Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Prince Is Tops, 19 Dec 2011
By 
I. Zaneres (west midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Borodin: Prince Igor - The Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
First impression is that the set is brilliant, the picture sharp and clear, and the sound quality excellent. This is reinforced as one progresses through the many scene changes throughout the opera. The costumes also seem to have no expense spared on them.
The chorus are in very good voice in their many roles I am very impressed.
Putilin has a rich baritone voice, but Gorchakova has a bright wide ranging voice that takes some beating. Akimov as Vladimir is a clear and true tenor, whilst Aleksashkin produces just a hint of malevolence from his opening notes.
I must confess that from my younger days I was hooked on the melodies as they had been pinched for Kismet.
Act two starts well with Pavlovskoya and the Polovtsian maidens, it gets even better with Borodina, her seductive voice is enough to stop any man from going home. She acts brilliantly with her eyes as well.
Vaneev is visually, and orally an excellent Khan, he acts this part really well.
The highlight of this act, if not the whole opera is the excitingly sung and danced Polovtsian dances, one runs out of superlatives , but Bravo chorus!
In act two Aleksashkin comes into his own whilst extoling the pleasures of his court, assisted by the comedy duo of the Gudok players. Gorchakova carries one away again with her wonderful voice.
Act three sees Vaneev in boastfull mood of his war waging experiences, whilst Igor escapes, and in a more mellow moment approves the union of Vladimeer and Konchakova.
Act four rounds off the story with the return of Igor, but not before Gorchakova thrills again with the opening lament.
The comprehensive accompanying notes give all the synopses and timings, plus the history of how the work came to be. I found this very interesting and marvel at its chequered development to this most entertaining work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince Igor, 18 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borodin: Prince Igor - The Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
All I can say is that this is a first class performance. Everything about it is superb: the singing,the dancing, the scenes & the wonderful music by Borodin.
I can really recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It, 28 Jun 2010
By 
Satish Kamath (India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Borodin: Prince Igor - The Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
There were some horrible reviews in the US edition of Amazon that put off my decision to go in for this one. Thank god many of the armchair critics like me are wrong many a time. People have criticized this production for stuff like 'old sets', costumes and even the way some characters, especially the Khan, has been portrayed. I find the costumes and make-up quite adequate and authentic, if one were to see the pics of these in various encyclopedias and so on. I wonder if that critic has seen a period caricature of Kublai Khan or even Gengiz Khan. They have both such mustaches as well as earrings.

Anyone who knows the more popular Polovtzian Dances and the lesser known but fabulous overture composed by Glazunov incorporating many themes from this opera, can enjoy it without any problems.

One of the people who wrote here has problems with the dancers. I know that Kirov (Actually Mariyinksky) could and would do much better if the dances were performed separately for a DVD on ballet or on stage. But here, the rustic and crude nature of the Polovtzis is maintained well by lack of mechanical precision and one can see the dancers having a good time and so did I.

This production has some of the best singers, dancers and a great conductor. It has been shot quite well, and is never found wanting in its sound track. What more does one want in an Opera DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince Igor, 13 Aug 2008
By 
JOHN PILKINGTON "Fighter" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borodin: Prince Igor - The Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
A really excellent production of this opera and of which so many of us are familiar with the dances but little else. The Khan looks as everyone one would expect and Prince Igor acts the part of a highly honroable Prince to perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grand Opera at best., 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borodin: Prince Igor - The Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
Excellent production in Grand Opera style.The opera has lots of beautiful choir singing and soloists are all in great form.The ballet was most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prince Igor, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borodin: Prince Igor - The Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
This was a good production with costumes and sets contemporary to the period. Both orchesstra and singers performed well. there is much to recommend this opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, 26 April 2010
By 
C. K. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borodin: Prince Igor - The Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is opera on a grand scale. The sets and the singing are excellent as is the huge orchestra. I was not so impressed small dance sequence though. I have visited this theatre in St. Petersburg for a performance of Swan Lake and found the performers less polished than those in Moscow. Do not let this put you off from purchasing this spectacular opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an exceptional production, 17 Jan 2012
By 
James H. Mehaffey (florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borodin: Prince Igor - The Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
A beautiful dvd like most operas produced in Russia It is fortunate they never produce the Euro trash coming out of Zurich, Germany and Flanders and very often Paris. I hope that the Met and La Scala continue to produce first rate productions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews