Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Brit Comedy in Years!
I bought Wild West on DVD having never seen it, just because I wanted something to watch. And I've always loved Dawn French (French and saunders, Vicar of Dibley etc) so I felt it was an ideal choice. It is so far removed from any of her other comedy but don't let that put you off. This is one of the best programmes I've seen in a long time.
The humour is fairly...
Published on 31 Mar 2004 by boylyrical

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surely not bad enough for only 1 star!
Ok, this series isn't great, but it's not that bad either. There are some funny moments, but no episode is filled with many of them I must admit!
It strange that considering the talent involved this didn't turn out better, but you never know, the next series might be better, I'll still be brave & watch it anyway!
Published on 19 Mar 2004 by Russell Tit Davies


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Brit Comedy in Years!, 31 Mar 2004
This review is from: Wild West: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I bought Wild West on DVD having never seen it, just because I wanted something to watch. And I've always loved Dawn French (French and saunders, Vicar of Dibley etc) so I felt it was an ideal choice. It is so far removed from any of her other comedy but don't let that put you off. This is one of the best programmes I've seen in a long time.
The humour is fairly subtle so you need half a brain to understand some of the speech and sight gags. Set in a Cornish village it is based around an ensemble of characters - Mary (Dawn French) and Angela (Catherine Tate) are the linch pins of the community, serving behind the counter of the post office - where they also live in the flat above and share a bad as a lezbian couple until something better (i.e. a bloke) comes along. Then there's Old Jake, a lonely fisherman, Harry, the local "lad" and Holly (played by the very talented Anne-Marie Duff) who runs a witchcraft museum/shop.
The first episode is a bit dodgy, but every sitcom has that problem of setting up the characters - but in the subsequent episodes many strange and hilarious things occur such as Old Jake going missing, Mary and Angela holding a protest against holiday homes by breaking into an actresses home and using her widescreen tv and helping themselves to the liquor cabinet, the discovery that the local pub holds social evenings (swinging parties) upstairs to which Mary invites herself, arriving at the event with the line "I'm here for my poking".
I urge you to give this comedy a try. It's different - but it's certainly not to be missed! 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surely not bad enough for only 1 star!, 19 Mar 2004
This review is from: Wild West: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Ok, this series isn't great, but it's not that bad either. There are some funny moments, but no episode is filled with many of them I must admit!
It strange that considering the talent involved this didn't turn out better, but you never know, the next series might be better, I'll still be brave & watch it anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best BBC comedies ever., 5 Mar 2006
By 
Blue hunter (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wild West: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
A very funny comedy with a top class cast.
This was originally on the BBC and it went unnoticed by me when it was first shown on the t.v,however having heard
alot about it i rented it from Amazon and wasn't disappointed,it was hilarious.
It's not your usual comedy where you can see the joke coming or the obvious funny gag and then you laugh sort of thing, this is more of a dark comedy,as you might call it.To me it's more the characters who are funniest rather than the storylines.
All credit in my opinion to the cast including Dawn French,Catherine Tate,David Bradley,Anne-Marie Duff and many more.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE FUNNIEST SHOW EVER, 22 July 2004
This review is from: Wild West: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This has to be the funniest show i have ever seen in my life - I nearly died of laughter while watching it! I must have repeatedly watched it about 300 times afterwards!
Dawn French (who plays Mary Tregwednack) is fantastic and hilrious in this as are the other characters.
The series is packed with hilarious scenes such as mary counting to 10 in cornish,comparisons to 'french lorry - driverness',mary refusing euros and pouring candle wax on herself!!!
The funniest episode has to be 'Fear Of Bunjee' - Fantastic!
If there is one comedy you ever watch, it has got to be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sureal but fun, 26 Mar 2004
By 
J. E. Bamber "JJJJJ" (Seattle) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild West: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
_
In Wild West, there is plenty of humour surealism and fun. Mary and Angy have desided to become lesbians until they get better offer from the opposite sex, they live in a very small villiage and own the local news agents. With a host of weird and wacky supporting charecters this programme is a cut above the rest. admitedly it may try a little to much to be weird and sureal but at least its got enough humour to keep you watching, and this humour isnt hard to keep track of neither do you need a certain sense of humour to understand it unlike The Office (which i also love.) This series isnt going to be a award winner and neither does it want to be, but it is however a fun, fresh and slightly sureal attemp to revive the british comedy scene. I think the two lead actresses deserve a speacile mention as they have done some brilliant work here, Dawn French and Catherine Tate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - We need more of this!, 18 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild West: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest shows I've seen in years. I hope the BBC stick with it. This is what the BBC is for! Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lumpen, 12 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild West: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Just when you think the British sitcom is starting to become respectable again, with the likes of The Office, League of Gentlemen, Spaced, Father Ted, Black Books et al., along comes Wild West and it makes you despair: Flush it away with 'Orrible, Eyes Down and The Estate Agents.
Despite good production values and a decent cast, Wild West is desperate to be surreal, but the series just comes across as random, laboured and dull. Being strange is fine but no subsitute for wit or humour, while the characterisation - usually an essential component in a sitcom - seems very thin indeed. In fact it's hard to believe that writer Simon Nye was also responsible for the excellent How Do You Want Me and even harder to believe that a second series was made. Now that IS surreal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild West: Series 1 [DVD] [2002]
Wild West: Series 1 [DVD] [2002] by Juliet May (DVD - 2004)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews