Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Slasher movie ever
As far as slashers go this is one of the best, you can't be a fan of the genre unless you've seen this one. The film is of course uncut although it is only 10 seconds of extra footage. The extra footage is that Anni's death is 2 seconds longer, The sex scene has an extra butt pinch, Jacks death is 4 seconds longer and Marcie's death is also 2 seconds longer. The final...
Published on 22 Mar. 2012 by Tan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Friday the 13th part?
Hee, with some of the reactions to Marcus Nispel's remake/reimaging/rekindling to the 1980 Friday the 13th movie, you would think he dared to take on a sacred cow. Having already alienated much of the horror loving world after his remake of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, this appears to be the final straw. However, and as much as I found this latest offering in the "Friday"...
Published on 9 Oct. 2012 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 16 7 818 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic cult horror, 12 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Having seen most of the Friday 13th series throughout my youth, including this one, I didn't think much to them. I'd heard all of the hype about them and Jason in his hockey mask but when it came to it they were just inferior versions of the Halloween series.
But things change, and now I appreciate a good horror, especially cult classics. And this IS a cult classic. Sure, the famous Jason is missing in this one, starting his killings in Friday 13th Part 2. But this movie seems to set the theme for all of the sequels, whether it be the locations, characters or quite simply the slasher horror style.
The effects are cheesy and the acting ropey but these are things that make it better. There's no computer generated effects like in films these days. As for stars in the film, there's only Kevin Bacon who went on to become famous and well known, so all in all it's a B-grade cast. But again, this adds a certain style to it.
Give Friday 13th a try and I don't think you'll be disappointed as long as you don't go on in there expecting the mother of all horror movies. Instead accept it for what it is, a cult horror classic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars VERY DIFFICULT TO SEE WHAT'S GOING ON!!!!!!, 11 Oct. 2009
By 
First of all let me start by saying that I am a big fan of the Friday 13th movies. This one for me tho is a very poor remake. On a normal LCD tv this film is so dark it is barely possible to see what is happening and when you can see what is going on it ruins the whole concept of the franchise.

In all the original films Jason is a merciless killer who attacks teenagers solely because he blames them for not watching him when he dies. In this one he shows remorse and keeps certain teenagers as hostages.

Overall the basic concept of the remake is flawed and no amount of sex scenes makes up for a truly horrible re-make of a great franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
chewtoy (leicester uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Thankyou was in perfect condition and worked perfect very happy with my DVD and will be buying again soon thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 of the best Fridays ever!, 26 Sept. 2003
By 
Gary Rose "g_r7" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
The first of the Friday the 13th movies is one of the better ones and the first one i saw and I've seen them all out of order. With 11 films now (I count Freddy vs Jason as one of them)this is my 4th fav movie. Its a must own for any one who owns the rest of the DVDs and its great with a beers and mates round.
Great movie so bye it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can't hold a beacon to the original., 12 April 2010
By 
L. Cross "Leeroy Lewis" (Liverpool, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's got to be said that this edition to the Jason/Friday the 13th franchise was un-needed and completely disappointing. The general story of how Jason came to be what he is today is some what altered to a standard that is rushed and lacking character development. There are also parts of the film that make me think of how unrealistic some scenes are. I also think that the amount of nudity in the female was no needed what-so-ever and thar Marcus Nispel made it too much like The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, I think as a director he forgot that this is completely different movie as I found there to be too many elements that reak of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre. I will say that I liked the idea that he keeps one of his victims captive because of her resemblance to his mother, that was an interesting edition to the movie. However, this could have been re-worked into a reboot of the franchise with a new story rather than a remake of the backstory. I will not being viewing this film again, I'll stick to the first 4 original movies where they will forever be known as classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After 30 years this movie continue to fascinate for the birth of One of the greatest character of horror movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not that scary, 6 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing wrong with the delivery etc, but the film is not very good! It could be so much scarier than it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic slice of horror, 19 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Friday The 13th [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Friday the 13th is one of the all time great horror movies in the way that it slowly builds up tension and really makes you jump out of your seat in certain scenes . Ok , so the film was basically trying to copy Halloween from 1978(certainly the greatest film of this type and arguably the finest horror movie ever committed to film ), but the creators have still managed to create a brilliantly jolting movie in which you share the sheer terror being felt by the young workers at camp crystal lake as soon as the power goes dead. We also sadly know what fate(or the scriptwriter) has in store for them. The final scenes of this movie will have you on the edge of your seat with excitement . Intellectuals should avoid this movie as no brain is required , but if you are a serious horror fan you must see this movie ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic - but dated, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
It's a classic, but I was shocked at how dated it was. Everyone should see this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars have to admit its much better than expected, 21 Oct. 2011
By 
Im not supposed to like this film. I hate all remakes, particularly horror remakes as they are always rubbish, toned down, commercial versions of the originals. I was realy surprised at how decent this is. it lacks the seedy creepiness of the 80's ones but makes up for it in good quality gore and decent direction. Its not realy a remake, more a compilation of the old movies. theres bits of 1,2 and 3 all thrown together in one movie and it actually works. I hated the teens and wanted them all to die, jason obliges with enthusiasm and this results in a decent, slightly scary, fun modern horror. Ive seen all the jason movies since I was a kid and I have to say this is joint top with the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 818 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980]
Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] by Sean S. Cunningham (DVD - 2003)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews