Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let me be perfectly honest with you.....
Generals was, one of THE greatest strategy games out there, it had looks, tactics, units and online play! Now, it seems like nothing, pointless. The day this game hit my doorstep, I was the happiest man alive. This is simply, the ultimate inprovement to the ultimate strategy game. There are more units, more missions, loads more maps, and, well, loads more!
And, you...
Published on 9 Oct 2003 by Jay

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars not happy!
unfortunately will not install, not happy!
Published 15 days ago by Mr Tim Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let me be perfectly honest with you....., 9 Oct 2003
By 
Jay (So'ton UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
Generals was, one of THE greatest strategy games out there, it had looks, tactics, units and online play! Now, it seems like nothing, pointless. The day this game hit my doorstep, I was the happiest man alive. This is simply, the ultimate inprovement to the ultimate strategy game. There are more units, more missions, loads more maps, and, well, loads more!
And, you know that whole, there are nine generals thing? Well it REALLY works. For the first time since "Red Alert 2", there is the option to choose an army more suited to your style! Liked that american airforce? There's a general with raptors that could win battles single handedly, don't forget combat chinooks! Seeing as they don't seem to be listed anywhere else, here are the generals:
USA:
Air Force General
Super Weapon General
Laser General
CHINA:
Tank General
Infantry General
Nuke General
GLA:
Stealth General
Demolition General
Toxin general
And if your thinking of an outrageous unit for one of them, It's probably there! Toxin rebels (GLA), Helix helicopter (CHINA), Aurora Alphas (USA) It's all there
Plus, a million upgrades, Tactical MiG Nukes, Countermeasures (a deterrant of missiles), All buildings stealth to radar. All there.
So, the long and short of it is, If you liked the first game, GET THIS! IT'S A BARGAIN! Seriously, for it to be worth it's money it'd have to be about 50 quid! One of the most vital things is the online play, so ensure a solid online connection, you'll be there for a while!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Command & Conquer Zero Hour Review, 18 Jun 2004
This review is from: Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
Zero Hour is an expansion pack for Generals but it has many new things so it looks like a whole new game. You can choose one of the nine generals, with their different powers, but if you don't want that you can choose original armies (USA, China and GLA) too, which has even more units than C&C:Generals. The multiplayer system attracts online gamers with the honors & ladder system. The system is a bit complicated so I'll not explain it here. If you like Generals you'll like this game, and if you have a fast Internet connection and like multiplayer games you MUST buy this game. It's just a "perfect" game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Expansion, 29 Oct 2003
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
Zero Hour bucks the recent trend by EA in being a great value expansion pack with plenty to offer. It has three new campaigns (one for the US, Chinese & GLA), each consisting of five missions, the new Generals Challenge mode, plenty of new units for all sides and enhancements to standard gameplay as well as multiplayer.
The campaigns feature the same varied missions as the original game and are good fun. They also give you the opportunity to get to grips with the new units, such as the US Sentry Drones, Chinese Helix attack helicopter and GLA scout bikes. Naval forces are also featured, something lacking from Generals itself, and are a welcome addition (especially the US aircraft carrier).
The new Generals Challenge allows you to take the role of a specialist general and fight a battle with another CPU general. The specialities you can choose include air power, base defence and chemical weapons. This adds a great new dimension to gameplay as you have to fight to your force's strengths if you want to win.
The subtle changes to the controls, gameplay, etc. are not all noticeable but polish the game nicely. More polish is added by the cutscenes that now feature through the campaigns, with news footage featuring actors linking together the story, rather than just a voiceover.
Zero Hour is fantastic value, and if you loved C&C Generals, this is a no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best addon for a C&C game yet, 5 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
If you enjoyed generals your going to love this addon, the new weapons are brilliant and the generals make learning a certain strategy even more important. although there are only 9 new generals (3 per side) you can still play as the basic sides with most of the new units ( however many generals points units and upgrades are only available through certain generals ) meaning that there is now basically 12 sides to choose from, and although they share many of the same units - the unique strategies of each general will mean they are stronger and weaker in certain areas than others, you must learn these if you wish to use the general well but more importantly if you want to be able to defeat them.
There are 1 or 2 balance issues which i feel need solving hence the reason i gave it 4 stars instead of 5 but these are no major problem, the new units and generals make it worth buying this pack alone - but throw in 25 brand new multi-player maps ( 26 now the team have started realeasing them ) and 15 mew 1 player missions with a decent story line you can really ask for much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expansion of the year?, 7 Oct 2003
By 
T. Barker "Bisler" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
As we're approaching the end of 2003 - I've looked back at all the expansion packs I've purchased and I can easily say that this is the best. It puts other expansion packs to shame.
For a start, the new campaigns are great. They are much more entertaining than the usual tedious campaigns, where you go through levels destroying the same things over and over again. Controlling an aircraft carrier with over 20 raptors is great fun. The cinematic sequences are great as well - plenty of explosions for you to go "wow" at...
Also included is the new Challenge Mode.. I'm more of an online player - but this is great for singe players. I won't go into to much detail but there are now generals for each team with unique units/abilities e.t.c (You can choose them also on Skirmish and Online)... For example, choosing the US LASER General lets you build Laser Turrets and other various laser upgrades and buildings. However, each General has a major disadvantage, which is why you can still play as the normal teams. As an example, The Air force General can build no heavy ground tanks. In Challenge mode you pick a general and have to defeat all other generals. This is a GREAT idea, as it allows even more tactics/strategies and possibilities to online play (and skirmish games)
Anyway, that's what you can learn from reading the packet...
I am really impressed; anyone who has Generals and plays it regularly should buy this. Even people who play loads of Skirmish Games, the AI are amazing - I guarantee that they will kick your a$$. The new upgrades and super weapons are awesome. I won't include loads of spoilers but one of them is a Nuclear Migs upgrade! And the games just has a new feel, there are so many small things that you'll notice when playing - Such as aeroplanes flying over and cars driving about.
For this price, the expansion is worth every penny. Improving the game in virtually ALL aspects. Extremely fun, it definitely WON'T be a game box that'll sit on the shelf from day 1...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 8 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game is amazing, the graphics are good and the gameplay is intense. Please note that when you buy the game, don't buy it for the minimum specs listed, if you buy the game for a PC with the minimum specs then you will not enjoy as much! You need at least 512 ram and a good 1.2 ghz to play it!
But great game and amazing graphics, well worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What C&C Generals should have been...., 8 Oct 2003
This review is from: Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
Call me cynical, but a lot of the features within Zero Hour should have been within the original C&C Generals. Whether or not Zero Hour is another blatant attempt to line the coffers of EA or is a genuine response to some of the fans' wish lists is arguable. What is clear however is that Zero Hour is a very welcome addition to the C&C Generals franchise.
I was never one for playing the single player campaigns on the original C&CG. Instead, I much preferred the skirmish levels in which you picked a side, a map and a number of skilled (or unskilled if you prefer) CPU controlled opponents. C&CG ZH gives you the skirmish mode yet again, but adds a brilliant Challenge option, where you play against one general, defeat him (or her) and then go onto the next until all eight are defeated.
To make a total of nine generals to choose from, the developers have made three 'alternatives' to each side. You still have the Americans, GLA and Chinese, but each side has three different generals, each with their own pros and cons. This extends the longetivity of the game considerably as you always try to find different combinations of generals to both play as and play against.
Finally, the balance of the CPU controlled AI is very nicely coordinated. Ramp up the difficulty to maximum and these guys are tough opponents. Still too easy for you? Try teaming some of them up against you! Yet for new starters, the easy setting makes a nice, steady entrance for you to get to grips with the game, making you learn and slowly appreciate the consequences of building units and structures in the right order.
And this is where C&CG ZH really comes into its own. Unlike the ludicrious Warcraft 3, where the only option of winning is to churn out units and even more units, C&CG ZH can be far more rewarding in succeeding with fewer units, used in the right place and time.
All told, a very worthwhile an worthy package to the C&C Generals lineage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars C&C Generals: Zero Hour, 1 Oct 2003
This review is from: Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
This is an excellent Expansion Pack for Generals. There are lots of improvements to the original game including the new Generals Challenge mode which, depending on which general you choose can be quite hard. There are also lots of new multiplayer maps, and some modifications to the existing ones. The new units included in the pack don't really have much of an effect in the single player games, but in multiplayer and the generals challenge mode they can be quite helpful.
e.g. Emperor Overlord, King Raptor, Helix (Chinese Helicopter)
As well as new units there are some new buildings like the Internet Centre and Firebase. There are also some graphical improvements in the game to make the textures of the land and buildings a bit better.
I don't have any real complaints about Zero Hour, however I would have liked more units for the single player mode because you can only get 3 extra. I would also have liked to have an entirely new side in the game. Apart from these slight complaints the expansion is nearly perfect.
Anyone that has Generals should by this because it's great. If you don't have Generals then buy it and then buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey its good fun, 23 May 2006
By 
W. Ross (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
I just had to post any refer to the person who above said this game does not run on a computer running Xp and service pack 2, Simply it does. I have had this game a couple of days now i got it with the Double pack including Generals itself. I installed both Generals and the Zero Hour expansion and have been enjoying it since i got it. Currently playing through the single player i can say it is good fun. I have not had a go with the skirmish mode so i could not comment on that. But the game so far has got me coming back for more. I will be playing through all the different single player campaigns before having a go with the skirmish or multiplayer options. At the price this and the generals double pack comes at if you have the money you should get the double pack as it is a bargain! If you just have Generals then i would recommend this expansion to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Generals to the next level, 13 Oct 2003
This review is from: Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
With 30 new units, waves of new missions for all three teams and a new gameplay section: Generals Challenge, this expansion pack to command and conquer generals is everything mising from the last generals. For example you can unleash the power of the U.S navy (something that was believed to have been missing from the original game) in an exciting new format.
I strongly recommend this game to all C+C fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD)
Command & Conquer: Generals - Zero Hour Expansion Pack (PC CD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
Used & New from: £2.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews