. The series ends on a high with Meltdown, with Rimmer's own Dirty Dozen!
A great series all in all, SMMMMEEEEE HEEEEEE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The fourth series is far from the best, but is still funny, 21 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
While Series 3 was a vast improvement on Series 1 and 2 (if only for production design and character development), Series 4 regresses slightly into "baddie" mode, typical of sequels. For some reason the writers fall back onto "Red Dwarf crew vs the monster/baddie" a little too often for comfort. However that doesn't remove the hilarity from some of the best episode of Red Dwarf, "White Hole" and the infamous introduction to "Ace" Rimmer, "Dimension Jump".
This excellent DVD should tide you over until the superior Series 5 and 6 come to light. Enjoy (before it all goes awry in Series 7 & 8)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maaaarvellous!!!, 12 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't really one of the stand out series, but it's still hilarious all the same. You have Lister teaching Kryten how to lie (v. funny), Kryten turning into a human, and the debut of Ace Rimmer, an alternate version of this dimensions Rimmer!!!!! This DVD will definitely be worth buying, and with all the extras planned on the other disc, I doubt you'll be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Space No One Can Hear You Smeg!, 24 Jan 2004
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The Red Dwarf Series keeps moving forward with side spliting pace. The BBC providing more money for this series and quite frankly it shows. The story lines are certainly not lacking as the action and special effects hots up. Look out for the homages. Even the smeg ups will be worth a watch with Chris Barries impression of Kennith Williams (Carry On fame). This is a must buy for 2004, can't wait for series 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Red dwarf 4 in FRENCH, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Well i ordered what seemed to be a normal english DVD as a xmas present for someonr who has it missong from their otherwise full set. It finally arrived yet the DVD cover was in french. Tried tp get it changed/refunded only for seller to close the enquiry as said the dvd is in english language. Very cheesed off as no mention in their description of being French!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great service...shame about the product, 12 May 2011
This review is from: Red Dwarf Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Just to be clear, the product as in the red dwarf dvd's are themselves great and the delivery and packaging also...its just they don't match up to the merchants review of the item, claiming it contains more material than it actually does. I have since found these same description mistakes for the same product on a few other sites. I'm sure its an honest mistake and have since replaced these dvd's. All i ask is that the review is amended asap so other customers don't make the same mistake i did. Also, it would be nice if reviews displayed alongside products like these actually applied to the item and not a similar but entirely different one somewhere else on the site....it can be very misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD]
Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] by Ed Bye (DVD - 2004)
3.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews