Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless and still number 1
Well, what can I say? This is one of the very few TV shows I could happily sit and watch continually all day. Red Dwarf is a cult classic and series 4 is the best of the 4 released so far.
I loved every episode on the DVD so I can't say which was my favourite, but each episode has a lot of cracking on liners.
Holy is still female, Lister is still a slob, the Cat...
Published on 15 Mar 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars red dwarf is a good series but not my top one sorry
an ok series. red dwarf is a good series but not my top one sorry.
Published 2 months ago by X_Hannah_X


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless and still number 1, 15 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Well, what can I say? This is one of the very few TV shows I could happily sit and watch continually all day. Red Dwarf is a cult classic and series 4 is the best of the 4 released so far.
I loved every episode on the DVD so I can't say which was my favourite, but each episode has a lot of cracking on liners.
Holy is still female, Lister is still a slob, the Cat is still vain, Kryten is still cuaght in his programming and Rimmer,...well...he's still a git (but girls, he's a damn fine looking git!)
Highlights of this series were (without trying to give things away) Kryten's 'new image', Rimmer's 'other half'-what a guy, Holly's regained IQ of 12,000, Lister watching the execution of a well known figure and Rimmer making Ghandi give him 50 press ups. "I'm watching you, Ghandi!"
Episode lists as follows: Camille, DNA, Justice, White Hole, Dimension Jump and Meltdown.
It's great when each new series is realeased but the day will arrive when the final series goes out and that's it. Just make sure, that when that time comes, you've got every other series to look back on. Red Dwarf is a classic show and up there alongside the other more coventional British comedys in terms of superiority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars watch it, 19 Feb 2004
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This is going to be a short review. All I can say is collect the whole series of red dwarf. From the beginnings of a low budget BBC production it has been excellent. You know when a truely good show has emerged when it has almost no budget and is still excellent. Series 4 is no execption. The story lines in series 4 are well developed and complement the characters well. The budget has increased in series 4 and the special effects have improved. This is not, however, am important aspect. The dialogue is as good as in other series and this is what matters. The characters and their personalities are well established. I don't think there is a sane person around who could not find red dwarf hilariously funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm gonna have to buy the whole set now!, 3 Mar 2004
By 
Mr Michael Daubney (A village in England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Oh Dear! It is beginning to look as if I am going to HAVE to buy the entire collection of Red Dwarf DVDs. Having already bought series 1, 2 & 3 it is becoming clear that the spines of the DVD cases will gradually read the Red Dwarf logo.
For my money, Series 4 marked the zenith of the Dwarfers! Whilst I enjoyed previous series, the storylines really gelled together here. My personal favourite episode was DNA, where Kryten eventually achieves his greatest ambition and becomes human. Mind you, the outlook was not good after he achieved a "double-polaroid" after browsing through an electronic app;iance catalogue! In Dimension Jump we meet Ace Rimmer (What A Guy!) who is the antithesis of the Rimmer we know and...er...love(?)
The way the BBC are pumping out the Red Dwarf videos we should not have long to wait before Rimmer becomes a hard light hologram and is able to touch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great but its been a fair old wait, 26 July 2004
By 
Stephen east - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
i did not get into red dwarf till long after the first 6 series
so i missed out on the original vhs releases but then i got the first 3 series on the remastered vhs release the problem was they never got round to any more series so i had to wait for series 1-3 to be released on dvd and FINALLY i have got series 4 it must be said though the extras are fantasic the commentary is done well (i always believe the secret for a good commentary is to have a minimum of two people).With smeg ups and a very good episode by episode talk through with cast and crew its value for money
as far as the actual episodes themselves they are fantastic with many classic scenes well worth buying
i also have a suggestion for commentary on series 5+ perhaps get a fan in to ask questions on the commentary there is alot many people would like to know (like me:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would it make any difference if it was Houmous?, 13 April 2007
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best series of the great 'Red Dwarf', this follows on where 3 left off by supplying the fans with another strong selection of episodes and simply great comedy. Things kick off with 'Camille', an excellent opener which has the most brilliantly bizarre spoof of 'Casablanca' ever seen. Also, the scene where Rimmer and Kryten both think Camille is two different 'types' of woman is probably my favourite in the entire series, "Camille looks like your sister-in-law? What happened, was she involved in some kind of horrific car accident...?!" Just smeg-tastic! Things carry on superbly with DNA, with the crew being hunted by Lister's mutated curry and get even better with the brilliant episode 'Justice' where Rimmer is accused of second-degree murder, owing to his guilt over the deaths of the original Red Dwarf crew. So well played, particularly Kryten's court 'defence' of Rimmer, Lister bringing Rimmer a book to while away his eight consecutive life sentences and Cat helping Lister out in his fight against a rogue simulant (damn that justice field!)

The second half of the series, however, is a bit more patchy and might have encouraged me to drop my rating to four stars if it weren't for the immeasurable episode 'Dimension Jump'. One of the best Red Dwarfs ever, it first introduces us to Ace Rimmer, the original Rimmer's charming and heroic alter-ego from a parallel universe. This boasts far too many good scenes to list entirely, though Captain Bongo's (Rob Llewellyn freed from Kryten's latex) proposal of 'lunch' to Ace still has my sides splitting, no matter how often I watch it! Rimmer's seething resentment of his successful self is also a joy to behold. However, 'White Hole' and 'Meltdown' aren't the best episodes ever made, though they have their moments. 'White Hole' labours a bit over the 'planet-potting' storyline but still contains some cracking lines (think Rimmer's diatribe on the legendary hero, Captain Oates) while 'Meltdown' is a disappointingly weak end to a great series, though good value in itself, if only for Winnie The Pooh's execution!

Still, a series worthy of the full five stars and an essential addition to any fan's 'Red Dwarf' collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, hurry up with the rest you people at the BBC!, 10 Mar 2005
By 
John Corbett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I love Red Dwarf! The first episode I ever saw was Camille (the first of this series), and made an effort to try and watch all the others on TV since then. Due to unpredictable repeat scheduling, that was made difficult, until the great day in history when some clever chap decided to release them all on DVD! But not just regular DVDs. DVDs with production values that rival those of most Hollywood DVDs, winning international awards for their content and presentation! Not to mention the fact that the series itself is an absolute classic!
So why single this particular series out for praise from the 6 currently available at time of print? Well, I admit that other series may be better made. But this one holds an element of nostalgia and I believe it is when Red Dwarf reached it's comedy peak, before venturing more into the territory of science fiction and less on comedy. Classic episodes have to be Meltdown and, most famously, Dimension Jump, in which we get to meet Ace Rimmer, a character who would return again in series 6 (unofficially, but you know it's him) and series 7.
As for the extras, everything you would expect from any DVD is present and correct here. Compared with the sparse offerings from the likes of Only Fools and Horses or Fawlty Towers, this shows what the BBC can do when they put some effort in! We've got:
a feature length documentary with all the principle cast and crew being interviewed;
a huge wealth of deleted scenes, more than you get for your average film, and most of which were trimmed for the sake of time, not due to lack of quality (that half hour episode deadline must be a killer for the writers!);
loads of outtakes with the cast messing around! Especially amusing is Chris Barrie's take on Kenneth Williams;
a themed montage of shots done to the tune of 'dizzy'. Nonsense and uninformative, but a laugh and in the spirit of the show;
numerous other features that I can't quite recall, but the most memorable has to be the Can't Smeg Won't Smeg comic relief special with Ainsley Harriott! This is brilliant and holds up as well as the episodes themselves for comedy value!
A brilliant set, the price is a bargain, you won't be upset you spent your pennies on this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Rimmer Directive 271: No Chance You Metal Bastard...", 25 Oct 2007
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Series IV is where it all began for me. I loved the first two series and I thought the third was okay; but this fourth series shows the show back on form. I enjoyed every episode of this series but White Hole which I believe drags and that toaster does my nut in. However my favourite line from this series is in this episode and is the header of this review.

Camille:

A charming episode and it is always a delight to delve into Kryten's character. The scene where he attempts to insult Rimmer is hilarious.

DNA:

Another classic for two reasons: One for the double Polaroid scene and the other for the 'curry man' and 'superhuman' Lister.

Justice:

The court scene and the simulant attack make this episode an enjoyable fest however the space mumps are unnecessary.

White Hole:

As mentioned, I believe this episode drags on and I abhor that stupid Talkie Toaster. However Holly is the star of the ep but this is no 'Queeg.'

Dimension Jump:

My fourth favourite episode overall and Chris Barrie steals the show and sells it with the marvellous creation: Ace Rimmer.

Meltdown:

Rimmer is at his most evil here and I always feel like slapping him when he is reprimanding Gandhi, however I still like the episode though.

Overrall, Series IV is my third favourite series and a definite improvement from the slightly lackluster final three episodes of Series Three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Smoked Kippers, 5 Mar 2004
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Every TV series DVD should be like this.
If you're a fan, you're going to buy sets like these. Doesn't matter that the odd episode is relatively weak, or even that a whole series may be weaker than others.
You'll buy 'em coz you love 'em all.
And when you do, you ought to be rewarded for your loyalty (epecially if you bought 'em once on VHS. Hey, anyone remember those?)
The extras on Red Dwarf DVDs are second to none. Series Four is no exception. The smeg ups, the bits from Red Dwarf night that you've got on tape but your brother recorded Baywatch over the end of, the sort of short, punchy documentaries that you actually want to watch. Perhaps even more than once.
Product this good demands to be bought. Give in to that feeling...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, glaze my nipple nuts and send me to Alaska, 24 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
As a man whose first Red Dwarf experience came courtesy of "Camille", and still regards it as one of the greatest episodes of any sitcom ever, the DVD release of Series IV was always going to be an exciting event for me. And I wasn't disappointed... Every episode a slice of pure sitcom genius; all really quite different, all brilliantly and intelligently written; all displaying finely the latest stage of the progression which RD has been subject to since its first series, up to the final series VIII. The special effects have now catapulted into the stratosphere and all locations look as space-age as they rightly should. But the most notable feature of this series is watching Red Dwarf's most universally appealing character come into his own. After staying very much on the backburner following his inception in Series III (with the honorable exception of The Last Day), Kryten becomes the wonderfully inept, frank and guilt-ridden mechanoid we know and love him for, and Robert Llewellyn's performance is truly commendable.
Camille, as mentioned, is a highlight of Red Dwarf's entire lifespan, as Kryten discovers and falls in love with a fellow Series 4000 mechanoid aboard an abandoned ship, who is not all she seems... Perfection, from Kryten's timeless, choke-inducing "smeeeeeeeg heeeeeead" opening sequence to the tearjerking Casablanca-spoof ending. A fine episode for the Cat too; some great one-liners and the classic moment when he discovers the identity of his perfect partner...
DNA particularly impresses on the effects front, as a transmogrifier makes Kryten human (cue another classic scene -the double Polaroid) and turning Lister's curry into a psychopathic beast. Kryten's meeting with his infatuous Spare Heads is also a stomach-tickler. More chance for parody occurs when Lister is made into a mini-Robocop for the finale...
Justice sees the crew enter a zone in which it is impossible to commit crimes; this ep again allows Kryten to shine as he delivers a wonderful monologue defending (in a fashion) Rimmer, who is on trial for 1,169 counts of murder. More hilarity ensues with Lister's appalling bout of space mumps, and the final encounter with a crazed simulant, allowing Danny John-Jules' Cat to execute a perfect comic fall.
White Hole gives Hattie Hayridge's Holly a chance in the spotlight as she is given genius-level IQ again, but an error of calculation and the encountering of a space oddity make this much less simple than it should have been. A welcome return here for Talkie Toaster (voiced by the original Kryten actor David Ross, for trivia fans), incredibly predictable but funny nevertheless.
The hilarious Dimension Jump, reportedly Chris Barrie's favourite ever episode, introduces us to Rimmer's cross-dimension equivalent, the testosterone-fuelled superman Ace Rimmer, who visits their universe in time to rescue them from an accident. A great opening sequence set in Ace's dimension - "If you're interested, I'll be in my quarters at lunchtime covered in tiramisalata" and a chance for the regular Rimmer to let rip with biting lines have made this a fan favourite.
Finally, Meltdown, a more controversial Dwarf outing, sees Rimmer's Napoleon complex taken to its literal conclusion as the crew happen upon a waxdroid theme park in the midst of war. Much criticised by fans, it's actually extremely entertaining and thought-provoking, if, at the very least, for the performance of the excellent Elvis impersonator Clayton Mark, and of course for Rimmer ordering Mahatma Gandhi to do fifty press-ups.
The sparkling DVD extras need no introduction - the producers deserve a round of applause for the immense effort made here. Full cast commentary is provided once again - despite frequent periods of silence and occasionally forgetting their facts, the cast are fundamentally a very affable and likable bunch, and it's a joy to hear them rib each other and to laugh so heartily at their best scenes/jokes. Another massive in-depth documentary is included with individual episode details and anecdotes (perhaps a tiny bit too long spent talking about Dimension Jump, though), along with the usual generous helpings of deleted scenes, outtakes and model shots. The "Lurve" clipshow featurette is amusing, as is Holly's history of Ace Rimmer "A Life in Lame", but look out for a special programme from the BBC Red Dwarf Night a few years back, "Can't Smeg, Won't Smeg" which is almost perfectly hilarious in its total anarchy, although I did feel Barrie's Rimmer was somewhat underused (despite he and Duane Dibbley winning).
There really is nothing more to say. Just like all the previous DVD releases, Series IV is an essential purchase and one that, if you're anything like me, will bring the glory days flooding back. Dwarf has never been bad, just sometimes less good; this series represents a time when it was sitcom gold. And how better to commemorate such a time than with this glorious and generous DVD package.
Smoke me a kipper; I'll be back for Series 5...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So what is it?, 11 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
As a die hard Dwarf fan I thought that I could expect the same old jokes that has kept me entertained throughout the last 3 series, And in a lot of ways I was right however there is as much new material in this series as in any of the previous ones! deep story lines laced with 1st rate comedy and enough 1 liners to keep anyone happy. this is guarenteed to give you quote after quote!
Howdie doodley doo!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD]
Red Dwarf: Series 4 [DVD] by Ed Bye (DVD - 2004)
£3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews