Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Violence and cannibalism in sunny Spain
Story: 4/5 - Extras: 5/5

Colin Baker's era of the TV series, and in particular season twenty-two, often comes under fire from fans as being badly written, thoughtless, bombastic and violent, with an unlikeable protagonist. However, I must confess a sneaking enjoyment of Colin Baker's era and nowhere more so than in Robert Holmes' The Two Doctors, which is by...
Published on 9 May 2006 by M. Wilberforce

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meat or poison?
The Two Doctors is frustrating - it's very nearly great, but falls down on several counts and leaves a nasty taste in the mouth. There are some interesting themes - the hypocrisy of the Doctor's own race, the folly of a scientist playing god, and some uncomfortable stuff about our habits as meat-eaters. Some of these are paid off in a way that is dramatically-satisfying...
Published on 9 May 2009 by The Goose Loose


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Violence and cannibalism in sunny Spain, 9 May 2006
By 
M. Wilberforce "mwilberforce" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Two Doctors [1984-86] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Story: 4/5 - Extras: 5/5

Colin Baker's era of the TV series, and in particular season twenty-two, often comes under fire from fans as being badly written, thoughtless, bombastic and violent, with an unlikeable protagonist. However, I must confess a sneaking enjoyment of Colin Baker's era and nowhere more so than in Robert Holmes' The Two Doctors, which is by far the best of the original series' multi-Doctor stories.

The story isn't perfect: episode one drags, and there are some problems with the effects, particularly the Sontarans' loose headpieces. However, it also boasts excellent supporting characters in Jacqueline Pearce's conniving augmented Androgum Chessene and John Stratton's fiendishly greedy performance as Shockeye, the Androgum chef. The story is rife with cannibalistic and carnivorous themes and yes, there is a lot of violence, but it all serves to emphasise writer Robert Holmes' obvious ambhorrence of such behaviour in the real world, without ever resorting to preaching.

We also have the pleasure of seeing the return of Patrick Troughton and Frazer Hines, both looking older but obviously enjoying themselves. Finally, much of the story is filmed in sunny Spanish locations in and around Seville, which gives the story a great sense of sophistication and a welcome departure from the often cheap studio sets common to the era. It's just a pity that the Spanish setting doesn't really kick in until episode two.

As well as an expertly restored version of the original story (which is a lengthy one, equivalent to a "traditional" six-parter), which also has an excellent score by Peter Howell, The Two Doctors has as large a package of special features as you could possibly ask for. The commentary by Baker, Bryant, Hines, Jacqueline Pearce and director Peter Moffatt is unfocused (Pearce says "darling" a lot without offering much else), but the on-screen production notes are excellent, and there is also a wide range of bonus material including two custom-made documentaries, an hour's worth of "making of" footage, a half-hour radio programme discussing The Two Doctors and the 1985 Jim'll Fix It special A Fix With Sontarans starring Colin Baker and Janet Fielding. All together a well-stuffed package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Action packed adventure!, 11 July 2010
By 
S. Allen (maldon, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Two Doctors [1984-86] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
My Uncle bought this for me a few years ago now, i wanted to see it because i was interested on seeing how the second doctor (Patrick troughton) and the sixth doctor (Colin baker) would work together in this classic adventure. All i can say is WOW, the story is interesting, the acting is very strong, especially from patrick troughton (my favourite doctor) also the music used in this episode is brilliant, it really brings the sontarons to life. This story is based in seville/spain which i think is an excellent choice of setting, the story is full of action, adventure and patrick troughton brings a comedy twist to the story wnich i think is brill!. a very good buy and well worth getting. I hope this review helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meat or poison?, 9 May 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Two Doctors [1984-86] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The Two Doctors is frustrating - it's very nearly great, but falls down on several counts and leaves a nasty taste in the mouth. There are some interesting themes - the hypocrisy of the Doctor's own race, the folly of a scientist playing god, and some uncomfortable stuff about our habits as meat-eaters. Some of these are paid off in a way that is dramatically-satisfying. We also have some great dialogue and characterisation from the marvellous Robert Holmes - he clearly relished writing scenes in which the Doctors bait the Sontarans and puncture their military swagger, and both Shockeye and Chessene are genuinely disturbing characters. Sadly, it is rather too long: large chunks of episodes one and three are clearly padding - which might not have been so apparent if the direction had been less pedestrian. Its other key failing is its badly-handled changes in tone - one moment we are enjoying some light comedy and rollicking action-adventure, the next, we are confronted by something that goes too far in its darkness and sadism. Uneasy viewing that veers between the brilliant and the tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twice the Fun, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Two Doctors [1984-86] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
It seems distinctly odd to bring back a previous actor to the role at the same time as trying to establish a new lead. The Two Doctors is something that should have been in Baker's second season... which would have been a shame as it would then have deprived us of an excellent story with some wonderful cameos.

Rumour has it that this had was originally a story called The Androgum Inheritance and featured neither the Doctor/Jamie nor the Sontarans. The Sontarans do add a sense of menace to counterpoint the Black Comedy of Shockeye, but actually they are not well portrayed (no disrespect to the actors here, it is the design decisions). The presence of the 2nd Doctor and Jamie add nothing at all to the plot, but make the script a joy to listen to and the whole thing a pleasure to watch. There is no rivalry here between the leads (they were old friends, Baker having been best man for David Troughton if memory serves) and this works in its favour.

Plot: The presence of the Sontarans aside, the overal plot of the Androgums and their hedonistic tendencies is brilliantly done with Shockeye full-on Androgum and Chessene more restrained, but still stuck in her roots. This would have made an interesting two-parter, particularly if we could have had a few more Androgums for comparison purposes. The gastronomy angle is also fun. The 2nd Doctor and Jamie have been so successfully added in to the plot, that it is difficult to see how the story would have progressed without them: possibly Colin being 'Androgumised' with Peri enlisting the aid of Oscar & Anita and their expertise in the local restaurants.

Script: As one would expect the scripting is on top-form with interesting and well rounded characters all given plenty to do. The 2nd Doctor/Jamie dynamic is fantastic, as is Jamie's constant, "well, my Doctor wouldn't do that!". Arguably Troughton may not have been given enough to do as he seems to spend most of the time tied up/sitting down, but when he is involved he is a joy to listen to. So good is this duo, that it is a shame that Jamie at least didn't stick around for a few adventures only to be picked up by a cameo from the 2nd in a later story. The scripts for the other characters are also pretty good, even the Sontarans.

Design: I've already mentioned the fact that the Sontarans are too tall. Smaller actors might not seem so imposing, but Kevin Lindsay & Christopher Ryan both manage the menace and Dan Starkey does a good job when given a good script where the race is not played for laughs (some of his Big Finish stuff is very good). Other than that this is mostly around the beautiful Spanish locations chosen. These are sufficiently different from the usual UK sand-pit and a great contrast to the previous story where there was so much greenery on show (having been to Spain a few times, I much prefer the English countryside. Unfortunately I prefer the Spanish weather!). Possibly Dastari's look is very dated.

Acting: Universally good acting help to build the tension. Of particular note is John Stratton's Shockeye, wholly believable as an alien despite the similarity to humanity. A lot of the best lines go his way, and the relish he shows at various new culinary delights is brilliant. Even the Sontaran actors put on a brave face in the heat of the Spanish sun and give brilliant performances... if only they had been a foot shorter:). Colin and Pat aren't trying to out-act each other and so the whole thing is played straight with a sense of fun.

Direction: Peter Moffatt does a reasonable job. One wonders if this would have been better in the hands of another director, but there is nothing intrinsically wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best I have seen!!, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Two Doctors [1984-86] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I am a huge doctor who fan, and I watched this and loved it, in my opinion one of the best I have seen, definitely in my top 3 serials, some people hate this but I don't see why, it has a great plot and the 2 doctors work great together. really well executed.
highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Doctors, Two Sontarans & An Androgum, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Two Doctors [1984-86] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Positive.
1)Colin Baker is slated as a violent Doctor but I see merit in his performance as it shakes up the series making him a unpredictable Timelord.
2)Any Doctor Who starring Patrick Troughton is worthy of merit.
3)Frazer Hines returns as Second Doctor companion Jamie.
4)The Sontarans are back, Although they've grown a bit.

Negative.
1)Some scenes involving Shockeye are a little over the top affecting the performances somewhat.
2)The Doctor killing Shockeye may upset some fans.

Dvd Info.
3 episode's running time 133 minutes.
Commentaries, Making of, Documentary on Robert Holmes, On location in Spain Gary Downie hosts what hs job entails in this documentary, Photo Gallery, Trailer , A special feature In A Fix With Sontarans who's host of that particular programme makes my blood boil & makes me feel physical sick.

Review.
This underrated classic was the season 22 biggie written by the exellent Robert Holmes it features not one but Two Doctors.

The Second Doctor & Jamie get into trouble on a space station were Dastari is conducting time travel experiments which could cause a rip in the fabric of time so the Timelords have unwittingly sent the Second Doctor to investigate who gets kidnapped & Jamie stranded on the space station.

The Sixth Doctor & Peri are fishing when the Doctor senses a danger in his personal timeline & so he investigates setting the Tardis coordinates & arriving on the deserted space station faces a computer who's determined to kill the Doctor by cutting off the air supply.

The Doctor eventually finds the controls of the space Station deactiving the traps & below the stations underground is were he finds a hysterical Jamie who doesn't know the Doctor as his memory was wiped during The War Games.

The Doctor eventually gets Jamie to trust him & tells the Sixth Doctor that the Second Doctor has been killed but the Doctor tells Jamie if that was so he wouldn't exist in the present.

The Doctor, Peri & Jamie head for Seville Spain to rescue his former self & out a stop to the time experiments but along the way the Doctor encounters a old Enemy from his past The Sontarans who are trying to experiment with the secrets of time travel to gain an advantage with the war against there arch enemy the Rutans hereby working alongside the villainous Chessene & her bodyguard the cannibalistic Androgum Shockeye.

This is a great adventure with both Doctors Colin Baker & Patrick Troughton giving great performances although like the previous multi Doctor story The Five Doctors they only meet up at near the end.

Jacqueline Pearce does well as Chessene a former Androgum whom have a taste for cannibalism, Chessene has been genetically engineered to suppress her Cannabalist instinct.

The return of the Sontarans is good well written by there creator Robert Holmes who delivers a good but gruesome adventure, Although the Sontarans seem to have taken steroids as they've grown 2 ft since there last adventure & the masks aren't a patch on the version worn by Kevin Lindsey in The Time Warrior.

The Doctor committing murder as he smothered Shockeye with poison is a much debated shocking scene & shakes up the formula somewhat, I couldn't see Matt Smiths Doctor doing this.

All in all this is a excellent well paced & enjoyable adventure from a era that has had undeserved constant criticism.

A great Story featuring a wealth of special features including Commentaries, A making of Two Doctor's & a great Documentary on classic Doctor Who writer Robert Holmes.

A great multi Doctor adventure that's well worth having in your Doctor Who dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Doctors, two companions, Sontarans, Androgums and hot sunny weather in Seville, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Two Doctors [1984-86] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This is by far my favourite Sixth Doctor story on DVD with Colin Baker. Not only was this the first time I saw Colin's Doctor, but it also paired him up with another popular doctor from the black and white days - Patrick Troughton as the Second Doctor. It's an enchanting and sometimes quite gruesome tale, but delicious all the same.

Written by Robert Holmes, one of the most popular Doctor Who writers of the series, this is a 3 by 45 minute episode story (the equivilant of 6 by 25 minute episode story).

This is a 2-disc DVD, with the first disc containing the story and the second disc some more special features. I've had the DVD cover for this story signed by Colin Baker (as the Sixth Doctor) and Frazer Hines (who plays Jamie with Patrick Troughton).

The story is about the Second Doctor and Jamie visiting a space station to meet a middle-aged scientist called Dastari who has been involved in a number of time-travel experiments that has been monitored by the Time Lords. Doctor 2 intends to see this is put to a stop immediately. Very soon the space station is over-run by Sontarans who attack, and kidnap the Doctor and take him down to Earth to Seville, leaving Jamie on the space station to be wretched and alone.

Soon, the Sixth Doctor and his companion Peri visit the space station to discover a battle has occured and find Jamie there. They have to find out what's happened to Doctor 2 by travelling to Seville and stopping the Sontarans and their allies the Androgums from carrying forward their experiments in time travel.

I really like Colin Baker's interpretation of the Doctor in this story. Since it was the first time I saw him, I found him to be very interesting in his brash and temperamental way. His fractious relationship with Peri kept me interested, as I was wondered whether these two got on with each other at all or not. Eventually they did, and it portrayed a very interesting relationship between the Doctor and his companion.

I also like Peri in this story, who's an American companion to the Doctor. I think Nicola Bryant's very lovely and she certainly shows her worth as Peri when trying to solve whether 'somebody's setting the Time Lords up', or being friends with Jamie or when she bravely makes a distraction at the house for Doctor 6 and Jamie to get in, and eventually gets chased by a hungry Shockeye.

Patrick's Doctor always is as funny and energetic as ever. Patrick seemed to get strapped to a chair for most of the story when he's experimented on, but he always stands up in defiance against Dastari, the Androgums and the Sontarans. I found the scenes when he gets turned into an Androgum very funny and Patrick certainly seems to relish in the character of a hungry Doctor when he and Shockeye go out on the town to get some food.

Jamie's very good in this story too. Frazer Hines has missed being away from 'Doctor Who' for so long that he jumps at the chance of being reunited with Patrick Troughton and having to work with a new Doctor in Colin Baker and also with Nicola Bryant as Peri. I enjoyed the scenes when Jamie teams up with Doctor 6 and has to stab a Sontaran in the leg with his dagger.

This story is also the first time I saw the Sontarans. Although there were only two Sontarans, I really got into these war-like monsters and enjoyed their military bombastic manner and philosophy. It was only a matter of time before I got to see more of them in stories like 'The Time Warrior' and 'The Sontaran Strategem'/'The Poison Sky'.

This story also features a new monster called the Androgums - and of course I mean 'Shockeye of the Quawncing Grig'. This story is also Robert Holmes' attempt of conveying his vegetarian views since the Androgums are cannibals. Shockeye is outrageously funny when he always seems to be wanting to eat people and doesn't get his chance when he's interupted or Cheesene tries to stop him. I and my best friend (who watched it and also found Shockeye outrageously funny) loved the scenes when Shockeye kept chasing Peri and tried to get hold of her at the close of 'Part 2'.

The Spanish setting for this story is superb. I love how the production team made the effort of setting a story abroard and it took John Nathan-Turner's determination and enthuasism to see it done. Peter Howell's incidential music really added to the atmosphere of a Spanish setting with its instruments and tunes. And Peter Moffat's direction of the Spanish locations where Doctor 6, Peri and Jamie are searching for Doctor 2 and Shockeye is really inspirational.

The special features for this DVD are as follows.

On Disc 1, there's a nice little sketch from 'Jim'll Fix It' called 'A Fix With Sontarans'. Baring Jimmy Saville's involvement, this little sketch is about a little boy called Gareth Jenkins meeting up with his hero Colin Baker as the Doctor and helping him defeat the Sontarans. It also features the return of Janet Fielding as Tegan who appears with the Doctor right at the beginning of this little scene.

There's also a very entertaining audio commentary track with Colin Baker, Nicola Bryant, Frazer Hines, the late Peter Moffat (director) and Jacqueline Pearce who played Chesene in the story. There's also a music-only option and a very detailed info text option that can be switched on whilst watching the story.

See if you can try to find an Easter Egg on the first disc. It might be easy to find if you use the 'left' and 'right' arrow keys.

On Disc 2, there's a very enjoyable and informative documentary about Robert Homes and his involvement with the seires called 'Behind the Sofa: Robert Holmes and Doctor Who' with contributions from Terrance Dicks, Barry Letts, Phillip Hinchcliffe and Eric Saward.

There's also two behind-the-scenes programmes focusing on the actual recordings of 'The Two Doctors'. The first is called 'Beneath the Lights' featuring recording sessions with Doctor 6, Peri and Jamie on the space station'. The second is called 'Beneath the Sun' featuring location filming in Spain of various scenes set outside during the story around the Spanish villa.

There's also a documentary with Production Manager Gary Downie who provides his insight on the making of 'The Two Doctors' during location filming called 'Adventures in Time and Spain'. There's a BBC Radio 4 documentary about the making of 'The Two Doctors' called 'Wavelength' with contributions from Patrick Troughton, Colin Baker, Nicola Bryant, John Stratton (Shockeye) and John Nathan Turner (the producer).

There's a short photo gallery for 'The Two Doctors', and a short video celebrating Doctor Who's 40th anninversary (at the time this DVD was released back in 2003).

So to wrap up, 'The Two Doctors' is a very good and entertaining Doctor Who story from the Colin Baker years. It was my first encounter with Colin's Doctor and has become a very memorable adventure to watch. It may be violent in some places, but it certainly has got a lot of humour.

The next story with the Sixth Doctor is 'Davros'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bunkum, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Two Doctors [1984-86] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Nice to see Pat again. He's always so watchable.

Somewhere in here was a good idea, possibly somewhere before JNT started messing about with it. I think the good idea might have been the Androgums, but I could be wrong. In a script that seems to be virtually made of bad ideas, it is hard to be sure. There's a limit to how much stuff you can add to a thing before the thing stops working.

There are some good actors in it, but the script is a pudding and the direction is lumpen. Jacqueline Pearce was lovely as Servalan, but in this she's another villainous lady, and this time wearing a wig. Maybe if they'd wanted Servalan in Dr Who, the thing to do might have been to put Servalan in Dr Who, and possibly Avon, which would have been better use of Paul Darrow than that he was put to in Timelash; I understand Terry Nation had been thinking of using the Daleks in Blake's 7, and I think it just might have worked.

And the Time Lords are sending a Second Doctor to sort out Dastari because... No, hang on, the Time Lords were introduced in the Scond Doctor's last story... never mind, apparently it's all explained in the novel, and it's nice to see Pat again. Shame there isn't a bit more of him.

The scenery is nice, and the chase around Seville looks fun, and there's Oscar Botcherby's restaurant and... Oh, poor Oscar.

What was the point of him again?

Oh yes, the Second Doctor is now part-Androgum and he and Shockeye (some kind of Salmon, isn't it?) go off on a jaunt, that's jolly funny to watch, very Vaudeville. Nice to see Pat again...

And there's Sontarans in it, ah, good, yes, Sontarans, and they're a good head taller than they used to be, so they've lost that squat sense of contained power, and look a bit, well, elongated, and apparently Coronic Acid kills them (never knew that) and it just so happens there's some knocking about. Lucky that.

And there's a homicidal computer, that's good for a bit of padding when there's flip all else to fill the second twenty minutes. And Seville looks nice, and it's nice to see Pat again.

So no, I don't like this one much, there's one plot element too many (Androgums or Sontarans, but not both), not enough of Pat, and the Sontarans look wrong, and the Androgums don't look sufficiently inhuman (and there's not enough of them), and `Ooh look at lovely Seville' gets used as a distraction from narrative shortcomings a bit too often.

If Robert Holmes seriously expected to turn the Dr Who viewing public over to vegetarianism, he needed finer instruments than this with which to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Duplicity in the Sun, 19 Nov 2004
By 
JA Fairhurst "johnfair" (Edgeley, Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Two Doctors [1984-86] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Having had the Three Doctors getting together to save Gallifrey and the Five Doctors save it again, why not have the Second and Sixth Doctors get together to, well, not for any particular reason, just save the Galaxies from the rampages of the Sontarans and the Androgum.
The Second Doctor is asked by the Time Lords to stop the Nine Planets Research Station from continuing their experiments into time travel. However, the head of the Station has other ideas and in alliance with the Sontarans and his chief of staff, the enhanced Adrogum Chesnai and their attack was launched when the Doctor arrived. Jamie was left for dead aboard the station, with the rest of the research teams all killed.
The Sixth Doctor and Peri turn up a while later to find the computer very uncooperative. In the process, they find Jamie who tells them he had seen his Doctor murdered, which understandably worries the Sixth Doctor. But it as all a con, aimed at framing the Time Lords for the destruction of the station.
They track the Second Doctor to present day Spain where the Sontarans and androgums had taken over a deserted villa in order to make their vile experiments on the Second Doctor for they are looking for the Time Lords secrets of Time Travel. Meantime, the androgum cook takes a hankering for human flesh.
The Second Doctor is converted to an androgum in an attempt to get the secret out of him but the cook rebels against his mistress and 'rescues' the changed Doctor so he can take him on an eating spree to Seville. After eating out the Restaurant, the androgum are less than happy to be presented with the bill and the manager is stabbed to death.
This is one of the more violent Doctor Who stories - not only for the death of the hapless Oscar, but in the way the Sontarans planned to trick the androgum and the way in which they were double crossed in turn, being melted by the acid attack. The death of Shockeye, the androgum cook, although maybe deserved, was also overdone. Jacqueline Pearce as Chesnai reprises the sort of role she played as Servilan in _Blake's Seven_
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 22 Sep 2004
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Two Doctors [1984-86] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Im a big fan of the way Colin Baker played the Doctor.I feel he was far too heavily critised and did a great job. In this story he again puts in a top performance.It was also great to see Patrick Troughton back in the role as the Doctor as he is definitley one of my favourites.The story has a great atmosphere to it and is extemely well written.Frazer Hines also does a great job and he and the Doctor gel as well as they ever did.My only criticism of the story is that i dont think that the Sontarons are as menacing as they should be.They are easily tricked and arent as clever as previous stories.Apart from this it is a great story to watch and has a little drama and comedy rolled into one so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Two Doctors [1984-86] [DVD] [1963]
5.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews