Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars133
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£22.71+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2010
A Surprisingly good Movie. Is probably more poinient today than it was back in 1973 when it was made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
A dated, but excellent classic. I saw this film many years ago and was delighted to find it on DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 March 2008
Set in the year 2022 in New York. Manhattan is very over-crowded and the majority of people live in poverty, literally living for their next meal. Charlton Heston plays Thorn, a policeman who at least has his own small apartment, which he shares with Sol, who's played by Edward G Robinson. Soylent Green is the latest food being produced for the masses to eat (essentially it looks like squares of green cardboard).

Whilst investigating the murder of the head of the Soylent company Thorn discovers that there is a sinister side behind the production of Soylent Green. The film develops at quite a pace, and is pretty short, so it keeps you hooked. Its portrayal of the future is intriging (and scary). For example the human race seems to have gone backwards in its treatment of women. In this vision of the future they have become 2nd class citizens again, who can be used (and abused) by men as they see fit.

Charlton Heston gives, what I would describe as his default performance. Its fine, but he was never a great actor. The film will stick in your memory for other reasons: Firstly because of Edward G Robinson. It was his 101st film role and he died two weeks after the film was completed. Secondly its a scary prediction of how we can mess this planet up. But its our children and their children who will pay the price...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Very good insight to a possible future, especially if we keep up the over-population !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Amazing. For those who like to think when they're being entertained, this is the one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Classic futuristic film, not to be missed. Prompt delivery and well packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Very pleased it plays in the UK, delivery was quicker than expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
superb sci-fi, thought provoking story with hints of things to come
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
A chilling reminder of what we face if it is not already happening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
I saw this film on tyhe circuit many years ago. At that time the nature conservation issue was just barely mentioned, but I was mesmerized by the harrowingly beautiful photography accompanied by beethoven's Sixth Symphony.
In fact, this is why I have ordered a copy, although the photography as seen on a computer screen was far less imrpessive as in the theatter when I first saw it.
The story seems a bit dated today, but it is still worth viewing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.