Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars true love
if i could choose one tv series to watch over and over again until my dying day it would be Shooting the Past. Poliakoff is an absolute master of beauty and atmospheric tension and i adore this series to death. it combines all my favourite things - photos, old paris, murders (you'll know what i mean),memories and the stories that go with fotos. The music is absolutely...
Published on 19 Aug 2006 by Ms. F. I. Macdonald

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How does Lindsay Duncan keep a straight face?
Yet another dud from the 'genius' who is Stephen Poliakoff.

A bunch of English eccentrics are trusted with the world's biggest collection of photographs...yup Poliakoff sure likes photographs! Well this bunch of guardians including one by the name of Spig (even Poilakoff's nicknames are naff!) jealousy guard their collection until corporate yank arrives to...
Published 7 months ago by D. Sedgwick


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Meaningful Drama on DVD, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting the Past (1999) [DVD] (DVD)
I had this drama on VHS and I had always wanted to own the DVD. It is a great play and it is so easy to slip into the world of this archival foundation and empathise witht eh two main actors. It draws attention to the large commercial develo-pers who want to rid the world of the foundations which want to keep the past alive by destroying the archives in the provincial towns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars drama at its best, 2 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Shooting the Past (1999) [DVD] (DVD)
I have rewatched this series some time after seeing the original. The somewhat quirky charachters are braught to life by some superb acting and the incedental music is wonderfully evocotive.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How does Lindsay Duncan keep a straight face?, 9 Sep 2013
By 
D. Sedgwick "DSedgwick" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shooting the Past (1999) [DVD] (DVD)
Yet another dud from the 'genius' who is Stephen Poliakoff.

A bunch of English eccentrics are trusted with the world's biggest collection of photographs...yup Poliakoff sure likes photographs! Well this bunch of guardians including one by the name of Spig (even Poilakoff's nicknames are naff!) jealousy guard their collection until corporate yank arrives to spoil their little piece of heaven. But thia yank is a tart with a heart and he soon melts before our very eyes as the eccentrics show him the error of his ways.

Yep, the series depends quite heavily on stereotypes: English = eccentric = good and American = mercantile = bad. Poliakoff is, as ever, about as subtle as a sledgehammer with such simplistic dichotomies; the bad Americans even plan to open up...a business school!! Because as we all know Americans are immune to culture and history and all they care about is money and commerce - what an offensive little premise this rot is based upon.

Lindsay Duncan somehow plays the role straight - an amazing performance given the ludicrous storyline: She and Timothy Spall start to make "connections" which basically means they find millions of pictures of the yanks grandmother - but how do they manage this extraordinary feat....by making "connections". Luckily it appears that the yanks grandmother had virtually every second of her life recorded on camera (many years before the invention of the camera-phone)- and somehow Timothy Spall is able to find thousands of pictures of this lady and Lindsay Duncan is able to tell her life story...phew! all in a matter of days!

Enter violins and pianos and lots of lots of er...photograph as the yank realises that...he had a grandmother!!! It's quite a shock to our corporate hard nut to actually realise that he had...well a grandmother, but perhaps he just stunned to find that every second of the ladies' life appears to have been photographed! Enter even more piano and violins as the yank tries to take the revelation of having a grandmother in.

Meanwhile Lindsay Duncan in her role as the host of 'This is your life' or 'Who do you think you are' somehow manages to keep a straight face for the entire three hour slogathon. But it all ends well as we are told by Ms Duncan in a very clumsy piece to camera at the end.

As ever with Poilakoff a ludicrous plot, ridiculous characters, but lots and lots of pianos and violins and oh...photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow but interesting, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting the Past (1999) [DVD] (DVD)
Can't way I enjoyed this film. The acting was good though. The storyline was strange to say the least
but generally I found it an interesting watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ho-Hum, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting the Past (1999) [DVD] (DVD)
This series was tedious, and I never much cared about most of the people who managed the photographic archives. Sure, it would have been a tragic shame to lose the incalculable historical value of these photos, but as a drama this story went nowhere. The central character, suicidal Oswald Bates (Timothy Spall), is eccentric almost to the point of lunacy. The character of Nick (Blake Ritson) serves no discernible purpose, nor does spooky Spig (Emilia Fox) except as eye candy. Marilyn Truman (Lindsay Duncan) is quite good in a lead roll, and these three hours would have been far better with just her and the American land developer Christopher Anderson (Liam Cunningham) matching wits on screen. They are very good together, and Irish actor Cunningham does a splendid job of voicing an American accent. On another positive note, writer Stephen Poliakoff resists the temptation of portraying Anderson as a stereotypical, greedy businessman with no heart. The script allows him to show a softer, sympathetic side, willing to listen to his adversaries and perhaps make concessions in the interest of preserving irreplaceable images from the distant past. This series is worth a look but hardly a "must" purchase for your personal collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooting the Past, 18 Jun 2011
By 
R. Wood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shooting the Past (1999) [DVD] (DVD)
Was replacing copy "lent" and not returned. Aaaargh!
Delivered promptly and in good condition. No more lending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaba19cc0)

This product

Shooting the Past (1999) [DVD]
Shooting the Past (1999) [DVD] by Stephen Poliakoff (DVD - 2004)
6.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews