Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childish? Far from it!
Whoever said this adventure was childish has seriously confused me. This is the creme de la creme of classic who. Absolutely stunning.
Season 26 of Doctor Who as a whole was absolutely incredible, taking things up a notch from Season 25, which in itself was damn good. The 4 episodes that make up Curse are a fine example of this- exciting, creepy, thrilling, and...
Published on 9 Jan 2006 by Jimmy Lovesey

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better
No doubt the die-hard Whovians will vote against me on this one but: Fenric is far too complicated to work. There are simply too many ideas thrown into the pot. Here are just some: the WW2 Enigma Machine ("Ultima" here), the start of the Cold War, chemical warfare, the future evolution of the human race, Vikings, Russians, vampires (!), faith or lack of it, Runes as...
Published on 7 Jan 2010 by muddy-funster


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Hardacre, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Curse of Fenric [1989] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Nicholas Parsons? Playing a vicar? Playing him straight? On Dr Who? Oh come on. This is a comedy, right?

Two years previously, sure; then the news would have been the cue to switch off the telly and go to the pub. But no, here we are, in Northumberland, in the middle of WWII, and the deadly poison is about to hit the whirly wheels of the Ultima Machine.

The references to Bletchley Park are unmistakable, and still (if you squint) you can imagine Judson and Millington having 'a past', and I do wish they'd retained that idea because the morality of the 1940s is shot through this like a stain through silk. Miss Hardacre's sanctimony, Wainwright's trembling faith, and Catherine's outrage at Ace's (understandable) assumption that she might not be married.

The script is excellent, especially for the era; really something special. The acting, from Mr Landon, Mr Lynch, Miss Henfrey and Miss Read superb. Mr McCoy and Miss Aldred are each at their best. Nobody slouches in this tale (though from what's said in The Making Of, they may all have been scared of Mr Bork).

All on location (at Crowborough, not Northumberland) it looks brilliant; nothing to unsettle the belief that something horrible really is going on.

And it's got vampires; wet, soggy, water-damaged vampires. They rise out of the sea, the thirsty corpses of the drowned - Ken Trew clearly had a whale of a time making them - the Sea Devils, that was good; the Marshmen, that was good; these things are something else. (My only regret is not seeing more of the different ones - the two lumpy faced ones seem a tiny bit ubiquitous, but never mind).

The denouement - especially the story of Baby Audrey - is superb and the final moment of peace (after a story with so very few survivors) is a very welcome resolution, this is Dr Who at its very best, and the Director's Cut (with some new effects and restored scenes) even better.

If I've a quibble, it's a minor one; in a story that deals so deftly with the sex-appeal of young womanhood, particularly Ace's distraction of the sergeant ('Professor, I'm not a little girl') I do wonder if the vampire Phyllis and Jean could not have been more the succubae of Wainwright's dreams. The story hit every other mark, often treading over boundaries in order to do so, but even to my fairly catholic tastes, looking at the big hair and long nails, I'd have run a mile.

Even if it was the 1980s.

(And Mr Parsons was great).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Curse of Fenric [1989] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Lots of people moan about Colin Baker and Sylvester Mccoy but I thought they were brilliant. This is a great adventure and full of intrigue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy! Clever! The best of the best., 27 Dec 2012
By 
J. Howse "Jase" (oxford, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Curse of Fenric [1989] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Let the chains of fenric shatter!!
In my opinion this is one of the best Doctor Who stories ever written and made. It is moody, dark, sinister with some moments of fun. Great acting throughout. A chilling sound track. Great special and make up effects. Its almost hard to believe this adventure was shown at around 7pm, its not a kiddies story in any way with some of its themes.
Buy it, grap yourself a drink and some nibbles, shut the doors and turn the lights off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars curse of fenric dvd review, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Curse of Fenric [1989] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Enjoyable - particularly the 2nd disc feature length version. The original version broadcast in episodes is very difficult to understand because of the omissions! Perhaps a little over-complicated as a story - Vikings, runes, Ultima machine, haemovores/vampires, Fenric, Russian commandos...Nicholas Parsons is excellent and made me forget 'Sale of the Century'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great dr who story, 28 Nov 2000
By 
R. A. Robinson "rarobinson" (tilburg, the netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This one is definitely a great story, but then I always like vampire stories. One of the best Sylvester McCoy stories anyway. Nice makeup fx, well done. Only minus is that the plot is sometimes a bit chaotic, hard to follow, but still okay in all. go buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legends are forged, 17 Sep 2003
By 
Jim Falcone (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Curse of Fenric [1989] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
At the end of the 80's Doctor Who died on T.V. But just before it's end came season 26 perhaps the greatest season since the Hinchcliffe years. Begining with the O.k Battlefield it featured the superb Ghost Light and Survival and the legendary Curse of Fenric.
This was the story that finally changed the Doctor for good. We had seen the manipulative cold warrior before but here he is to the fore as he uses everyone and even betrays his companion to destroy the greatest evil he had ever faced. This is the story that paved the way for the dark New Adventures and began one of the longest consistantly good Doctor Who runs (on or off the box) in Who History.
Even with out the features this would be one of the greatest releases ever. With the features it's a miricle of Who.
Oh don't take my word. Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Sylvester's Best!, 21 May 2010
By 
Mr. Thomas Grant (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Curse of Fenric [1989] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Ok, Sylvester wasn't my favourite doctor, we all have our favourites. Yes and mines either of the two bakers in the classic run. However, just cuz you like a particular doctor more doesn't mean you should "B" rate the rest of the show.

Initially I was hating Sylvester's doctor, probably cuz he was too silly & stupid, but so were the badly scripted and edited episodes of his first season as the doctor. His 2nd season (25th Anniversary) was a better improvement. However his 3rd (Season 26) was definately his best work. The Curse of Fenric, maybe like Ghost Light, a little confusing for younger viewers at the time, but I have to admit it was one of the greater stories from Sylvester's time.

Sylvester is better playing him as a more darker and mysterious timelord, keeping his companion in the dark until she bodes him to tell her what is going on. I also like the idea that this season is all about Sophie (ACE) and her secrets of more darker happenings in her past, like the little quotes about Gabriel Chase and hating her mother, etc.

This was doctor who getting back to where is should have been a few seasons ago, but maybe now it's too late. If Sylvester had been given these sort of stories sooner, the show may have survived longer. It isn't "The Caves of Androzani" or "City of Death", but Who is starting to climb back to those heights with this season. If only stories like this had come sooner for Sylvester it would have been pure brilliance and we would have more nostalgia for his doctor.

On review and buying this, I can say that for Sylvester's period of his doctor, most of stories of season 26 is the period worth buying & this is one of Sylvester's top 3 stories in my book.

If you love Slyvester as the doctor, then this is a must, if you don't mind him but like great who stories, then this is a must buy from his era.......One of Sylvester's Classic stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who at its best..., 20 Aug 2000
By 
mr.odie@another.com (Birmingham, England, UK) - See all my reviews
"The Curse of Fenric" is, without doubt, one of the best Doctor Who stories ever, and certainly the best of the McCoy era. Ian Briggs' script is surprisingly good after his rather dull debut story "Dragonfire" and the story moves at a frantic pace. So much so that, after viewing it in its entirety, I couldn't believe one hour and forty-four minutes had passed me by.
All the actors give it their best, and it's noticeable. Even the guest stars, Nicholas Parsons and Anne Reid, are fab! The season's trend of using the now dark and mysterious Doctor as a mentor/tormentor for Ace reaches its climax here, as she confronts the Doctor about his manipulation of others.
The direction of this serial is also superb, showing how good Doctor Who could be when the BBC allowed it. This serial not only boasts some decent special effects, but the creepy underwater sequences are well-executed with the atmosphere heightened by Mark Ayre's fine musical score.
This special video release also includes 15 sequences cut from original transmission, totalling over six minutes... This does nothing to slow down the pace and merely strengthens one of the best Doctor Who stories of all time, unlike "The 5 Doctors: Special Edition" where the extra footage of similar length merely slows the pace considerably and makes the plot confusing...
This serial is a must for every fan and non-fan alike as it is Doctor Who at its best. An added bonus is the price which is, for some bizarre reason, only 6.99 compared to the normal 11.99 price tag... Take advantage of this and check out one of the best stories of all time... The stories before and after this serial ("Ghost Light" and "Survival, the last ever story) are also strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the curse of fenric dr who dvd, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Curse of Fenric [1989] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I am very pleased with my DVD being an avid fan of doctor who the parcel arrived at lunchtime would always buy products from amazon bob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars drwho, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Curse of Fenric [1989] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
it is great u should watch it it was a great episode its just and I mean its great lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafbe34f8)

This product

Doctor Who - The Curse of Fenric [1989] [DVD] [1963]
6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews