Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first album!
I was a bit dubious about this CD - I always am when I like a debut album so much that I tend to wonder if the second will live up to the first...and it does. There are more heavier tracks than on the first one, which we got a taste of with "Whatever Happened To My Rock 'n Roll". All in all, I would say that BRMC have released an album that outshines the first - a task...
Published on 18 Jan 2004 by LithiuMart

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No real progress from 2001/2002
Dark brooding vocals..distorted basslines and a heavy percussive layer of sound....havent we heard this before...yes..on their debut album released in the UK in Jan 2002!!.
Sadly for their legions of fans(me included) this album is merely good...very similar to the first album.although minus the slower more interesting tracks.Rob Turner and Peter Hayes sound almost...
Published on 29 Aug 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first album!, 18 Jan 2004
This review is from: Take Them On, On Your Own (Audio CD)
I was a bit dubious about this CD - I always am when I like a debut album so much that I tend to wonder if the second will live up to the first...and it does. There are more heavier tracks than on the first one, which we got a taste of with "Whatever Happened To My Rock 'n Roll". All in all, I would say that BRMC have released an album that outshines the first - a task I thought would be very hard to do. Heavily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult second album? I don't think so..., 1 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. Gideon D. Brody "twitter me: gideon_" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take Them On, On Your Own (Audio CD)
As with their last album BRMC have produced a rousing, effervescent album capable of improving your day quite considerably!!
There is simply no hold-up as the raging fire set alight on the first LP is inflamed further as BRMC add a quart of paraffin to the mix.
"Stop" surges in the same vein as past records surged, "Six Barrel Shotgun" taps into your adrenalin supply and presses the 'GO!' button and you're left salivating for it to continue. It does, relentlessly!
BRMC are a sensationally gifted American band and like that other great US outfit, Queens of the Stone Age, they combine a deeply dark side with melody that oozes subversion and rebellion with a knowing cool that you crave for in any real rock band.
Other standouts include "Generation" and "Shade of Blue" which stick to the formula of the first album using ascending chord progressions that fill your ears with a beautifully warm, rustic, fuzzy sound as they cascade around your mind.
Lyrically, BRMC have a little to say regarding the state of the world but with a sonic background so powerful you can simply allow yourself to be taken away by the thick, decadent layers of guitar heaven.
Buy this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very cool, 22 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. S. F. Bashford "steve bashford" (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take Them On, On Your Own (Audio CD)
I brought this album on the basis of hearing the single 'stop', which i thought sounded really cool-like The Jesus & Mary Chain or early Oasis. I was pleasantly suprised to discover that its a pretty good album and found myself listening to it over and over. The first 4 tracks are the best-'We're all in love' a very simple catchy pop song, the romp of '6 barrel shotgun' and (perhaps the key track)'In Like The Rose' with its distinctive 'Crush with Eyeliner'-type guitar sound and a really powerful chorus.
The only thing stopping this album from being a great one is the fact that it doesn't quite maintain the quality hinted at in the first four tracks. However, after a dip in the middle there are 3 crackers to finish, especially 'Rise or Fall', with the memorable lines "Mothers teach you to crawl, Fathers teach you to rise and fall".
I expect some journalists to get terribly excited about the US government references and start hailing them as the political saviours of rock'n'roll...the (annoying!) idea that bands only mean anything if they have something to say. Its not a political record, just a very promising rock album and only a few tunes short of an excellent one. BRMC are one of the better bands of the new crop, keep an eye on them, these guys have potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fear and Loathing in the heart of the desert, YEAH!, 5 April 2006
By 
Elliot Davies "ahttt" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take Them On, On Your Own (Audio CD)
Basically, were I to traverse America in a red convertible and I was only allowed to take on album with me, this would be it. It's not that it screams "cool", or brings to mind the high rolling lifestyle, it's just that it would provide the perfect soundtrack to a roadtrip of this sort. A road trip that features illegal speeds and substances, endless stretches of desert and very dodgy motels an' bars. This is all you'd need. Says it all really, doesn't it?
No? Ok then, this album is like Iggy's Raw Power for the 21st century, in that it radiates nothing but raw power. It's loud, aggressive and very, very dangerous, like befriending a Hell's Angel.
The wonderful walls of feedback that made the eponymous debut such a pleasurable listening experience such a pleasent listen are gone, replaced with a more searing, crunchy guitar sound. You can't really air guitar to it, but still, it's immense, it's ear bleeding and benefits from top volume playing. Every single track feels like chewing on an adrenaline gland. Even the acoustic "And I'm Aching" evokes imagery of sitting 'round a campfire in the heart of a desert, sleeping with a shotgun to ward off bandits and rattle snakes.
It may be political (Song titles like "Kill The US Government", lyrics like "I'm sick and tired of this generation"), but it provides a soundtrack that is escapist in its purest form. Makes you feel rebellious. part of a gang, new in town and up to no good, strolling into a saloon and everyone puts their glasses down and glowers at you (the pianist hits a minor key). Love it to pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting. No, really. It's like being riveted. In a good way, 30 Sep 2003
This review is from: Take Them On, On Your Own (Audio CD)
This band had a mildly impressive debut album out, with notable highs in "Punk Song" and "Spread Your Love". The rest of it was a tad samey. Here they've completely failed to make the same mistake twice, and every song on "Take Them On..." smoulders with rock 'n' Roll goodness. Play it too loud and you will fall over.
The swaggering opener "Stop", the urgent "Six Barrel Shotgun", the stunning "In Like a Rose", the quality never lets up. It may not sound particularly original, at worst vaguely familiar ("Six Barrel" is blatantly "Punk Song" as many have noted before) but when it rocks this hard, it's hard to dock one star for such a feeble reason. I buy albums to listen to and enjoy, not play spot-the-similarities with.
As individual entities, the songs are brilliant. As a whole, the album flows effortlessly from one track to the next. The best example of this is a hook from "Stop" that is then used to kick off "Six Barrel Shotgun". Nothing wrong with that sort of recycling when it's used to good effect!
So, in summary: good band. Good disc... it'll knock you off your chair. Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRMC bring the "rolling r" back in rock'n'roll!, 24 April 2004
This review is from: Take Them On, On Your Own (Audio CD)
Is their debut album mellow, introverted and sensitive, their 2nd workmirrors the many live shows they've staged since. They rock! 'Six BarrelShotgun' pumps the adrenaline through your veins at dubb speed, 'USGovernment' turns your lungs into asthmatic vehicles and 'Going Under'makes your head spin so fast you forget what's the front and what's back.This CD spells out that their career in the music industry will belong-lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome comback, 4 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Take Them On, On Your Own (Audio CD)
After a stunning debut many BRMC, such as myself could only hold their breath to hear if their second offering was up to much. It is well... great. NME reviewed the album with a stunning 9/10 stars, which is justified. The tracks are stunning with a type of neo-new wave feel to it (if there is such a thing). The criticism of 'Stop' for sounding like 'Columbia' by Oasis is totally unjustified. Not that it sounds like it in the slightest, but 'Columbia' is a rip off of 'Snakedriver' by the Jesus and Mary Chain, a more likely source of 'influence' not plagiarism. Anyhoo, buy the album to avoid missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRMC - Top sounds, 4 Nov 2003
This review is from: Take Them On, On Your Own (Audio CD)
If you like your rock to be the real dirty guitar based sound it should be then your in for a treat.
Forget Coral and the current trend for la la music BRMC are in a league of their own.
They seem to mix sounds as if Rock is a new thing and create new sounds the same way the likes of the Stones, Who, and Queen did all thoses years ago.
keep going guys - a great job!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep, dark & devastating..., 24 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. Gideon D. Brody "twitter me: gideon_" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take Them On, On Your Own (Audio CD)
As with their last album BRMC have produced a rousing, effervescent album capable of improving your day quite considerably!!
There is simply no hold-up as the raging fire set alight on the first LP is inflamed further as BRMC add a quart of paraffin to the mix.
"Stop" surges in the same vein as past records surged, "Six Barrel Shotgun" taps into your adrenalin supply and presses the 'GO!' button and you're left salivating for it to continue. It does, relentlessly!
BRMC are a sensationally gifted American band and like that other great US outfit, Queens of the Stone Age, they combine a deeply dark side with melody that oozes subversion and rebellion with a knowing cool that you crave for in any real rock band.
Other standouts include "Generation" and "Shade of Blue" which stick to the formula of the first album using ascending chord progressions that fill your ears with a beautifully warm, rustic, fuzzy sound as they cascade around your mind.
Lyrically, BRMC have a little to say regarding the state of the world but with a sonic background so powerful you can simply allow yourself to be taken away by the thick, decadent layers of guitar heaven.
Buy this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good rock !, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take Them On, On Your Own (Audio CD)
great tracks on this album,good lyrics,too!Has a flavour of T-Rex to my ear,either way,a good album and money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Take Them On, On Your Own
Take Them On, On Your Own by Black Rebel Motorcycle Club (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews