Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S NOT ABOUT POWER, ITS ABOUT GRACE...
Heath Ledger turned down the role of Kar. I kept imagining him as "The Joker" playing the role of Kar, giving slow twisted lines. The film has a predictable juvenile plot with simple dialouge, plain acting, and silly CG fighting. By all means I shouldn't like this film. However, in spite of all those reasons, the film seems to work very well, perhaps due to editing and...
Published 21 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dude, Where's my Zen?
Personally, I would consider it a necessity to watch this drivel with the aid of alcohol as it helps pass the time and upset the natural accordiance you'd expect from spending 1.5 hrs in front of a TV/cinema screen.
From the concept of a movie, consider Golden Child as the first marriage of Tibet vs Holywood American Hero. Now, not saying Eddie Murphy did a bad job...
Published on 20 Sept. 2003 by Simon


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB!!!, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bulletproof Monk (DVD)
Fab flick! I never get tired of watching this. The kids love it too
Lost the dvd brought way back. So when watching it on tv few weeks back had to restock on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I get the feeling he has potential..., 15 Nov. 2003
By 
S. Walker "starwarsdave" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bulletproof Monk [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If hotdogs come in packs of eight, then why do hotdog buns come in packs of ten?
The path to enlightenment to not easy, and I personally have settled for mild stupidity. But for something to be worthwhile then it is never easy, unlike watching this. Starring Crouching Tiger's Chow Yun Fat (yes I know he's done more films than that) and American Pie's Seann William Scott, Bulletproof Monk has been described as "Matrix light" but I would have said it doesn't take itself quite so seriously. And I prefer the lovely Jamie King to Carrie Ann Moss (sorry love). Very feisty.
The standard Kung Fu-ish fight affair, with some good characters and a few laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars How to waste your life away, 26 Feb. 2011
By 
Eren Lakeman "Eren" (London,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bulletproof Monk [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have to say this film is terrible.Buy it if you want to waste your time.
The fights scenes are horrible and the tecknology seems like its comes from the 90's.
CGI is horrendous, you may aswell be watching a cartoon.
Jaime King who plays Jade in the film can not act at all. There are far too many cliches and quips wich are not too funny at all. I dont even think children of 12 years would find it funny or a good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bulletproof Monk [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films!
I love the story, character choices and the action in this film.

It is both serious yet funny and I can't help but laugh at Seann William scott at times although it was nice to see him in a more serious role.

I love the action scenes in this and I think that Yun-Fat Chow played a wonderful Monk.

Fun for all the family!

Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE ROMP, 3 Oct. 2003
By 
ALP (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bulletproof Monk [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is not usually the kind of film that I buy, but I was intrigued and I have to say that we thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes, the characters are not developed to a great degree and it does owe a little to the Matrix and various Kung Fu features, not to mention Indiana Jones here and there, but it's an entertaining film, flawed yes, but nevertheless there's a great deal of action, adventure and humour - this film doesn't take itself too seriously. If you're a purist, you'll be disappointed, but if you're looking for a cracking way to keep your attention for an hour or so this has all the ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars decent film could have been better, 21 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Bulletproof Monk [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Yun-Fat plays Monk, a nameless Tibetan protector who’s been guarding a sacred scroll containing all the power of the universe for the past 60 years. As the scroll’s guardian, he has been given the power of time, seeming to not have aged a day since his master (Roger Yuan, Shanghai Noon) ceded protection of the sacred item over to him.

Now Monk has come to New York searching for the one who will take over custody of the scroll from him. He’s waiting for a soul to complete each of the three prophecies – defeat an army of enemies with a flock of cranes overhead, battle for love in a house of Jade and to free brothers one didn’t know they had – that signal their worthiness to take over guardianship.

But all Monk has found so far is a good-natured thief named Kar (Sean William Scott) who has a penchant for picking pockets. He’s also got a heart-of-gold just busting to try and get out. Kar is not above buying a hot dog with his last dollar for a homeless person or throwing away an entire day’s haul to save the life of a trapped little girl. After fighting off an army of thugs in an underground subway station using kung fu lifted from 1978’s The Descendant of Wing Chun, Monk begins to wonder if this scraggily youth may indeed by the one he is looking for.

Soon he’s imparting words of wisdom and asking eternally stupefying questions about hotdogs and buns to the bewildered young upstart all the while dodging goons sent by the murderous granddaughter (Victoria Smurfit, About a Boy) of heinous former Nazi commander Struker (Karel Roden, Blade 2, 15 Minutes). He's been searching for the scroll for over 60 years and now, near the end of his life, he find's it deep within his grasp and will fight to the bitter end to gain its secrets. With the help of Kar and another gifted youngster he knows only as “bad girl” (Jamie King, Pearl Harbor), Monk must stop Struker before he unlashes the power of the scroll and makes the Earth over into a fascist’s paradise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bulletproof is right!, 11 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Bulletproof Monk [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Great film! No matter what your friends have said, this is NOT a copy of The Matrix, nor a jab at it. It's fight scenes bring out the ACTION side of Seann William Scott, and bring us the briliantly choreographed fighting of Chow-Yun Fat again. This is definately a film to miss if you are expecting Seann's comedy phrases from American Pie 1 & 2 and soon to be American Pie : The Wedding. But it is one to definately see if you are a huge fan of fast action fight scenes. I must admit, there are SOME slow motion in the fight scenes, but still, this is NOT the matrix and never could be. This is based in a real world. No new rules. Comepletely different storyline, and worth the watching. We get to see a very sexy lady beat the hell out of Seann W Scott. Which is indeed comical, but we get the beautiful vibes of a child (Seann) who seems to have no parents, being brought up by a father-like monk (Chow-Yun). It is definately a film from multiple genres. Very impresive.
Congratulations on the film.
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incoherent nonsense, 30 April 2011
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bulletproof Monk [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
It's a shame that Chow Yun-Fat's American movie career has been mainly made-up of underwhelming actioners such as this or Replacement Killers. Bulletproof Monk is amateur-hour from beginning to end.

Chowy plays a Buddhist monk tasked with guarding a sacred scroll. The Nazis want their hands on it, but as long as he is the guardian he is immortal. The movie flashes forward from 1943 to 2003 Canada substituting for New York, where Chowy is still fleeing the last surviving Nazi. He meets up with Kar (a bored Sean William Scott) and Jade, a bad girl, and they involve themselves in 104 minutes of utterly incomprehensible trash.

The film is ugly to look at, filled with drab, muted color schemes and dreary production design. The acting is appalling, the dialogue is awful, and the action poorly-edited and completely unexciting.

Apparently it's based on an underground comic-book. It should have been an underground movie. Utter trash!

The DVD looks absolutely terrible too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BRILLIANT FILM!!!, 6 Oct. 2003
By 
K. Bilal (Ascot) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bulletproof Monk [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Though this film has a lot of down sides it is basically really good, the soundtrack is suspect at times but goes well with the film like wise visually some effects look really cool while others are a bit rubbish. The film is pretty funny and for people who like humour and a story line this is a great film to watch. Dont expect alot from this film because it might not deliver but if you want to just sit back and watch a good hearted pretty decent film then go for it! Dont be put off by the title even if it is the worst title ever created for any film ever!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 Feb. 2011
By 
A. Murphy (Dorset, England England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bulletproof Monk [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Perhaps it was good in 2003 though compared with films like Azumi( action Japanese ) also 2003 it fades into nothingness. Its just too predictable and cheesy. I got bored after 30 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bulletproof Monk [DVD] [2003]
Bulletproof Monk [DVD] [2003] by Paul Hunter (DVD - 2003)
£1.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews