Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant performance black comedy
Rob Brydon and Julia Davis turn in some astounding performances in this brilliantly funny series, co-produced by Steve Coogan. This is black comedy as it should be...realistic, subtle and in places quite disturbing. Presented in the format of six stand-alone fly-on-the-wall documentaries following the lives of six (wildly different) married couples, the linking theme is...
Published on 15 Jan 2004 by Touring Mars

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A clever comedy with a difference
A difficult one to review as it is a very alternative and black comedy. Certainly it's one of the most well delivered I've come across and the acting is superb.

The comedy takes the form of a reality interview. A look at six disparate couples and all played by Brydon and Davis. Some of the humour is cutting, droll and near the knuckle. I was quite captivated...
Published 4 months ago by R. C. Harris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Dark comedy at it's finest, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
If you like Rob Brydon, buy this.
If you worship Julia Davis, buy this.

It is the darkest, funniest, most uncomfortable things to have come from the British Comedy circuit in the last few year,

It crosses the line, then it turns back and defecates over the line

In one word, amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good !, 2 Jan 2014
By 
De Vlieger "narco" (Aix, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Great "comedy humaine" , Brydon and Davis are a superb match. Watched it three times allready, they should have made more !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unheard of and underrated, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Nighty Night was given to me by a friend who knew I like weird gubbins, and the second series aside (awful), it immediately made me look for more Julia Davis stuff. And this is a real find, so funny and yes, very much like Victoria Woods spoof documentarys she used to do in "as seen on tv" (but who hasn't copied that, from peter kay and Catherine tate, to ricky gervais and more). Rob and Julia are great, and some of the episodes could be pilots for whole series really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly dark, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Michael Newboult (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I hadn't seen this when it aired on TV but love the stars so gave it a try. It's BRILLIANT! The humor is very very dark, so be warned. It's not laugh out loud, it's cringe at story due to the amazing script and acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant dark comedy, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
julia davis is amazingly funny! had me laughting for days and the a b c game well funnyist thing iv seen i nearly wet myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brydon & Davis at their Best., 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Human Remains [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Rob Brydon and Julia Davis wrote and performed this fabulous series of programmes. Their expertise in observational comedy is excellent. They are wonderful exponents of 'the dark side' of humour and this particular series highlights their talents magnificently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely unmissable!, 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: Human Remains [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
If you like Rob Brydon, have seen 'Nighty Night' and enjoyed it, you'll love this. This series of beautifully observed insights into what makes some couples tick will make you squirm, laugh out loud, smile knowingly (we all know people like these) and even empathise. Superb acting and a cracking script - and don't miss the after-credit snippets, or the deleted scenes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Career-best performances from Brydon & Davis, 19 Dec 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This little gem may have flown beneath your radar in 2000, but to this day it stands as one of my favourite and most wonderfully written and performed comedies. Brydon was fresh from Marion & Geoff and I only knew Davis through her work with Chris Morris, but both have never been better than in this project. The DVD is a delight as well, taking you deep into the improvisational sessions that formed the writing of Human Remains. Every episode is a joy, and the sheer versatility in performances is something to behold. It stands up very well to repeat viewing, often offering something that passed you by the first time around. I'd recommend to anyone who loves to laugh, and who enjoys seeing artists at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very watchable, 6 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Remains [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Rob Brydon and Julia Davies fans will like this. It's a series of docu style comedies where Brydon and Davies play different types of couples, Funny if you like their style. I loved Nighty night and enjoyed these. Didn't give 5stars as I wasn't rolling about laughing, but it was very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be sick to love it but it helps!!, 16 Jan 2010
This review is from: Human Remains [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
A wonderful collection of "documentaries" it's just a shame that only one series was ever made.

If you like Rob Brydon in Gavin and Stacey you'll LOVE him in this. I've converted most of my friends to this.

Spindelero!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Human Remains [DVD] [2000]
Human Remains [DVD] [2000] by Matt Lipsey (DVD - 2003)
£4.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews