Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good transfer of the 'other' classic slasher
Having now seen the first three "Friday" films on Blu, I have to say that this is darn close to being the best. Part II maybe just edges it for picture quality, but the original is surprisingly sharp, with night-time scenes very well managed and no objectionable grain levels, for my money. Colours are occasionally a little overcooked, as in the late diner scene, but then...
Published on 10 Dec 2009 by Mr. Blu

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Friday the 13th part?
Hee, with some of the reactions to Marcus Nispel's remake/reimaging/rekindling to the 1980 Friday the 13th movie, you would think he dared to take on a sacred cow. Having already alienated much of the horror loving world after his remake of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, this appears to be the final straw. However, and as much as I found this latest offering in the "Friday"...
Published 22 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 16 7 815 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sex, drugs and morons in the woods means Jason is very angry, 17 Aug 2009
Jason goes on the rampage in crystal lake slaughtering everything in his path. And that's the plot out of the way although there is an attempt at some backstory to his character as well as an introduction to the iconic hockey mask. One scene where Jason tries to stab two people through the floorboards shows some imagination.

But its completely predictable as well as rubbish acting which is ok because this isn't the type of movie for oscar acting anyway. Its surprisingly less gory than expected and the sex scenes well what was the point? Its ok in parts but not nearly as good as it could have been if it had not been so predictable and lacking in tense moments, and full of annoying clichéd characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic cult horror, 12 Feb 2004
This review is from: Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Having seen most of the Friday 13th series throughout my youth, including this one, I didn't think much to them. I'd heard all of the hype about them and Jason in his hockey mask but when it came to it they were just inferior versions of the Halloween series.
But things change, and now I appreciate a good horror, especially cult classics. And this IS a cult classic. Sure, the famous Jason is missing in this one, starting his killings in Friday 13th Part 2. But this movie seems to set the theme for all of the sequels, whether it be the locations, characters or quite simply the slasher horror style.
The effects are cheesy and the acting ropey but these are things that make it better. There's no computer generated effects like in films these days. As for stars in the film, there's only Kevin Bacon who went on to become famous and well known, so all in all it's a B-grade cast. But again, this adds a certain style to it.
Give Friday 13th a try and I don't think you'll be disappointed as long as you don't go on in there expecting the mother of all horror movies. Instead accept it for what it is, a cult horror classic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No New Beginning, Just More of the Same, 13 Aug 2009
By 
S. Clarke "Zombie Survivor" (Bordon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of all the slasher movies, the Friday the 13th series has always been my favourite. I had really high hopes for this movie, especially after seeing how Rob Zombie managed to reinvent Michael Myers for the Halloween remake. Unfortunately the makers of Friday 13th haven't achieved such great things. Instead it is just more of the same with a few exceptions: Jason now runs rather than stalking his victims with his classic supernatural like walk (which I think is intrinsic to his character and this new Jason is less scary for it); Jason moves around in a series of underground tunnels which seem to borrow heavily from The Texas Chainsaw Massacre/ Hills Have Eyes scenario rather than offering anything original - the creators say this explains his uncanny ability to appear in different places quickly (again removing the supernatural element to his character); Jason is now apparently more intelligent and is able to hunt and set traps. The documentary reveals how the makers wanted to steer away from the supernatural aspect of Jason's character - come on, the dude's effectively a zombie don't start worrying about plausibility now! The only other notable difference is that the sex scenes are stronger and over-egged.

Don't get me wrong, this is an enjoyable movie but it just feels like another average addition to the franchise rather than a `new beginning'. Freddy Vs Jason was a much better movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MOTHER OF ALL SLASHER FILMS !! !! !! !!, 22 Jan 2006
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Friday the 13th has pumped out 11 sequels (therse mixed opinions on weather Freddy vs Jason is a sequel to Friday the 13th) and although the origonal isnt my favorite its definetly one of the better ones!
It was Friday the 13th that actually created the term 'slasher', there may of been slashers before Friday the 13th (HalloweeN and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre in particular) but none before it had ever been a 'pure slasher' film!
Shaun S Cunningham never expected much of Friday the 13th either, he thought his biggest sucsess would be a TV show that he would apparently make after Friday the 13th! Yet even though it was released the same year as The Shining and Dressed to Kill it still made more money than The Shining and was more profitable that Dressed to Kill! And straight after Friday the 13th's sucsess many, many, many other slashers were coming out all over the world (none of them doing as well as Friday the 13th, the only one that really done well is A Nightmare on Elm Street).
One of the main things that people dont remember about the origonal Friday the 13th is that Jasons mother, Pamela, was the killer. Since the sequels had started production Jason had became the trade mark for the Friday the 13th films (especially his hockey mask), most of the modern Friday the 13th films arent even called Friday the 13th any more (Jason goes to Hell, JasonX), This is probably because when New-Line Cinema took over Paramount to make more sequels after Friday the 13th part 9 (Jason goes to Hell) they baught the rights to Jason Voorhees, not Friday the 13th!
Tom Savini (who done the gore special effects for Dawn of the Dead prior to Friday the 13th and has now acted and directed in many films!) made the blood and gore effects for Friday the 13th, he may have done them for Dawn of the Dead too but it was Friday the 13th that really kicked of his career into a celebrity status! (he also went on to do the special effects for many other Friday the 13th sequels). And on the subject of blood this film has quiet a lot of it. It may be a bit tamer by todays standards but the creative death scenes (which is one things that the series is well known for now) are great, although the sequels have surpassed it many times.
The acting isnt amazing but it isnt exatly bad either and some of the actors got quiet famouse after bieng in this (Kevin Bacon, Betsy Palmer).
Overall this famouse for a good reason! For fans of horrors this should be a treat and if your a fan of gory films or slashers and (for some strange reason) havent seen this then do so....quikly..like right now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars VERY DIFFICULT TO SEE WHAT'S GOING ON!!!!!!, 11 Oct 2009
By 
First of all let me start by saying that I am a big fan of the Friday 13th movies. This one for me tho is a very poor remake. On a normal LCD tv this film is so dark it is barely possible to see what is happening and when you can see what is going on it ruins the whole concept of the franchise.

In all the original films Jason is a merciless killer who attacks teenagers solely because he blames them for not watching him when he dies. In this one he shows remorse and keeps certain teenagers as hostages.

Overall the basic concept of the remake is flawed and no amount of sex scenes makes up for a truly horrible re-make of a great franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the original completely remasterd, 26 Feb 2005
By 
ichi (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
this is a great film and so are the sequals but now there even better completely remasterd and given great sound and all the enhacement that they can do today but after all these years has it lost its power to shock and scare in my opinion yes definately to me but some people still find it terryfing like my mom but a definate classic that should be in any ones horror dvd collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 of the best Fridays ever!, 26 Sep 2003
By 
Gary Rose "g_r7" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
The first of the Friday the 13th movies is one of the better ones and the first one i saw and I've seen them all out of order. With 11 films now (I count Freddy vs Jason as one of them)this is my 4th fav movie. Its a must own for any one who owns the rest of the DVDs and its great with a beers and mates round.
Great movie so bye it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason is back up to standard, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the 4th original movie, the franchise fell into a deep pit. This movie shows Jason the way he should be...He's not a supernatural zombie, he is a psycho who lost his mother, and want revenge. He isnt a zombie, and thats what i like about this film- they finally show him the way he is meant to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish buy the second, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not very good don't buy this buy the second wish I had. Doesn't feature the white mask. Just POV .rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 20 Jun 2012
By 
M. Foster "Bree Tennant" (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really loved it, it was certainly value for money, it felt like I had two horror movies in one.
It had a great surprise end and the characters were believable, the acting was good (I am a fan of Jared Padalecki so perhaps am slightly biased :P) and it kept me tense.
There was plenty of gore, running, plot and just general screaming at the TV from me. I certainly recommend, a great one to watch with friends and popcorn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 815 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980]
Friday The 13th [DVD] [1980] by Sean S. Cunningham (DVD - 2003)
3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews