Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recycling, when it's too late
In a grim and ugly future, the year 2022, a venal cop (though no worse than the rest and better than most) investigates a murder. It looks like an assassination. Nothing was stolen even though the corpse was rich and his apartment opulent beyond the wildest dreams of the masses of people living in poverty on the streets below. Did some sinister power need to keep this...
Published on 18 Dec 2005 by Sally-Anne

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse into the future???
I saw this film with my friends when it was first released - about 40 years ago and I've never forgotten it - it was disturbing then and now it is even more so. There are going to be so many elderly people in the World in the future and I shall be one of them! A frightening film - I don't think I can bear to watch it again.
Published on 18 July 2011 by janemarion


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recycling, when it's too late, 18 Dec 2005
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soylent Green [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
In a grim and ugly future, the year 2022, a venal cop (though no worse than the rest and better than most) investigates a murder. It looks like an assassination. Nothing was stolen even though the corpse was rich and his apartment opulent beyond the wildest dreams of the masses of people living in poverty on the streets below. Did some sinister power need to keep this man quiet? What didn't they want him to say? Detective Thorn (Charlton Heston) has the help of his 'book', Sol (Edward G Robinson) who, lacking any high-tech resources such as computers, consults books and his old friends at a sort of information exchange facility. Everything is in short supply except humanity. Food and water is short, accommodation, power, clothing, paper - everything - and every space is filled with the swarming, desperate masses. Thorn finds a couple of weighty tomes in the dead man's apartment and passes them to Sol who almost swoons with delight at the sight and feel of real, solid, beautifully bound books. He takes them to the exchange and he and his friends mine their resources for information. What they find is unbelievable, horrible, repellent. Sol is moved to do something extreme, both to relieve his shattered mind of the intolerable shock and to lead his friend Thorn to irrefutable proof of the terrible truth.
The film was made in 1973 and it must be one of the earliest environmentalist stories to have a go at man-made global warming. Pollution is killing the oceans. The climate has heated the land, making farming unproductive. Winter has been obliterated by the 'greenhouse effect'. The only food most people can get hold of is a kind of biscuit called 'soylent'. It comes in three tasteless varieties: soylent red (ingredients unknown), soylent yellow (soya) and soylent green (plankton). However, as the oceans have been poisoned, the plankton is dying - so what are they really putting in the soylent green?
It's grisly. It's gripping. It's a good film and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The shape of things to come?, 31 Aug 2006
This review is from: Soylent Green [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
What a fantastic film. No special effects, no gore, no gratuitous sex, just a superb plot brought to life by superb acting and great filming.

The writer's vision of the future for the earth is chilling and he is perhaps closer to an accurate prediction than he could ever have dreamed of. The revelation at the end of the film is a real shocker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aw, nuts. People were always rotten. But the world 'was' beautiful., 16 Dec 2006
By 
Gisli Jokull Gislason "Jokull" (Iceland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soylent Green [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
A bit dated but a very good movie. The basic story is a murder who dunnit set in the not so far future. But this isn't its strong side. It is a movie about a world that has squandered its resources and is crowded with overpopulation. Fresh food is only for the rich and employment for the lucky. Beautiful girls make their living as "furniture" in the houses of the rich while the common unemployed masses sleep anywhere they can. The futuristic view is very dim in a different way from Blade Runner, the world is a bright hot desert and people are obliged to live in overcrowded cities. Life is worth very little. The dialogue is very well written as well and the movie has plenty of memorable quotes. The best ones are between Det. Thorn (Charlton Heston) and Sol (Edward G. Robinson) an old man that remembers the world before the apocalypse. On a side note the main actress Leigh Taylor-Young became an active enviromentalist after playing in the movie and you will think about it too after watching it. Because even if it is a bit dated the message is still clear. Makes you think if you and I shouldn't be doing a bit more to preserve the world for future generations.

All in all a good sci-fi movie, with a well written dialogue and a horrible vison of the future. I give it 4 stars for these are all superior to the story itself, which is mostly dated. A worthy film for many reasons and worth the buy.

Would you believe bodyguards are buying strawberries for 150 D's a jar?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blu-ray stunning.... BUT :, 29 Dec 2011
the vocal audio was coming out of my rear speakers !?!? so I had to switch to Mono centre speaker only !?!? WHY ???
apart from that : 1. Incredible picture quality. 2. Amazing characterisations from Robinson and Heston. 3. Utterly believable. and finally 4. even with the 70s touches of soft furnishing and acting.. BRILLIANT..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse into the future???, 18 July 2011
This review is from: Soylent Green [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I saw this film with my friends when it was first released - about 40 years ago and I've never forgotten it - it was disturbing then and now it is even more so. There are going to be so many elderly people in the World in the future and I shall be one of them! A frightening film - I don't think I can bear to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a film with a message we should all heed, 4 Mar 2010
By 
P. barton (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soylent Green [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
despite this being an excellent thriler, it does have a message we should all heed now before its to late, this is a nightmare vision of the furure that is just around the corner, heston plays a flawed cop that alomost wants to investigate the crime but does`nt, he seems to be out for himself taking loot from the crime scene ,just the fact that he seems amazed at what these well to do people have is strange when we take it for4 granted now, the scene where there are riots because the soylent green has run out are some of the best in the film and the crowd control is quite novel, and when sol vists the suicide booth still brings a lump to my throat every time i see it, the end is almost predictable but in a way shocking in its own way, a classic film in every way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soylent Green, 29 Mar 2010
By 
L. Law - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soylent Green [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Hopefully the new format of BBC's Film magazine will include a section that highlights/reviews those films whose fans grow with time. If so, Soylent Green would surely be on this list of films to revisit. I'll let all the film buffs and enviromentalists state the technical, ethical and moral case why you should see this film. But its the performances of Charlie and Edward G that steal the show. This film is up there with In the Heat of the Night and Cool Hand Luke in conveying the sense of heat on screen. This film is the DVD equivalent of Miles Davis - Kind of Blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest-To-God Pulp Science Fiction, 9 Aug 2009
This review is from: Soylent Green [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Fred Myrow's music score is the first thing that jumps out, seeing the movie again after a gap of, oh, twenty years or so. It really is one of the best scores of the seventies and does its job of scene-setting and world-building beautifully. Coupled with the still-powerful photomontage intro to the world of the year 2022 (three years after Blade Runner, funnily enough)it drops us right into the story with maximum eloquence and minimum fuss, where (as in the aforementioned Blade Runner) we meet a policeman in a dystopian world who has a case to solve, a mystery to unravel and certain truths to uncover.

Charlton Heston is the policeman and there's something very powerful and affecting about watching so monumentally physically present an actor grappling with, and falling before, the unblinking "it" of the mystery he pits himself against. Yes, we all know what that mystery is concealing at this stage, but let's not spoil it for any first-time viewers.

Edward G Robinson is Heston's room-mate and only friend, an older man from a dead age. The scenes between the two are abolutely lovely. There's real affection here, but it's quietly expressed. Remember film acting before Robert De Niro started squinting and Al Pacino started shouting? Remember when the character was more important than the star turn or the persona of the star?

Robinson and Leigh Taylor-Young embody the remnants of a human, humane world. But one of them is dying and the other is only of value in this world of 2022 as "furniture"- a sex object included in the rental price of a flashy apartment. Joseph Cotten and Chuck Connors are the men who thrive in this world. But one of them is literally killed by the truth of what it takes to succeed here, and the other is more than halfway to becoming a flesh-and-blood pre-echo of The Terminator.

A late classic from Richard Fleischer. Give it another look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE best Science Fiction film ever made., 11 Dec 2000
I first saw this film when it came out. I have longed for my own copy ever since, now, thanks to Amazon this is possible. I think that everyone should watch it. If you are at all concerned about the way man is now feeding dead animals to our animals, then this film is a definate for you. I do not consider myself to be Science Fiction Buff, but I do believe that 'fiction' is the wrong word for these stories. Forty or Fifty years ago there were 'Science Fiction stories/Films predicting that man would fly to the moon! I implore you to watch this film, it will certainly make you think. In fact it will probably leave you quite stunned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect classic Scifi movie, 1 May 2011
This is what would be called a true classic of the genre and it is also one of the best Scifi movies ever made. I am just hoping Hollywood is not going to remake it and mess it up like they did with others like War of the Worlds to name one. If you have not seen this movie yet then please do you will not be dissapointed. The transfer to Bluray is not perfect but good enough to enjoy this movie even more then ever. I will not tell you what the movie is about you can read that in other reviews. My advice to you is to let yourself be surprised en enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soylent Green [DVD] [1973]
Soylent Green [DVD] [1973] by Charlton Heston (DVD - 2013)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews