Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT'S THE CRITISISM?
This is the most breathtaking game I have ever seen. The graphics are out of this world, the soundtrack is fantastic, the gameplay is stunning. This game is not suited to us mortals.
You start off the game with an introduction battle, The 'last alliance'. After that, you play as aragorn at Amun Sol, protecting the pathetic Frodo from a 'cruel' death by the...
Published on 5 Mar 2003 by alaingray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Two Towers
I bought this game thinking it would be the same as the first. However, it was completely different with some things worse and others better. This is all down to the film licensing being given to the second game and onwards rather then from the beginning of the series.

Plot: You choose either Aragorn, Legolas or Gimli and guide them through 16 missions closely...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by Borry


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT'S THE CRITISISM?, 5 Mar 2003
This is the most breathtaking game I have ever seen. The graphics are out of this world, the soundtrack is fantastic, the gameplay is stunning. This game is not suited to us mortals.
You start off the game with an introduction battle, The 'last alliance'. After that, you play as aragorn at Amun Sol, protecting the pathetic Frodo from a 'cruel' death by the ringwraiths.
After those two, you have the wonderful choice of playing as aragorn, gimli or legolas. Battling your way through different environment you eventually reach the climax of helms deep. The levels are gripping and original. Cool sword (or axe) combinations add to the effect. You can even unlock a secret level, character, and cheat codes.
Interviews with the film stars and producers are also fun to watch. 'Frodo', 'Gandalf', 'Aragorn', 'Legolas' and 'Gimli' all give their oppinion on the game.
The game only has one con, it gives half of the film away. Do not play until you've seen the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best action adventure for a long time., 3 Nov 2003
The lord of the rings the two towers is quite simply magnificent. This is a basically a hack and slash game using a variety of weapons such as swords, bows, knives and axes as you start the quest to destroy the ring. The whole game is based on the first two films by peter jackson and i think it does a great job of capturing the detail of the film well and has clips from both the first two films. Playing with a choice of aragorn, legolas, or gimli (and an unlockable character)is a great choice of players although i would of liked to see frodo and sam play a active role in the game. One of the greatests assets of the game is the upgrading menu where you can spend your experience points on deathly combo's that will make your completion of the levels that little bit quicker. With cheats and interviews from actors from the film this game will keep you playing for months and if you complete the whole game and one of your characters is on level experience 10 you will be able to unlock a secret level where you take on everysingle enemy imaginable. A truly great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (PS2), 28 Dec 2002
The films have been excellent so far in my opinion. I have had the chance to see them both on the big screen and after watching The Two Towers I thought I’d buy the game to see how it holds up on the Playstation 2.
The conversion from film to game is excellent as you work your way through the missions or levels (16 of them) you work through the first film to the second fighting all the characters from the movies. The cut scenes are great telling the story perfect as you fight your way to the end, if you’ve not seen the films yet playing this game will give you a good idea what they are about. The sound is very good also, with music from the films.
All in all this is a very well worked game and if you liked the movie you will love the game!
Game play 4
Graphics 4
Sound 5
Lifespan 4
S|G|
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Ring to Rule Them All . . . ., 20 Feb 2003
By 
Welcome to Middle-Earth, home to three of the best films ever made (if the third one's as good as the first two), heroes, villain's, sorcerors, orcs, magi, monsters, swords, sorcery and a plot so ludicrously hard to follow that most will have no idea. Yep, it's Lord of The Rings, and it's finally found it's way onto console in the wake of the first two superb films by Peter Jackson. This game was probably best to wait though, as the PS2 and Xbox, really do the book and films justice.
The game is essentially a scrolling hack and slash em' up (is that a genre?), where you control on of three members of the fellowship of the ring, Aaragorn the ranger and heir to the throne of Gondor, a formidable swordsman, and half-decent bowman, Legolas, a prince of the elves, whose Archery skills are second to none, or Gimli, son of Gloin, a dwarf powerhouse whose axe will cut swathes through the enemy. Each level (let's get this clear now, this game covers both of the first two films), requires play with all three charcters (bar the first two), and each requires a different approach depending on your character, for example, Legolas is going to have a tough time in the crowded mayhem of Balin's Tomb, whereas Gimli will suffer in the Westfold, where ranged attacks are preferable over close quaters fighting. As each level is beaten with any character it unlocks the next, but progress should be wary.
The reason for this is experience. In a level, if you successfully beat enemies without getting hurt and using combos, you will build up your skill meter and earn better experience, so replaying can be good. Experience advances your characters level, and as their level increases, they can buy more skills with their experience points. This can be extra health, ranged attack improvements, or new combos, allowing you to craft the characters to your style of play, or strengthen weaker areas. this really adds a personal touch to the game.
The game also proffers numerous other rewards, such as interviews with the cast and crew and even a secret character.
This game is certainly beautiful to look at with some stunning graphics, and it plays very well due to the customizable nature of the characters. However there are flaws. the experience system can be frustrating as you are forced to replay levels over and over again to try and get a decent score. Also, it is very much on rails, and can feels very confined. Had they opened up the game a bit more and made the experience less essential for the last levels (that is if you actually want to finish them!)
That said, this is a superb piece of entertainment, and perfectly captures the feel of the films (thanks to ORIGINAL, yes, original, cast recordings of the voices), and fans will certainly be happy, i know i was. Not a fan (yes, both of you), you're gonna have to love scrolling beat 'em ups to fall in love with this one. Patience is a virtue, and it does not ring more true than with this game, stick with it and you will be rewarded with one of the best games of this type in years, and one of the most entertaining and well made film tie-ins in many a year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 14 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This game obviously had a lot to live up to with the films being both amazing and popular, and it has lived up to it fully. Even though there isn't a lot of depth to it, it still provides great entertainment, especially for those who liked the film. The thrill of firing arrows at the speed Legolas does really brings the game alive. The combos are impressive when pulled off and you feel very much a part of the action when you are surrounded by orks.
One criticism could be that it deviated from the story line but the levels that they have included definitely add to the gaem rather than detract from it, so it doesn't really matter in the end.
There are three difficulty settings and three characters to complete each mission with so he length of play has the possiblity for quite a while. There are also a few extras for those dedicated fans on the makin of the film and the game.
Overall i really enjoyed playing it but if you want a game with a lot of depth the don't go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the rings: The two towers., 2 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Platinum (Video Game)
When I bought this game I was expecting it to be a great game with realistic graphics and a huge variety of things to do, and you know what? I was absolutely right. The two towers lets you play as Legolas(the best) Aragorn(2nd best) and Gimli(not so good.) You need to play through huge fantastic levels fighting Orcs and Uruk-Hai not to mention a cave troll.
Bad Points: This game has minor flaws,
1) It is somewhat repetitive,
2) It doesn't follow the exact storyline.
Overall:
Graphics 8/10
Gameplay 8/10
Sound 9/10
Lifespan 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lord Of The Rings - The Two Towers (PS2), 28 Dec 2002
The films have been excellent so far in my opinion. I have had the chance to see them both on the big screen and after watching The Two Towers I thought I’d buy the game to see how it holds up on the Playstation 2.
The conversion from film to game is excellent as you work your way through the missions or levels (16 of them) you work through the first film to the second fighting all the characters from the movies. The cut scenes are great telling the story perfect as you fight your way to the end, if you’ve not seen the films yet playing this game will give you a good idea what they are about. The sound is very good also, with music from the films.
All in all this is a very well worked game and if you liked the movie you will love the game!
Game play 4
Graphics 4
Sound 5
Lifespan 4
S|G|
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game!, 30 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Platinum (Video Game)
This game is a brilliant follow-up of the two lord of the rings movies. The World of Middle-earth is brought to the gamer very well. You may play as either Aragorn, Legolas or Gimli. This will be very exciting for fans of the movie as it contains levels from both the fellowship of the ring, and the two towers! The environments are realistic and the levels interesting, though I was quite disappointed with the content of the levels, every single time you are killing orcs and beasts over and over again (though this may be good for some gamefans, I would have preffered some different content in some of the levels). This game contains many scenes from the movie and if you play well you can unlock interviews with the cast from the movie. The graphics are good, though not as impressive as other games I have recently played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord Of The Rings, Lord Of The Games?, 24 Jan 2003
By 
olly (Newcastle,England) - See all my reviews
If you've seen the movie and you like it you'll love this. Its action packed and amazingly addictive.You can play with either Gimli, Legolas or Aragon. Gimli being best at close combat, Legolas best at long range and Aragon a good all rounder. The aim of the game being to protect cities and people and the last normal level being to protect the castle of Helms Deep.
I was addicted to this game, the only down side to me being the short lifespan what with some of the levels being very short. A great addition being that they have interviews with all the characters that took part in the game.
It was a great idea to bring in the buying of combos and equiptment. All in all a must have game and despite the reviews,in my eyes this could be more entertaining than Vice City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the rings the two towers, 30 Mar 2003
By 
Sam (wigan, united kingdom) - See all my reviews
When i ordered this game i had high expectations. And when i recieved it that was exactly what i got. If you are a person who likes beat 'em' up's then this game is definatley for you. The game combines the first film and the second film. In all there are about 12 , 13 missions which doesn't sound much but they are quite long. Also there are a number of secret and bonus missions but they are all the same. The only critisism i have is that more characters should have been available also there could and should have been more missions. i would of personally liked to have seen the missions: where gandalf fights the balroc, A mission involving the ents And mission involving gollum. But i have to say that this game was definatly worth waiting for. You will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Platinum
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Platinum by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews