Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
35
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2000
Yes this has to be THE christmas album. Speaking as one who has bought every Crimbo disc ever made, Sinatra's essential recording has never dated on any of the tracks listed here. furthermore, this is the original listings album inclusive of one beautiful alternate take of Christmas waltz. If you ever ever get ONE christmas album to keep or give as a present this is the one. It is neatly divided into 2 sections, the first one is consisting of classic american tunes such as Jingle bells (wonderfully jazzy little number) and The christmas waltz (with frank wishing you all a Merry Christmas at the end) and also, a number written by him Mistletoe and Holly which manages to be charming and as lovely as any of his classics such as Young at heart.... The second has a more "classical" feel with Little town o bethleem and others... Please do not hesitate in getting this, you won't be let down. And when you listen to ityou will know Xmas has finally arrived in your home....Highly, highly recommended
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2002
If you like Sinatra or even if you don't, it is difficult not to enjoy this CD. this is Sinatra at his peak with the Big Band style backing. Not too smaltzy, his voice still has the cutting edge (in his later years his voice became perhaps TOO smooth). At the price this CD is a steal.
Ray Hughes
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2000
A lovely album ( abit like an old photo album...) Some of it is good, really really good, heart stopping and so well sung ( as only Sinatra could) and some of it may not have grown old as lovely as we wish it had !!!!! But it remains a great snapshot of Xmas and families, and snow, and misteletoe, and cookies baking in the kitchen, and wonderful musical aromas to excite our ears and nose..... This album will be played for many years to come if not by you, by your children when Sinatra becomes hip again... and he will.....
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
The orchestra directed by the wonderful Gordon Jenkins (those signature lush, quirky arrangements for the strings) mark this album out for me ... beautifully played, great musicianship .... recorded in early 60s (or late 50s??), the audio quality on my high spec hi-fi is very good indeed .... Sinatra does the business!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
The previous CD I had was left behind when we moved house, and I've had to get into the Christmas spirit without it for a couple of years. Now, I have managed to find the same CD, with the same soothing songs, and Christmas is saved forever. With all the classics, beautifully sung by Frank Sinatra. I love it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
.... it's time for mistletoe and holly! You have to get this as a "christmas must have" . I do like it, and would want to have it and play it, but I don't love it. Some of the tracks are very slow, almost too slow. White Christmas is at track 13, and I would have thought it should be track 1. I had an early album of his with a similar selection and it was faster paced. Still, i like it, just not wowed by the arrangement of some of the tracks. Did like the cheesy choir, and some of the lyrics, well, they are just something else. Takes you back to the fifties?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2002
My first thought when listening to "A Jolly Christmas from Frank Sinatra" is that this was a Christmas album to listen to after you have finished trimming the tree, there is a nice fire in your fireplace, and you are sitting on the couch together and enjoying the moment. The "first side" of the album offers up songs that play to Sinatra's strengths as a master of phrasing a line in a song, such as "Christmas Song," "I'll Be Home for Christmas," "Christmas Waltz," and "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas" (editorial aside: songs written by and for the generation that fought World War II have a special meaning with regards to the idea of being away from loved ones for Christmas). The "second side" of the album does more traditional caroles and is where Sinatra loses some of his uniqueness as a singer (most clearly heard on "Hark! The Herald Angels Sing" and "Adeste Fideles"). But there is always value in hearing any song done Sinatra's way, as he proves on "White Christmas" and "It Came upon a Midnight Clear." Needless to say, fans of Sinatra should already have this album in their collection. For others, this album offers perfect mood music for cuddling with the one you love on the couch after the tree is finished and the only illumination in the room are the lights on the tree and the flames in the fireplace.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
This is without a doubt one of the true greatest if not the greatest traditional pop swing albums ever made. Frank is at his sheer best interpreting the songs with all the class style and cool dominance and injecting such warmth emotion and wonderful festive magic into every song.This album is the original A Jolly Christmas that Frank recorded back in 1957 and is part of his masterful legendary and immensely influential capital concept albums an album that I always treasure and listen to constantly throughout the season and one that every one should have in their cd collection a total must have at every cost.Also the two bonus tracks at the end of the album were not part of the original album and for me Franks glorious rendition of White Christmas far exceeds Bing Crosbys classic version Franks is truely mesmerising heartwarming and full of perfect christmas magic as only Frank can sing a song he is the greatest ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
This is Christmas all the way, put this on Christmas morning, loud so the jingles fill the house, what a great version of Jingle bells, greatest album ever for Christmas, buy it, your love it, Merry Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
This is a great Christmas album and ranks as one the greatest all of time, alongside the one by Nat King Cole.
It's a pity that Sinatra was a bit of a nutter though. Still he made up for it with a great voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)