Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magic Game!
When I first heard about this game I was sceptical - have they gone to far and are now scraping the barrel a bit? I thought it sounded like a poor Harry Potter rip off and would not appeal to me a adult Sims player. I am very glad I was wrong!
This game is actually far better than anticipated. Each household will now get a free Magic Set to start them off, they...
Published on 15 Nov 2003 by Essex Girl

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sims
Being a huge Sims fan (already have my copy of Sims 2 on pre-order - just bought a new graphics card to support it!) I wasn't in that much of a hurry to buy this expansion pack (although I did buy it for my girlfriend) I thought that it was a lousy idea especially after great hits like Unleashed and SuperStar. But this expansion pack does hold down pretty well. If you...
Published on 27 Feb 2004 by Mr. R. Hamper


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magic Game!, 15 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
When I first heard about this game I was sceptical - have they gone to far and are now scraping the barrel a bit? I thought it sounded like a poor Harry Potter rip off and would not appeal to me a adult Sims player. I am very glad I was wrong!
This game is actually far better than anticipated. Each household will now get a free Magic Set to start them off, they can keep it or get rid of it depending on if you want them to be a magic family/person or not. They can make a spell with their first ingredients and then go to Magic Town for other ingredients. There a two ways into Magic Town - a balloon via the phone, which takes the whole family, or an individual magic Sim can jump through a hole in the ground. Whilst there they can earn and spend magicoins, plus complete challenges set my Magic vendors to get unusual ingredients. You can have some fun with your combinations of ingredients, which sit in the Sims inventory. You can use them to bake in pies as well, in the new baking set, for some funny results (My Sim got a donkey's head). Sims can also grow their own wine.
There is not a negative that I can say about this game (I have played it lots over the last two weeks). The only disadvantage, like with all the Sim expansion packs, as that it takes time to load.
Even with Sims 2 I don't think I will stop playing this game, it is still a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 22 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
I must admit when I found out that Maxis were releasing this my first thoughts were "Oh my god, now they have ruined it." I truely believed that releasing this add-on, where the Sims have magic, above what everyone truely wanted (cars that you can drive, (ala "Busting Out"), seeing the Sims at work, (ala Sims 2), etc.) I really thought it was a mistake. At first I wasn't going to buy it, now I am glad I did.
The fact that the Sims have magic doesn't automacticly mean they have to use it. In fact the addition of Magic Town where you can go and put on a magic show (sawing a woman in half etc..) is great.
The other great addition through this pack is the addition of collecting MagiCoins in order to get more magic ingreadients. This is where having the new cookbook comes in. You also have a butterchurner. These put with the others have made THE SIMS one of, if not, the best games on the market today.
Just as you think the game can't get any better, up pops the free demo disc of THE SIMS 2. Now that game looks absolutly brilliant. Altogether I give this game pack, add-on pack, whichever you want to call it 4/5. It would have scored 5/5 if it had featured cars you could drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makin' Magic, 23 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
This has to be my favorite so far! I love it. Magic Town is great. I loved the fact that this one gives you more challenges than just getting promotted. Bantering with the traders in magic land is great and dualling to earn magic coins is fab. You also get the chance to perform on stage and impress your sim friends!! But only if you're really good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And for my next trick..., 16 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
The finale of the Sims (as we know it) is just like the icing on the cake. I don't know how they managed to include so many great things in one expansion pack, but they did!
It's just magical. The magic begins when a salesman from Magico leaves a mysterious cardboard box outside your door. Opening the box reveals a magic wand, special magicoins, and several potions and items for creating your own spells.
You need to read up on spells, and get your Sims down to Magic town to buy or find the ingredients they need to stir up some hubble bubble. You can also buy simple cooking ingredients such as flour and sugar, so you can bake pies and cakes. There is a fantastic new oven with this EP, and a whole new kitchen theme to go around it. It's very olde-worlde and quite Mediterranean feeling.
I just think the whole theme of this game is excellent, so I love all the costumes that come with it, lovely flowing dresses for the girls and blousey new-romantic style shirts for the boys. I just don't think it is ANYTHING like Harry Potter, so don't think you're buying yet another Harry-esque product because it isn't true.
5 stars without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 2 July 2006
By 
Jo King (A place full of happiness.) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
The makin' of magic! A truely wicked game where you can cast spells on other sims. You can even turn yourself into a werewolf, fairy, pixie, vampire and more! I love he cute pet dagons, but they set fire to your house a bit too much. Exciting new features and items. The only one dissapointing thing is that is is so addictive!! This is my first expantion pack, and I wonder what the others are like! A must buy game!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best expansion pack yet !!!, 19 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
This is a great game....! The first day i got it i played it for about 5 hours straight....no kidding....it's that fun! It's so good because you get to hunt for rare ingredients and do magic spells. I'll give you one suggestion though...i wouldn't buy the dragon...and that's because once it hatches it can set things on fire...and my person died becuse of that. I would only get a dragon if you put fire alarms all over your houses!! The sims makin' magic is hard to understand at first...it took me a while. Like, the clown confetti and pegasus feather, and wizard eyelashes and things like that are hard to get...you have to play different things against people or by yourself to get the ingredients you need. Also, to buy things at the different vendors you must have a certain amount of coins for each thing at the different vendors. You get coins by performing shows and doing magic duels with other sims. Well, i hope this helped! I suggest this game and give it a 5-star rating!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sims- Complete?, 3 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
If the rumours are true that this is the last expansion pack to be released then it is a MUST buy- even if the rumours aren't true you should still buy it anyway because it's one of the best expansion packs to come out for the Sims. By now, with so many expansion packs out, it's hard to imagine what more the creators could come up with. But never under-estimate genius'- as the creators come up with this superb idea to literally make the Sims feel magical.
To make this expansion pack so brilliant the creators include the customary host of new objects, skins and tools which means you have loads more to decorate your house with to your hearts content (if you have all of the expansion packs you must have more objects than you know what to do with!) But more important is the ability to perform magic. The Sims go Harry Potter style with a host of new tricks to play on their unsuspecting neighbours, and if they are feeling adventerous, themselves. The magic is brilliant as it adds a whole new dimension to the Sims and gives you free reign and complete control to mess around and wreak havoc or try and get out of the tiresome jobs of looking after your house like using magic to do the tidying. Not only that but there is a place to go, similar to the 'down-town areas' where you can perform magic for the general public of Sims, plus a new array of shops to get yourself kitted out.
This expansion pack should simply be pre-ordered straight away by any Sim-loving fan, whether you three, four or no other expansion packs- it doesn't matter! The Sims: Makin' Magic is one of the best to come out and is only rivaled by that of Unleashed or Holiday. The rest, although excellent, don't even compare and if you feel the Sims are beginning to lose it's touch or in anyway becoming boring then this expansion pack will certainly liven things up again. There's plenty to do, plenty to see and plenty to buy- so if its one game you buy this Christmas- get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 6 May 2004
This review is from: The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
This has to be the best of all The Sims Expansion Packs. Unlike some of its predecessors, it not only adds skins, household items and new themes, but a whole new aspect to the game play. It becomes a challenge to unlock all the spells in the family spell book, and a quest to find the magic spell-ingredients in Magic Town. Your Sims can put their hard-earned Logic, Creativity and Mechanical points to good use by becoming magicians and conjurers. Make friends instantly by casting a spell - turn your enemies into toads, or watch your kids become adults. You can even turn those annoying pink flamingos into Go-Go dancers, and make your garden gnomes water your plants.
This is THE BEST of all expansion packs. Buy buy buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best was yet to come!, 30 July 2003
This review is from: The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
I think that the Sims Makin' Magic, was the game we were all waiting for. It is, also, rumored to be the last game out for the Sims 1. The Sims Makin' Magic introduces new foods, and more skins, both spooky and normal. It shows a new side to your sims, and lets you turn those nasty neighbours into frogs! But Beware, your spell may come back to haunt you. It may sound as easy as pie, but it doesn't even come close. With this expansion pack, you are most certainly in control. You can use your magic to work wonders, or to create havoc - its up to you. If you have never bought an expansion pack before, then this is a must. It is almost the best expansion pack, just beaten by Unleashed -well life aint worth living without those little furrry pets!
If you have all of the other sims games, then pre-order it now, you will certainly find it's the game you've been missing! (Only, don't get too carried away, and try some of the spells out for yourself, or disasterous things may happen....)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sims Makin Magic is Fab, 1 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
The sims makin magic is really great i have played countless times and i really think it is worth the money. Although you should shop around but i found Amazon was the cheapest. There are lots of new items to choose from including Med style kitchen, bakers oven, loads of fruit trees and spell ingredients. I love the rides you can make for your sims i made a death ride and all my sims love it. You can also perform at sideshows or do a bit of magic when no-ones looking and you actually are able to live in Magic town. I love the way you can bring those sweet gnomes to life and make them to you gardening and stuff, you can also bring those tacky looking flamingos to life for a little more excitement around your sims home! But who would think of a skeleton coming as a maid in your sims house, shes actaully a really good maid though. But i love the pet dragons they eat your garbage and anoying small creatures. I would recomend that sims fans do get this but if you have just recently started with the sims leave it a while as it is quite complex to begin with if you dont know what your doing.
Hope you enjoy it
Amy
xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD)
The Sims: Makin' Magic Expansion Pack (PC CD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / Me / XP)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews