Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless and still number 1
Well, what can I say? This is one of the very few TV shows I could happily sit and watch continually all day. Red Dwarf is a cult classic and series 4 is the best of the 4 released so far.
I loved every episode on the DVD so I can't say which was my favourite, but each episode has a lot of cracking on liners.
Holy is still female, Lister is still a slob, the Cat...
Published on 15 Mar. 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars red dwarf is a good series but not my top one sorry
an ok series. red dwarf is a good series but not my top one sorry.
Published 11 months ago by X_Hannah_X


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Smeeee-Heeeeeee, 14 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Series 4 of Red Dwarf originally had gone under my nose, i had never seen any of the episodes on the tele, but i found that this series cemented Rob Grant and Doug Naylor's status as one of the greatest comedy writers of all time.
The characters have certainly improved in this series, the relationship between Rimmer and Lister is much tighter (due to relationship between Chris and Craig in real life) and Kryten is no longer just a side character for the others to communicate with. This was also the series to introduce Ace Rimmer, in an episode that in my opinion was much better than his return in series VII.
Each episode has a much more deeper plot this time around, here's a review of each episode.
Camille - A story of love and desire, yes its that old cliche. The opening scene where Lister teaches Kryten to lie is one of the most memorable moments in that series. Its a simple and brilliant opening episode.
D.N.A. - Kryten gets turned into a human. I love the double polaroid scene, i won't mention why it is called that, but its well played.
Justice - Rimmer gets imprisoned for the deaths of Red Dwarf crew. This is possibly the best episode of the series, Kryten's sarcastic defence of Rimmer, the space-mumps scene (look out for the Cat's reaction when they burst)and the fight at the end.
White Hole - Holly gets turned into a genius. I love talkie toaster in this episode, and i think this was possibly Hattie Haydridge's biggest episode.
Dimension Jump - Ace Rimmer arrives from another dimension. Chris Barrie's portrayal as a James Bond style space hero is so cool and partly annoying that its an instant classic. An all time classic episode
Meltdown - The Red Dwarf Posse get stuck in Waxworld. I didn't this episode to be that good. If only for Chris Barrie's performance this isn't a particular good way to end the series.
The bonus features are back once again, with a great documentary on series 4, smeg ups, deleted scenes, a Lurve featurette, and not forgetting the cast commentaries for all six episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Do you think I'M attractive?", 18 Feb. 2004
By 
Mr. S. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Quotable lines for geeks, special effects that were actually special (mostly), and some of the most highly rated episodes made. Personally, I love the sci-fi driven stories over the character driven ones, and so Red Dwarf's quality went up and up in my opinion from hereon in.
The BBC just keep on getting better and better at producing these things, and this is no exception. The episodes themselves are taken from the original master copies and are a little degraded as a result (a few sound and image glitches here and there) but they're still ten times better than their VHS counterparts (not a difficult feat). The annoying extras menu system has been tweaked so you can view a text only menu (Thank God - the series three extras menu didn't work on my DVD player!)
The only downside to this collection is the smeg ups. To get a 12 rating they had to put digitalised blurring over the mouths of the actors as they say naughty words. This takes away the humour completely (not that I found them particularly funny to begin with). But overall the episodes and the extras are just wonderful. She rides!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly excellent series, 20 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Some situation comedies live or die by their inventiveness ... and Red Dwarf is certainly one such.

The problem with many is that the inventiveness "fails" as one series becomes two, then three, then five, etc. With Red Dwarf this simply doesn't happen. I have got eight series of this sitcom on DVD (and this review applies to, and will be submitted on, all eight) and the eigth is every bit as superb as the first.

I unhesitatingly recommend Red Dwarf to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars always great, 20 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
always a first class comedy now at series 4 dvd and as with previous dvds packed with extras such as a cast comedy which is worth a listen to plus a good making off vid plus many other extras though for a dvd a commentary i think it would be a good idea to have a fan asking some questions during it (there are many questions i would have liked to ask at certain points) but still its very funny and worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smegtastic!, 29 July 2006
By 
Dark Jimbo (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Naylor and Grant seemed to delight in both challenging themselves and subverting viewer expectation every time Dwarf came back to TV screens by ignoring cliffhangers or unexpectedly overhauling the set-up - but series 4 was one of the rare occassions where Dwarf came back with no new sets; no new cast members; no new costumes. It simply takes the foundation provided by series 3 and runs with it, supremely confident in where it is and what it's doing. It never *quite* hits the heights of the dark, dramatic, groaning-with-ideas, sci-fi-heavy series 5 - yet it's got far more energy and intelligence than the slightly-lacklustre-towards-the-end series 3. It seems to bridge the gap between the two just right. It's got a perfect blend of good ideas, excellent stories and brilliantly executed effects, and also lots of gags, clowning and hilarious character moments.

The episode when Ace Rimmer first appears remains one of the best they've ever done (up there with the likes of Marooned and Back to Reality), and Meltdown, taking place on a planet of 'waxdroids' of a bizarre selection of history's greatest characters, is just gorgeous. Queen Victoria going head-to-toe with Adolf Hitler, machine gun blazing. Santa Claus standing on a landmine. Elvis as a sergeant and Marilyn Monroe in army boots. And let's not mention the fate of Winnie the Pooh...

The music is brilliant, the sets and effects a great step-up from series 3... I'm running out of reasons for it's greatness. Tell you what, buy it, watch it, and find out for yourself just why it's so good. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic season, 16 Nov. 2009
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
The fourth season of Red Dwarf is interesting in that it is the only one without any major format changes. Some of the behind-the-scenes changes were quite big, most notably the moving of production from Manchester to the far superior Shepperton Studios near London, but otherwise the status quo from Season 3 remains unchanged.

The season begins with Camille, starting a brief two-year tradition resulting from the season beginning on Valentine's Day. In this episode Kryten recovers a female mechanoid named Camille from a wreck, but once back on Red Dwarf it's clear things aren't as they appear, as Rimmer sees Camille as a hologram and Lister sees a human woman. As for the Cat...I'll let that remain a surprise, as it's a classic Red Dwarf moment. It's quite a funny episode based around Casablanca, featuring some ripe misquoting of dialogue and some corny lines, but at the heart of it is some very interesting character development for Kryten, putting him back more or less where he was at the end of his first episode in Season 2, which was probably overdue.

The second episode, DNA, continues the theme of basing an episode around a major SF concept. In this episode the crew discovers a machine that can alter DNA and transform any biological entity into any other one. The upshot of this is that Kryten (whose brain is based on organic technology) gets transformed into a human. Cue some rather Star Trek: The Next Generation Data-esque musings on the nature of humanity and some rather more traditional Red Dwarf musings on how Kryten can cope with his new human sexual organs. This plot thread, though amusing, is thankfully cut short by a far funnier sequence where Lister ill-advisedly runs his mutton vindaloo through the DNA machine, resulting in the creation of a ravaging curry monster.

In Justice a long-standing plot hole is addressed: we learned in Season 1 that Rimmer was (albeit inadvertently) responsible for the accident that wiped out the crew of the Red Dwarf, but this was never really developed. This episode makes up for it when the crew visit an abandoned space prison only for the controlling AI to determine that Rimmer must stand trial for his crime, leading to a classic sequence where Kryten has to prove that Rimmer is innocent by virtue of being an incompetent, deranged and self-delusional half-wit ("If I have full access to your personal date files, I could perhaps put together a winning case by maybe lunchtime,"). This is another very solid episode, notable in the Red Dwarf mythos for introducing the simulants, a human-built race of psychopathic mass-murdering androids who return to plague our crew in future seasons.

White Hole spins off an idea raised in the second Red Dwarf novel, except there it was a traditional black hole causing problems. The episode is also notable as the second (and last) to feature Holly in a major role as Kryten successfully restores her super-brilliant IQ but in doing so radically shortens her lifespan. Events culminate in Lister being entrusted with the firing of a thermo-nuclear device, which is really not a very good idea...

Dimension Jump is one of the series' bona fide classics, introducing a parallel universe where Arnold 'Ace' Rimmer is a test pilot in the Space Corps Special Service, the best of the best, and is entrusted with piloting a faster-than-reality starship across dimensions. Arriving in 'our' reality he makes contact with the crew of Red Dwarf and is rather taken aback when he discovers that 'our' Arnold Rimmer is a rather different character. This is a great episode because is gets back to scouring Rimmer's backstory and psyche to find out what makes him tick, and it works well with Chris Barrier delivering a barnstorming performance as a super-handsome, heroic incarnation of Rimmer (complete with a Top Gun-esque soundtrack and a rather bizarre catchphrase).

Meltdown is another one of the series' unsung high points. Kryten constructs a matter-transmission device which teleports the crew to a planet thousands of light-years away. However, the planet turns out to be a 'Waxworld' where the wax-droid inhabitants have broken their programming and have divided into two factions fighting an endless war. Cue some brilliant scenes where Rimmer takes command of the 'hero' army and puts the likes of Mahatma Gandhi ("Don't eyeball me, Gandhi! Drop to the floor and give me fifty!"), Pythagoras, Jean-Paul Satre and Stan Laurel through advanced combat training with the help of Kryten and his second-in-command, Sergeant Elvis Presley. Meanwhile, Lister and Cat are captured by Adolf Hitler and forced to witness the (thankfully offscreen) execution of Winnie the Pooh by a firing squad led by Al Capone, before being tortured by Emperor Caligula and Rasputin! Events culminate in an impressive (and ludicrous) battle sequence between the forces of good and evil, with a rather unexpected outcome. A completely barking mad and brilliant episode with some of the show's most enduring quotes.

The fourth season of Red Dwarf doesn't rock the boat and happily continues the formulae from the third season, and as it's a formulae that works, this is not a problem. The characters of Kryten and Rimmer are explored in greater depth, but Lister drops into the background slightly more, becoming more of an observer and the viewers' surrogate stand-in for exposition scenes. The Cat has some great lines and scenes but isn't really focused on much. Holly gets her own episode, but there is already a notable reduction in her lines going on, as again much of the show's exposition goes to Kryten. These problems will become more apparent and will be addressed in the fifth and sixth seasons, but for now remain under control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a small, off-duty Czechoslovakian traffic warden, 21 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
After a few changes in series 3 (e.g. the full-time introduction of Kryten and the changing of Holly) series 4 of Red Dwarf offers us something of stability with the cast, allowing the comedy to move centre stage; not that the earlier series suffered at all from this. The series opener, Camille, is a brilliant spoof of the film Casablanca, which is heavily referenced. When I first saw this, I found it quite funny, but that was before I had actually seen Casablanca. Now, having seen it, the episode is twice as funny.

At the other end of the series, there is another great film parody, this time of Westworld. In between are 4 episodes that are just downright good. Drawing on a variety of sources, this is Red Dwarf in cruise control. Standing against other episodes over the 8 series, they perhaps don't stand out as the all-time greats (except maybe for Justice) but compared to just about any other comedy series they are a cut above the rest.

What makes Red Dwarf such an enduring creation (remember, this is now 20 years old) is the pathos mixed in with the gags. Although this is set as a bunch of misfits floating in space, and only one of them is technically a living human, the relationships between them maintain a kind of sad desperation of knowing they are unlikely to find further friendships in the universe. This gives us immense empathy for their plight and leaves us rooting for them to win, in spite of their utter failure to deserve victory in any walk of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A White Hole?, 14 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
WARNING!! Review May contain spoilers...

Series IV of Red Dwarf is the best of the lot (as of 2011). It has everything you want from Red Dwarf. It has a Curry Monster!!! It has the first appearence of Ace Rimmer!!! Still following the exploits of the curry loving who just happens to be the last human being alive, space hobo Dave Lister (again played to perfection by Craig Charles), the hologram of his dead bunk mate and verbal sparring partner Arnold Judas Rimmer (Chris Barrie), Danny John-Jules's vain Cat, Robert Llewellyn as the android Kryten and the senile computer Holly (Hattie Hayridge).

The Series doesen't stray from excellence, starting with Camille, where Kryten meets his one true love (played by Llewellyn's actual wife), DNA, where Kryten becomes human and the crew accidently unleash the coolest monster in the universe and the Holly centred (sort of) episode White Hole, which allows Hayridge to really shine as said computer. Series IV is, without a doubt, the best Series of Red Dwarf you could want.

Camille 9/10
DNA 10/10
Justice 10/10
White Hole 10/10
Dimension Jump 10/10
Meltdown 10/10

Overall: 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smoke me a Kipper - these are the Dogs, 28 Jun. 2004
By 
H. Eales "HME" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Pure class - Probably the best comedy series the BBC ever produced - I love Fools and Horses and Vicar of Dibley but red Dwarf has that extra level of one-liners and qoutes that are just un-missable - such as "That's like putting your wedding tackle in a Lions mouth and flicking his love spuds with a wet towel". Red Dwarf takes some getting into. You have to persevere with series 1 and probably 2 before things absolutely take of in series 3-6 which are fabulous. 4 is the best one available at the moment but 5 and 6 will be must haves.
Series 3 sees the fulltime inclusion of Kryten and from then on in the series takes of.
The DVD's are good quality and have some reasonable extras but these I find of limited value.
Get them - at this price the're a steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy, 11 April 2015
By 
Biff - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Highly original and very funny sci-fi comedy.

Some absolutlely hilarious moments - most involving Chris Barrie as the hapless Rimmer.

Well writtena and acted.

A classic comedy which is well worth watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991]
Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] [1991] by Ed Bye (DVD - 2004)
£4.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews