Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving and heart-warming tale of discovery.
Anything starring Sir Michael Gambon and Timothy Spall is bound to be of a high quality, and Poliakoff's moving and heart-warming tale of discovery is certainly no exception. A beautifully complex story that begins with an invitation to a family reunion and blossoms into revelation and remembrance of a life passed never fails to keep the viewer transfixed. When Daniel...
Published on 25 May 2001

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All fine
I started to watch this quite late thinking I'd watch it over two nights.

In the end I was up unto 2am on a school night because it had me pinned to the sofa.

It is a slow burning character piece about family and the secrets that die with each generation that still manage to have a huge impact on the next.

Michael Gambon stole every scene...
Published on 11 Feb. 2009 by Sal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poliakoff's Enchanting Spell, 15 July 2012
This review is from: Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
I have recently started to explore Poliakoff's works and must say that I am thoroughly impressed. "Perfect Strangers" instantly evoked an intriguing spell of the complex aspects of a large family. The ingredients of time, great writing, and acting truly pulled me into the story. Matthew Macfayden, Lindsay Duncan, Michael Gabon and Claire Skinner were all excellent in their invocation of their characters. However, it is the writing and the directing that truly makes the story come together in its complex puzzle. I now regard Poliakoff as one the greatest current writers of British drama and will explore his work further. The Stephen Poliakoff BBC Collection: Caught On A Train / Perfect Strangers / Shooting The Past [DVD] is a great collection in case you want to watch more of his works. Bravo!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hauntingly magical television Drama, 5 April 2002
By A Customer
from the very begining when we aree introduced to daniel's excentric relations we are taken on a roller coaster ride of emotion sympatiesing with nearly all concerned a s well as been emotionaally tied to the excellent characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sane and intelligent entertainment, 6 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
It's Poliakoff, and it follows his formula. You know what you are going to get, and he delivers the goods. It's not very deep, and it's not very fast-paced, but it's elegant and engaging. Nothing much happens, but what happens, happens beautifully. The visuals are as pleasing as the dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
This must be seen as his ultimate work, such a cast, such mystery and complex thinking as a writer and then as a director. The camera work is perfect and there are few major film works that can match this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Strangers, 23 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD]

A truly great movie from start to finish. I loved Michael Gambon and Matthew McFadyen's roles in this Stephen Poliakoff story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poliakoff at his best, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Dr. Mark W. Tebbit (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
It's hard to say what it is about these Stephen Poliakoff films so intensely watchable. He does seem to have a unique insight into the pain of family conflicts, without sliding into mawkishness or gloom. He also has a remarkable gift for seleciting perfect casts. Lindsay Duncan and Claire Skinner in particular are absolutely stunning in these roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellant value in three parts, good story that holds your attention. Acting also good. Would recommend this DVD. I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boringly Soporific, 23 April 2012
By 
H. A. Weedon "Mouser" (North Somercotes, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
This production of Perfect Strangers by Stephen Poliakoff comes across very strongly as an unbelievable story with unbelievable characters played by unconvincing actors in an unrealistic setting. Matthew McFadden, whose diction was poor, played his roll as if he was bored stiff with it and Michael Gambon, Lindsay Duncan, and Timothy Spall all played to the gallery as if to say: 'Here we are and you're going to like this just because we're in it.'

The plain truth is that this play is little more than a rehash of popular clichés cobbled together as a crowd pleaser as one might compose characters such as Desperate Dan for Dandy Magazine. It's sheer unorginality is enough to bore the pants off a boar pig - if he were foolish enough to wear any. As the action staggers sluggishly onward the viewer soon becomes all too aware of how it's all going to end. The following morning after the evening when I had been foolish enough to view this travesty of real life to its boringly predictable end, I walked through the village and encountered six real life characters each one of whom was more fascinatingly inspiring than any one of Poliakoff's clichés.

This play is not entertainment; it's a form of cruelty to real life people who are foolish enough to watch it , egged on by slavishly sycophantic peons concocted by those who tell us we must like such and such a work because it's acted by acclaimed actors of one kind or another. It's all a question of: 'If you get a reputation for early rising you can lie in bed till noon.' But don't let me put anyone off. We all have different tastes and, believe it or not, there are other folks around like me. So, to them I say: don't waste your money on this tripe. It isn't up to the standard of greatness one expects from the best of British play productions. This play is the kind of cobbled together twaddle that expresses everything that is boringly soporific about the worst kind of playwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reconditioning and prompt delivery., 4 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
The pnone although reconditioned looked like new and came the next day . Delighted with the service. Only minor complaint was that padded envelope wasn't sealed and something could have fallen out .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD]
Perfect Strangers [2001] [DVD] by Stephen Poliakoff (DVD - 2004)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews