Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid effort well worth hearing
'Visions Of Ghandi' may not be a classic, but it is amongst the strongest hip hop albums released in 2003. It's probably becuase of the amazing production from Stoupe, who shows he can establish a recognisible style of beats whilst displaying a huge variety of music throughout. Some of the beats even sound like something more than just hip hop; with the dramatic...
Published on 16 Jan 2004

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars alrreeet
i won't say this is a bad album cos it isnt..the reason i have gave it three stars is cos well it gets a little boring in places and plus im more into my uk hiphop anyway so its not so much to my taste, but it has got some wicked tracks on there for example..animal rap, the rage of angels and yea theres some more on there but i cant really remember which they...
Published on 16 Nov 2005 by C. C. Marlow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid effort well worth hearing, 16 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Visions of Gandhi (Audio CD)
'Visions Of Ghandi' may not be a classic, but it is amongst the strongest hip hop albums released in 2003. It's probably becuase of the amazing production from Stoupe, who shows he can establish a recognisible style of beats whilst displaying a huge variety of music throughout. Some of the beats even sound like something more than just hip hop; with the dramatic atmosphere on tracks like 'Tibetan Black Magicians' and 'Kublai Khan', Stoupe proves he could fit the part as the composer of the musical score of a big-budget war film. Then there are several tracks with a Spanish/Latin-style melody like 'Nada Cambia' and 'Rise Of The Machines' which sound impressive.
Then there's Vinnie Paz, a rapper who you'd think would get tiresome with his constant bragging and infuriation in almost all of his performances. But he doesn't. His razor sharp voice and flow together with his distinct rhyme style over Stoupe's masterful beats make him a deadly MC, and one who will grab and maintain your attention until he puts the mic down.
What stops this album getting 5 stars is that, despite what I've just said, some of the lyrics aren't just needlessly homophobic but really very stupid and amateurish. There are some underwhelming appearances from Kool G Rap, Ras Kass and some guy called Rocky Raez which don't really improve the album's merit in any way. None of the songs on 'Visions Of Ghandi' are bad, but there's just maybe a couple which could have been left off for being uninspired. Also, the song 'Animal Rap' may be good, but they should have put on the brilliant and far superior remix version which only made it as one of the three (amazing!) bonus tracks tagged on at the end. All of this doesn't make the album a failure, but just stops it from being an essential purchase. In fact, the only person I would advise not to get this is someone completely unforgiving towards profanity ridden lyrics. Anyone else are unlikely to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning murdercore hip-hop, 24 Feb 2006
This review is from: Visions Of Ghandi (Audio CD)
Vinnie Paz (lead rapper) and Stoupe (beat creator) have created a exemplary statement of raw and emotional violence with this masterpiece.
Paz spits with such sincerity and emotion, leaving real fans hanging off every word. He voice is excellently produced (i.e. not over produced) and is at the exact right sound level. Paz spits some great bars (e.g. Paz spits "i fcukin hate you, i hate your mother and father because they made you, i hate the universe because it create you, i hate everyone and everything that embrace you"). The only thing is that the other vocalists aren't quite up to Paz's level apart from the best lyricist in the business (no not Gift of Gab (but he's still sick) i'm chattin bout Canibus). Also Sabac, Kool G, Percee P, tRADEGY Khadefi and Goretex keep it real.
Stoupes beats are immense. He crafts a dark ominous grimy soundscape (check out the driving rhythms in trk 10) occasionally tinged with a latin/salsa flavour that works so well over Paz's murdercore lyrics.
The top tracks are 2,3,4,6,7,10,12,14,17. The last track has a bonus at the end which is also great.
For the hardcore only. Rep this. You can judge this cd by its cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Be A Beleiver, 21 Feb 2004
By 
Paul Christopher Clarke (Shipley, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Visions of Gandhi (Audio CD)
Vinne Paz and Stoupe don't stop with this album. Whilst it's no Violent By Design, Visions Of Gandhi is still one of the best albums to drop in the UK in 2003. The beats are more latin based, but that doesn't detract as it fits Paz's new style perfectly.
Tracks like "Tibetan Black Magicians" and "Animal Rap" are great, but it's to pick a best track on the joint because they're all brilliant, from Paz's rough style to Canibus' literature onslaught during the first track this is a hot album and a must buy for any fan of true rap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars try to get hold of violent by design as well, 4 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Visions of Gandhi (Audio CD)
to all those who like the three hidden tracks...its because they are from violent by design the deleted album by jedi mind, hopefully to be re-released feb 2004. Every track on violent by design is sublime. To this release...not quite as lyrically interesting as their older stuff but still great. Hearing ikon (vinnie paz) in the morning really gets me alert for the rest of the day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Visions of Gandhi, 8 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. N. Darby "KoE" (the Ford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visions Of Ghandi (Audio CD)
just buy it. you won't be dissapointed. i could write a long reveiw justifying my rating but the other reviews have already said what i would have. It's simply a really good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vinnie and Stoupe take on hip hop once again......, 30 Aug 2003
This review is from: Visions of Gandhi (Audio CD)
To get things started i have to say that when you get this album don't expect another ' violent by design'. Don't get me wrong, this album's still phat just isn't as good, but i doubt that would've been possible anyway! All of the beats are top notch and stoupe turns up with the goods once again. My only problem is that some of the beats don't really mix well with vinne paz's violent verses. They kinda feel out of place. All in all this album's still quality and anyone in to the other two albums will lap this up. There's some fine apperances from the non phixion boys which was nice to see. oh yeah...... Kublai Khan is such an amzing track. Don't forget to check out the THREE hidden tracks at the end... sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jedi Mind, 9 Mar 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visions Of Ghandi (Audio CD)
Sick Rap

Vinnie Paz Spits from the heart, quality mc an beats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars alrreeet, 16 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Visions Of Ghandi (Audio CD)
i won't say this is a bad album cos it isnt..the reason i have gave it three stars is cos well it gets a little boring in places and plus im more into my uk hiphop anyway so its not so much to my taste, but it has got some wicked tracks on there for example..animal rap, the rage of angels and yea theres some more on there but i cant really remember which they are..but all im sayin it is worth having in ur collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visions Of Ghandi
Visions Of Ghandi by Jedi Mind Tricks (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews